We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE FOR FAMILIES” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Suite Deal - 20% Off
Ranked #42 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Studio Ciity
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR FAMILIES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family had a reunion at Honolulu. We decided to stay here. Rooms are great, staff are awesome. Everything you need is in this hotel. There is a small village where you can eat food, (but take note if you want hawaiian food, go outside the property.. they don't have any hawaiian food) shop for goodies, they have at least 2 abc stores which is awesome. The property has 3 pools plus a lagoon where you can hang out when the beach gets too crowded. It is mile walk away from Ala Moana shopping center and the International Market. Of course the sand is not as fine as the other beaches outside Waikiki but its good enough.

Take note that this is not a place for honeymoon or any romantic trip. I wouldn't suggest this place for couples because there are really a lot of people in this property. They have more than 3 buildings I think, and I believe it gets packed.

Rooms are big and can fit 4 people comfortably. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,504
    2,368
    1,132
    486
    274
See reviews for
2443
2155
189
700
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in the Rainbow Tower and had great sea view and lagoon. Room large and clean with fridge. Resort is large and has everything you need in great location, it's Waikiki beach. This resort is high rise but that what you expect in this area. Staff were good and friendly. You pay a resort fee like a lot of hotels here for things like wifi free local phone calls. Would sooner they gave you option not to and pay for what you use. You are in paradise so drinks can be dear. Make sure you drink on happy hour(s) or use local ABC shop and stock your fridge with beer and snacks. Would go again.
Highly recommend on site Italian restaurant. There are loads of other choices within resort and also within a 15-20 walk. With the food size portions out here you might be thankful to walk the meal off.

Room Tip: Rainbow tower is on the front of the resort next to beach and great views from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We love staying at this timeshare because the amenities are new, the location is very convenient, the grounds are very lush and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Kalia Tower, which we stayed in has over 20 floors and the 4 elevators in it are very high speed! The fitness center on its 4th floor is better than the majority of hotels anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family and I spent 7 nights in there and we stayed at the Rainbow Tower. The check-in was okay and we requested for late check out as our flight was a midnight flight and they gave us a 1-hour complimentary hospitality room.

The swimming pool was great, although you can't play with beach ball in it (when the lifeguard is on duty). The Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon is also a great place to do the paddle board and canoe-ing.

This resort is so huge that it has its own ABC Stores which is very convenient for us. They have everything there! From restaurants, boutiques, beach, spa, barber,florist, car rentals, bus depot, etc.

The only thing is that, the food is expensive and the elevator is ALWAYS crowded.

Other than that, we had a great time in there and we could see the Diamond Head from our room! It was really beautiful and we got to stay til Friday night where there was fireworks show! The staff was helpful but they need to smile more in my opinion.

Room Tip: Go for the ones that have the Diamond Head view because from there, you can easily see the fireworks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hawaiian Village Resort in June 13 for one week. The location of the hotel is very prominent and is the first resort on Waikiki Beach as you come in from the Airport. There are restaurants and shops outside of the hotel and the local and tourist buses access is at the doorstep. We stayed in TAPA Tower one of the six tower blocks. There a number of shops including convenience stores and a few food outlets within the complex. The facilities are excellent in the complex with each Tower block having its own pool. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The restaurants were good with more seafood choice, American Steaks and Burger choices. The choice for vegetarians is limited but reasonable. Plenty of Pizzas, salads and Pasta available, with fresh tropical fruit and fresh juices.

There are plenty of activities daily within the complex to entertain adults and children. The beach is excellent and great for a daily swim.The morning walk along the beach was my favourite daily routine. Children loved the water slides and used daily.

We will consider this hotel again if we visit Hawaii again. There is a choice of excellent hotels and resorts on Waikiki Beach, and probably would like to try other resorts.

Room Tip: Tapa Tower has mainly a Resort view with a restricted sea view. Other towers closer to the beach may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Mostly a great place to stay on Waikiki Beach. The Diamond Head tower is needing an upgrade compared to the rest of the property. the personnel was great. the motif of all of the bars and restaurants was very thought out. the beach was very good. The hospitality was the best. the location was excellent being close to the Waikiki shopping district and close to the easy to get to from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the H.H.V, and it was beautiful and very large. We stayed in the Rainbow tower and had a gorgeous view of Diamond Head. The 2 big changes were the elevators no long have a UP or DOWN button, instead there are keypads and you just push what floor your on and it directs you to one of 5 elevators. The second was renting DVDs. You use to pay for movies in your hotel room each around 12.00-17.99 per movie but now you just pay a fee of 15.00 a day and you can rent as many movies in a day just one movie at a time. They have a DVD machine where you slide a special card and then just follow directions on screen to rent or return DVDs. Much easier and less expensive! If you book tours down by the buses get them from Pablo great travel agent or Alika in the Tour place near the penguins he's helpful both give great prices on tours!

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower Ocean view has the best view of Waikiki and the ocean, Lagoon view is not bad either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.