We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #41 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at The Hilton Hawaiian Village for 11 nights. We chose the Ali'i tower after reading previous reviews. It was lovely, and the rooms had been recently refurbished, they were big and very comfortable. We booked an ocean front room, which had great views, but our friends booked an ocean view room - which meant they had to lean over the balcony to glimpse the ocean. Their room was a bit smaller too. The Ali'i pool and bar was nice, this is the only place that you really got the individual "special service" that you expect from a high end hotel. Louis - the bar man was fantastic and without him, we may have felt disappointed.
We were there in peak holiday time and the place was crowded - but we knew this - however, a simple smile or friendly advice from other hotel staff would have gone a long way.
As everyone previously points out - there are cheaper and nicer eating places in Waikiki. Tropics was very disappointing with its food, but we did enjoy the live music there every night.
Friday night fireworks were spectacular - a lovely touch by the Hilton.
I would stay here again, but would consider the rainbow tower in a corner suite, for the amazing views.

Room Tip: If staying in The Ali'i Tower ocean front rooms - be careful if your room number ends in 01 - as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,711
    2,583
    1,239
    514
    298
See reviews for
2685
2347
196
748
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is a large mega resort. I wont bore you with the basics as I am sure previous reviewers have covered it.

The Ali'i tower is well worth the price and makes the trip much more enjoyable. I was in an ocean view room and it was great. The private check-in, pool, and bar are a nice touch. The rooms have been renovated and done well.

The real reason this hotel stays fun is the lack of turnover of staff. The bar staff at Hau Tree have been there for 40+ years. Those guys make the stay nice when they lose them it will be difficult to recommend this hotel.

The large pool is a fight for chairs and not well policed at all. It was a borderline zoo but at least the beach was super.

If this hotel is a good price (under 300) stay here. The issue is the resort charges etc. Yes at the Royal Hawaiian you may pay more a night but there is none of the kitchy DVD rentals etc offered as an excuse to charge you 25 bucks. You get chairs and umbrellas by the beach free, not 35/25 a day.

Unfortunately, the clientele of the hotel is being overrun by the time share renter one vacation in a lifetime hyperactive on edge crowd. That's great but its not relaxing when everyone is just wanting quantity and not quality. More chairs, more drinks, more DVDs, more, more, more, hyper. That's the feeling.

The old school staff and the grounds are still the best aspect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First the positives: convenient location, lots of restaurants and on-site shopping and nice luau. The landscaping is nice too.
However, you will feel like you are in a zoo the minute you enter the lobby. We were fortunate to stay in the Kalia Tower which had its own pool and check in. But the resort is simply overcrowded. The "super pool" is very small by resort standard and that's the main pool. The pool by Tapa pool is a joke - unless you want to swim in full view of the pedestrian crowd passing by the mall and feel like you are in Cancun during spring break. Generally, you have to wait in line at 8am to get a seat at any pool- which we did. We were ready to switch hotels after one night. Unfortunately we were stuck by Expedia fine fine print. Do NOT stay here if you dislike huge crowds and lines.

