We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hawaiian Village- true "family" experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Points + Suite
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
East Meadow, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hilton Hawaiian Village- true "family" experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family just returned from a 7 day stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village in Waikiki- loved it! This is my second trip to Hawaii, but first with kids. I will say this is truly a beautiful hotel and a wonderful beach front.
What we liked about the hotel:
1) Was truly a "village-like" atmosphere, with multiple shops nestled between about 5 different buildings, so it felt enclosed, and was safe to let teenagers roam around all hours of the day/night
2) Lobby was airy and well organized, with excellent service at the counters
3) Grounds and landscaping was breath-taking (I took over 1000 pictures during the trip, half were on the resort)
4) Room was well designed, with a decent-sized bathroom and bedroom area, although beds were tight as full for 2 to sleep on (an adult and a teenaged child on each)
5) Hotel within 1 mile of the main street and shopping area, and also Ala Moana Mall, which is very modern
6) There were about 18 shops on the campus, including an ABC store, so there were options for breakfast and lunch purchases that were reasonable and didn't break the bank...otherwise dining in for those 2 meals was pricy
7) Hotel provided unlimited towels per person, with the issuance of towel cards/per person...but you couldn't lose that or you'd have to pay $10 each time
8) They have Fire works on the beach each Friday night...a 5 minute show, that rivals the big shows for the 4th of July (we attended the main 4th of July show there too...which wasn't much more impressive that this, just longer)
9) Cleaning service and room amenities were superb- no hassle cleaning and extra toiletries were left without request
10) Free DVD rentals and Playstation rentals from the room, but you had to go pick up the items downstairs and really "rent" them each time, returning/replacing...but not bad if you have teens who get bored at night

What we didn't really like:
1) You have to actually rent lounge chairs at the beach...they don't have them setup for guests for free. These came at $30/day for 2 chairs and $15 for umbrella. But that seems to be the going rate.
2) Pools were nice but packed with people all times of the day, however there were no "adults only" or luxury or infinity-type pools
3) No jacuzzi/whirlpool existed on site (that we were aware of), which was also unusual
4) No nice bath robes left in the closets for guest use- that was the first time in a Hilton that didn't have that
5) Hotel eateries themselves were very pricy. On the first night, we spent $90 for fast-food type dinner of burgers and fries and pasta...but never again for that type of food, as we quickly learned to look outside of the resort

Room Tip: If you're looking for a luxury room, don't go for "standard", and try to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,442
    3,258
    1,539
    601
    359
See reviews for
3,376
2,983
240
917
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I have been to the Hawaiian Village twice over the last few years and hope to return soon. In every way these trips were truly a dream vacation. The restaurants at the Village are superb, the bars are fun, the Hilton staff is happy to go out of their way to make your stay everything you hoped it would be, the grounds are beautiful, and the view from the spacious and spotless rooms are breathtaking.

Room Tip: Strongly suggest you select a room with a lanai and an ocean/Diamondhead/ view. They cost a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is a large mega resort. I wont bore you with the basics as I am sure previous reviewers have covered it. The Ali'i tower is well worth the price and makes the trip much more enjoyable. I was in an ocean view room and it was great. The private check-in, pool, and bar are a nice touch. The rooms have been renovated and done well. The real reason this hotel stays fun is the lack of turnover of staff. The bar staff at Hau Tree have been there for 40+ years. Those guys make the stay nice when they lose them it will be difficult to recommend this hotel. The large pool is a fight for chairs and not well policed at all. It was a borderline zoo but at least the beach was super. If this hotel is a good price (under 300) stay here. The issue is the resort charges etc. Yes at the Royal Hawaiian you may pay more a night but there is none of the kitchy DVD rentals etc offered as an excuse to charge you 25 bucks. You get chairs and umbrellas by the beach free, not 35/25 a day.

