We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge resort, great for kids. All-in-one.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Points + Suite
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Huge resort, great for kids. All-in-one.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family and I spent 7 nights in there and we stayed at the Rainbow Tower. The check-in was okay and we requested for late check out as our flight was a midnight flight and they gave us a 1-hour complimentary hospitality room.

The swimming pool was great, although you can't play with beach ball in it (when the lifeguard is on duty). The Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon is also a great place to do the paddle board and canoe-ing.

This resort is so huge that it has its own ABC Stores which is very convenient for us. They have everything there! From restaurants, boutiques, beach, spa, barber,florist, car rentals, bus depot, etc.

The only thing is that, the food is expensive and the elevator is ALWAYS crowded.

Other than that, we had a great time in there and we could see the Diamond Head from our room! It was really beautiful and we got to stay til Friday night where there was fireworks show! The staff was helpful but they need to smile more in my opinion.

Room Tip: Go for the ones that have the Diamond Head view because from there, you can easily see the fireworks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,417
    3,237
    1,523
    598
    359
See reviews for
3,352
2,956
238
916
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hawaiian Village Resort in June 13 for one week. The location of the hotel is very prominent and is the first resort on Waikiki Beach as you come in from the Airport. There are restaurants and shops outside of the hotel and the local and tourist buses access is at the doorstep. We stayed in TAPA Tower one of the six tower blocks. There a number of shops including convenience stores and a few food outlets within the complex. The facilities are excellent in the complex with each Tower block having its own pool. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The restaurants were good with more seafood choice, American Steaks and Burger choices. The choice for vegetarians is limited but reasonable. Plenty of Pizzas, salads and Pasta available, with fresh tropical fruit and fresh juices.

There are plenty of activities daily within the complex to entertain adults and children. The beach is excellent and great for a daily swim.The morning walk along the beach was my favourite daily routine. Children loved the water slides and used daily.

We will consider this hotel again if we visit Hawaii again. There is a choice of excellent hotels and resorts on Waikiki Beach, and probably would like to try other resorts.

Room Tip: Tapa Tower has mainly a Resort view with a restricted sea view. Other towers closer to the beach may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Mostly a great place to stay on Waikiki Beach. The Diamond Head tower is needing an upgrade compared to the rest of the property. the personnel was great. the motif of all of the bars and restaurants was very thought out. the beach was very good. The hospitality was the best. the location was excellent being close to the Waikiki shopping district and close to the easy to get to from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the H.H.V, and it was beautiful and very large. We stayed in the Rainbow tower and had a gorgeous view of Diamond Head. The 2 big changes were the elevators no long have a UP or DOWN button, instead there are keypads and you just push what floor your on and it directs you to one of 5 elevators. The second was renting DVDs. You use to pay for movies in your hotel room each around 12.00-17.99 per movie but now you just pay a fee of 15.00 a day and you can rent as many movies in a day just one movie at a time. They have a DVD machine where you slide a special card and then just follow directions on screen to rent or return DVDs. Much easier and less expensive! If you book tours down by the buses get them from Pablo great travel agent or Alika in the Tour place near the penguins he's helpful both give great prices on tours!

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower Ocean view has the best view of Waikiki and the ocean, Lagoon view is not bad either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After spending time at the Hilton Big Island with my family, we were extremely dissapointed with the Hilton Hawaiin Village.

I am a Hilton Diamond member and booked 2 rooms more than 4 months ago. We were given 2 rooms in the Tapia Tower on level 5 overlooking the public carpark Ala Moana Blvd. Was advised that these rooms were resort view rooms and should be happy because I got the rooms on points, even though I had used double the amount of points to get a premium room and was offered an ocean view upgrade at time of booking.

Eventually got moved to an ocean view room in the Tapia tower, but only after having to insist on speaking to a manager and pushing my Diamond Status to get some action.

Gold and Diamond members are entitled to free continental breakfast in the VIP Terrace Lounge which is only until 9:30 am despite breakfast being served in Lanai until 11am.

We arrived at just after 9am in the VIP lounge on a Sunday morning and we were rudely asked to leave because their policy is to start closing breakfast at 9am to ensure everything is cleaned away by 9:30. Was advised to go to the Lanai Restaurant but would have to pay as the free breakfast doesn't apply there. Once again' I resorted to complain to the Manager and we were allowed to stay.

Spoke to a lot of people at the hotel with similar experiences and views.

Overall, a very poorly run hotel with need for a management overhaul. Definately, well below the typical standard you would expect of a hilton hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha Steve125458,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We apologize to learn HHV fell short of providing an enjoyable stay for the second part of your family’s Hawaii Hilton vacation. Our front desk monitors room inventory closely allocating the best upgrades first to our Diamond members, when available. Thank you for your patience and allowing HHV to find suitable ocean view accommodations for your family. Our VIP lounge serves complimentary Continental breakfast daily for Diamond and Gold members. Rainbow Lanai also serves a full breakfast buffet for extended hours and provides Diamond and Gold members an $8 discount should you wish to upgrade. As a valued Hhonors Diamond member, we appreciate your feedback in how we can improve our services and offerings. We look forward to welcoming your family back to HHV for a more pleasant stay.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Here is what we love the most about Hawaiian Village:
1. Walk between the hotels and use any of the pools / water lagoon / water slides
2. Short walk to city center for shopping, eating etc.
3. Beach is great and plenty of hotel activities (We got the Luau for free)
Other things: there is a museum, a zoo, parks and diamond head is in 1hr walking distance, the hotel is very clean, kids club is there (slightly on the expensive side)
It is one of the best resorts we went to. Is this the most budget vacation you can get- of course not, but overall we find it a great value and very enjoyable vacation, this is why we keep coming back.

Room Tip: The newer tower rooms are a bit nicer. Unless you are a freak of ocean views, chose newer room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bed 1-bedroom suite in the Diamondhead Tower. Although it only books 4, it actually can hold 6. We had a great view on the 16th floor. The beach here is awesome--we swam and snorkeled and just played in the waves. I also recommend renting beach lounge chairs and umbrella--they set it up for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.