Room Tip: Stay in Ali'i, Kalia or Rainbow Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha Ming K,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We are delightful to learn that you found our hotel to have a convenient location and nice landscaping. However, we are very sorry to hear that you felt the hotel was overcrowded. Hilton Hawaiian Village have four pools that is available to every guests to use; Super pool, Tapa pool, Kalia pool and Paradise pool with the water slides! Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for the inconvenience. Our vision of excellence in hospitality would not be achievable without the valuable feedback from our guests. Your comments provide specific examples needing improvement and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Hawaiian Village for a more enjoyable stay in the future.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH/MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family-four of us-my husband , myself and two boys ages 9 and 12 just stayed here for the past 8 nights starting 6/30 and checked out on 7/8. The resort is beautiful and very convenient and fun for all family members. We stayed in the Rainbow Tower and we were right on the beach, close to the pools, lagoon, restaurants, etc. The room was fine, small beds since they were doubles, but that was ok, no complaints on that, the maid cleaned the room every day but you had to ask for extra towels every day since she would only leave 3 for 4 people, but again, not a big issue. I did not like being forced to pay a $25 resort fee every day which also included an excise tax on top of that-which they fail to mention until you check out and see your bill. First of all, none of the activities were ever available to sign up for, I guess there were people out that week we were there that actually run the activiites-like the lei making for example, so I demanded a refund, which I got and the internet-it just does not work and again that is part of that fee, so we would call every day and they would want us to deal with tech support! I told them, everyone I spoke to and even comments on trip advisor all say it doesn't work, and it doesn't work, so again, I demanded more money back, they really make a ton of money on those resort fees and it's highway robbery since you get nothing for them. We used our hotspot the entire trip since the internet connection was so sporatic. The restaurant and activities were very expensive, but that is with any resort, they are all expensive, excursions are also expensive and over priced but that's with any place/resort. Here are some tid bits that you need especially if you are staying there for over a week. First before you check out, go over your bill with a fine tooth comb! They pretend the computers have glitches-for example we winded up going to starbucks a lot for breakfast since $30 for 4 was cheaper than the buffet, so one day they charged us the $30 three times on the same day, it happened a few times with charges, especially from Starbucks. There are so many charges on the bill, I think they do it on purpose since it is easy to miss, kind of like a grocery store receipt-so beware of that! The Luau was nice, it was something different, but don't get suckered into the VIP prices, it's pretty much the same except you get two leis instead of 1, the dancers were great as was the MC, there was no bar so you were forced to wait a very long time for a drink-probably because we each got 2 free ones! Try not to buy anything from the beach vendors that are selling the excursions and swapping towels, go to the ABC store right as you get there, there are a few in the village, the people on the beach charge three times the amount for items like beach toys, balls, shovels, chairs, boogie boards, etc. You can also get, beer, wine, water, snacky foods at the ABC store as well and the prices aren't as bad as at the resort. Lastly if you do the snorkle excursion with Aloha Tours/Hilton, don't do the lunch, just do the afternoon snorkle, it's just crappy sandwiches. All in all we had a great time at the beach, using the pool with the slide, the lagoon, etc..If asked would we go back to this resort-maybe since we know the scams.. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, OR, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our 25th Stay at Hilton Hawaiian Village. It is convenient for restaurants, shopping in the complex, but VERY noisy and crowded during summer months, lots of screaming children. Off-season (any time kids are in school) much better. I've been coming to Hawaii since 1957.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel at the age of 7. Again, stayed at the age of 28 in our honey-moon and recently, at the age of 43 with my wife & Two-Kids.

I always loved this property because of the memory it brings back to me and to my wife.

However, as we may agree, Early Days has better candies taste than today's! It has definitely changed.

Even though we stayed in the Ali'i Tower with two-connected ocean front rooms, the staff members are over-loaded and trying to do their best all over the property. Still have some island service spirit despite the huge traffic the hotel gets from all around the world travelers.

Very expensive food, no cooked food options after 11 pm (actually no standard room service is available) yet the hotel is still definitely have lovely landscaping and a nice crowded beach...

The location is wonderful with access to almost anywhere in Oahu. Don't forget to Try Benny-Hanna Japanese Restaurant next door (as full dining Typniaki Meal) or simply their new Best Burger in Town (good for afternoon bite after the beach)...

Concierge services are quite poor in terms of best dining options, tours recommendations etc.. Very much driven toward marketing hotels options (including tours) at a priority. Just Don't expect a human-charm sort of advices & you will be fine. Instead, I suggest using the internet search. Oh, and, speaking of the internet, it was extremely slow. You may choose to use the Star-Bucks cafe in house WiFi while you are having your cafe indoor. Much faster...

Overall, its a must try for those who visit Oahu for the first time. We have enjoyed our stay because we had related memories. Will definitely explore a new property next time...

Room Tip: If you would require Guaranteed Connected-Rooms, ask for it, and for a charge of one-time of $75 you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location, Great Activities, Great Fun! We loved all the pools, the beach side activities, the location, the shopping, decent restaurants and relaxing! The rooms were average could use a little updating but for the price and extras it's an AWESOME hotel for families. Have stayed at the Outrigger on the Beach and that was great for couples the Hilton is great for kids! The service was great the people very professional and friendly-Hilton quality as expected.

Absolutely would stay again w/ the kids!

Room Tip: We chose size of room over the view...not a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.