Room Tip: We stayed at The Hilton Hawaiian Village for 11 nights. We chose the Ali'i tower after reading p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 2011 for 6 days, then came back in 2012 and had another vacation for 9 days. Loved this place so much!!! It is not cheap for sure, but what you get for the price is amazing! The service, the views, the private beach, the amazing restaurants and the shops - it all makes a super nice vacation. Very luxurious hands down, amazing, family friendly place. We'll be back soon I am sure of it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at The Hilton Hawaiian Village for 11 nights. We chose the Ali'i tower after reading previous reviews. It was lovely, and the rooms had been recently refurbished, they were big and very comfortable. We booked an ocean front room, which had great views, but our friends booked an ocean view room - which meant they had to lean over the balcony to glimpse the ocean. Their room was a bit smaller too. The Ali'i pool and bar was nice, this is the only place that you really got the individual "special service" that you expect from a high end hotel. Louis - the bar man was fantastic and without him, we may have felt disappointed.
We were there in peak holiday time and the place was crowded - but we knew this - however, a simple smile or friendly advice from other hotel staff would have gone a long way.
As everyone previously points out - there are cheaper and nicer eating places in Waikiki. Tropics was very disappointing with its food, but we did enjoy the live music there every night.
Friday night fireworks were spectacular - a lovely touch by the Hilton.
I would stay here again, but would consider the rainbow tower in a corner suite, for the amazing views.

Room Tip: If staying in The Ali'i Tower ocean front rooms - be careful if your room number ends in 01 - as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is a large mega resort. I wont bore you with the basics as I am sure previous reviewers have covered it.

The Ali'i tower is well worth the price and makes the trip much more enjoyable. I was in an ocean view room and it was great. The private check-in, pool, and bar are a nice touch. The rooms have been renovated and done well.

The real reason this hotel stays fun is the lack of turnover of staff. The bar staff at Hau Tree have been there for 40+ years. Those guys make the stay nice when they lose them it will be difficult to recommend this hotel.

The large pool is a fight for chairs and not well policed at all. It was a borderline zoo but at least the beach was super.

If this hotel is a good price (under 300) stay here. The issue is the resort charges etc. Yes at the Royal Hawaiian you may pay more a night but there is none of the kitchy DVD rentals etc offered as an excuse to charge you 25 bucks. You get chairs and umbrellas by the beach free, not 35/25 a day.

Unfortunately, the clientele of the hotel is being overrun by the time share renter one vacation in a lifetime hyperactive on edge crowd. That's great but its not relaxing when everyone is just wanting quantity and not quality. More chairs, more drinks, more DVDs, more, more, more, hyper. That's the feeling.

The old school staff and the grounds are still the best aspect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First the positives: convenient location, lots of restaurants and on-site shopping and nice luau. The landscaping is nice too.
However, you will feel like you are in a zoo the minute you enter the lobby. We were fortunate to stay in the Kalia Tower which had its own pool and check in. But the resort is simply overcrowded. The "super pool" is very small by resort standard and that's the main pool. The pool by Tapa pool is a joke - unless you want to swim in full view of the pedestrian crowd passing by the mall and feel like you are in Cancun during spring break. Generally, you have to wait in line at 8am to get a seat at any pool- which we did. We were ready to switch hotels after one night. Unfortunately we were stuck by Expedia fine fine print. Do NOT stay here if you dislike huge crowds and lines.

Room Tip: Stay in Ali'i, Kalia or Rainbow Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha Ming K,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We are delightful to learn that you found our hotel to have a convenient location and nice landscaping. However, we are very sorry to hear that you felt the hotel was overcrowded. Hilton Hawaiian Village have four pools that is available to every guests to use; Super pool, Tapa pool, Kalia pool and Paradise pool with the water slides! Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for the inconvenience. Our vision of excellence in hospitality would not be achievable without the valuable feedback from our guests. Your comments provide specific examples needing improvement and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Hawaiian Village for a more enjoyable stay in the future.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.