We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Picture is worth a thousand words!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$199 (USD)
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Picture is worth a thousand words!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Romantic Waikiki beach!!! This Hotel shares a beach with the Military Hotel Hali Koa. Fireworks over the water on the weekend and a clean well kept hotel. The views are scorched with sunsets and the location ideal... you need not want for anything on this property!
You can walk everywhere for a wee and still have closeby places to explore! Beautiful....Alii Tower is always my first choice with an Ocean view! You will want to sleep on your balcony...
The service is wonderful and impressive! Will go again and again!

Room Tip: you can't get a bad room in paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,140
    2,956
    1,399
    560
    338
See reviews for
3,066
2,704
222
872
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,079)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Hawaii for the first time and had a wonderful vacation! We found the Hilton Hawaiian Village to be a very nice resort. The room was comfortable, large, and clean. Our tower had its' own pool although it was small for the number of guests so finding a place to sit together was difficult. The lobby was usually a zoo and it took a few minutes longer than expected to get our car. We usually ate breakfast at Tropics and it was always very good, but like everything in Hawaii, it was expensive. Around $50 for the two of us. The beach area was beautiful! VERY clean! We did a snorkel trip on their catamaran and it was a lot of fun. The crew members were helpful and one of them even brought up a sea urchin for us to touch and hold! If I had one complaint, it would be that we didn't find the staff overly friendly. My husband said that he thought the person at the activities desk was annoyed that he was asking questions.

As for shopping, there was certainly plenty of that! Most of the stores were upscale but if you want nice souveniers, then you will be very happy. We took the trolley to the International Market and they had decent souveniers at reasonable prices.

Most of the restaurants we ate at were upscale dining and, therefore, expensive, but we don't like buffets and enjoy high-end dining and this was an anniversary trip so we didn't mind the cost. My husband's favorite was Orchids. There are plenty of cheaper alternatives nearby.

Overall, a great trip and I would definitely go back and stay at HHV.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, PA, USA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Encompassing over 3,000 hotel and time-share rooms in seven high rise towers connected by pathways lined with gardens, shops, and restaurants, the Hilton Hawaiian Village is truly a city within a city. Within walking distance of Waikiki’s high-end stores along Kalakaua Avenue, the resort is a favorite among tourists that make Honolulu a vacation shopping destination. Yet just a brief walk from any room is the white sand beach of Waikiki, the warm Pacific and Diamond Head providing a perfect photo backdrop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Aloha everyone,
I'm a travel agent and recently stayed with a large group of us in the Khalia Tower. The rooms have 2 double beds that would just fit 2 children so if your tall then you need to get King room but the issue is when you get a King room and you have children you get a sofa bed but to our surprise the sofa bed would only fit 1 child and was like sitting on springs, so we then got 2 rollaway beds and made the room impossible to move around. Rollaway beds are $35usd each.
Upon checkin i noticed the staff were not very welcoming although once i mentioned i was a travel agent the tone had changed and was directed to the manager who was very nice.
With every hotel a request for interconnecting rooms etc is only available upon checkin and if you pay $75usd you can get a guarantee for your info.
The resort fee of $25USD per day i think is a rip off the DVD's were out and games also out.
Once we checked in we went to the many pools to check them out and was shocked at the amount of people in the resort as we had just come from Westin in Maui was a shock to see the hotel pool areas especially the kids pool with slides having no room to sit i know its the time of year to be busy but you pay huge amount of money for a rock to sit on.
There are several towers in the hotel the best ones are Rainbow and Ali the worst is Diamond Tower and if want to be far away as possible from the resort then stay in Khalia Tower the only good thing about it was i was able to get a deck chair to sit on level 4 private pool and didnt have to watch the kids like i did around the resort pools.
Khalia Tower do not do room service and cant could not believe the fridge was situated in the bathroom and there was no kettle.
The staff around the resort were all rude didnt great and if you wanted to ask a question seemed all too hard for them. Upon checkout i checked the bill and had exra charges for parking so please check.
The best thing i can say about the hotel is the fireworks Friday nights its free and if you choose to stay elsewhere then make sure you get down there at 7.30pm.
All the taxi's i went in were all friendly and cheap from airport was around $30 USD once way and took around half hour.
Best place to shop is ROSS they have all well known brands and designer brands at a really cheap price and there a few the best is near Walmart near Ala Moana and the other in Waikiki. I advice is to pack 1 small bag and but when your there the suitcases a dirt cheap.
My top recommendation is hiring a car and go to the north shore its beautiful and quiet and most memorable experience is swimming with turtles on turtle beach.
I will never be going back after my experience they just dont have value for money I highly recommend Sheraton Waikiki if your looking at a hotel great for kids.

Room Tip: My tip for you is only book Rainbow or Ali tower and avoid Diamond Tower all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights and paid extra for a ocean view king. We arrived early and were allowed early check in, and stayed in the diamond tower. The place was always very busy with people everywhere. If you didn't want to leave the village, you really didn't have to as it had everything there you could need-post office,ABC shops, Starbucks, restaurants etc. we went to the luau which was nearly booked out, so didn't have the option to pay extra for front row seats.. Not sure i would have. I felt that the Hilton Hawaiian Village was over priced (restaurants, drinks) and they are always trying to get you to goto a seminar to get a couple of hundred dollars, and when told that we weren't interested, we were looked at like we were stupid. Most of the staff were polite, but you don't get that extra special experience I was looking for. I would advise this resort for families with children or large groups, not if you were looking for something intimate.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our room was located in the Alii Tower with an ocean view. We spent quite alot of time sitting on the balcony watching the waves when we were in our room. Absolutely beautiful view! The room was very nicely done. The hotel impressed us with their service. The food on site was rather expensive and we tried to eat off site as much as possible. But overall, the location was just perfect for us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location and friendly staff at the Hilton but it's a bit pricy when you add in the $27 a day for parking. Other than that, no complaints. Pools were clean and the beach is great. Can't beat the location or the weather!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.