We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for Honolulu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$199 (USD)
Ranked #43 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Johnsburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad for Honolulu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I'm not really a big fan of Honolulu HI. I prefer the quieter life you get on the other islands, but I was pleasantly surprised by the great view even with just being on the 6th floor. we're HGVC owners and got a 2 bedroom condo overlooking the lagoon. The fireworks on Friday were great and we could watch them right from our lanai. everything was fairly close to walk to. The rooms furniture was quite worn and out dated and so was the carpeting. The staff needed a little more information about key things like using your room key for entering the parking garage (the bellmen and valets knew nothing about this they kept telling me that it was a seperated key) but after going to the front desk and checking, it all got figured out. The aquarium was very nice but we didn't make it to the zoo. great hiking around Diamond Head and Makapu Point. In all it was a nice complex with plenty of shops and restaurants. the grounds were nice and clean. I would definetly suggest to anyone heading to this island to go on the "Dolphin Excursions Snorkel Adventures" it was a blast and we saw soo many great things right from the start all the way to hte end as I put it to the guides "BEST EXCURSION EVVVVER!". Make plans early in your vacation that way if you have any cancelations due to weather you have time to reschedule. just a little tip. Again to me going to Honolulu is like traveling to the big city and I can do that at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,857
    2,721
    1,302
    525
    313
See reviews for
2842
2462
205
785
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,881)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the rainbow tower on higher floor room facing the beach. It was super view of the beach right upto the diamond hill. The rooms were very well maintained and were perfect for relaxing holiday. The balcony with tea table and reclining chairs was the best place to relax watching the calm sea, and the holidaymakers enjoying on the beach.
Food at Tropic grill -sitting in the open touching the beach with birds hopping around, - was really tasty, fresh and well cooked. There were also many other options around for dining. Numerous shops around for daily needs and holiday shopping plus many conducted tour options, completed the Hawaiian adventure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Pros:
-The view was beautiful: Park, Skyline, Beach, Ocean, and Diamond Head.
-The room was updated with modern decor and furnishings. We especially appreciated how the bed faced the lanai for a full ocean view from your pillow.
-Location: Walking distance to many dining and shopping options. On a wide section of the beach with plenty of room to find your spot. Next to surprising large and peaceful park.
-Bathroom was spacious and nicely updated.
-Alii Tower private pool: Quiet with beautiful view.

The Cons:
-The immense size of the resort results in a few issues. While many of the staff were kind and welcoming, the service overall seemed a little understaffed, and a few areas, particularly the bell desk, did not run smoothly. The resort is crowded. Aside from the aforementioned Alii pool, don't expect peace and quiet.
-The guests in the room below ours enjoyed chain-smoking on their lanai and their smoke always found its way into our room when the lanai doors were open. Although the resort is non-smoking with a few designated smoking areas, the staff did not seem to have a solid idea of how to enforce their policy. I did not see any signs in the room or on the lanai reminding guests about the policy, so it is possible that the guests below us were not aware. We made our concerns aware to the staff but in the end we felt that the burden of dealing with the issue was placed on us. The staff accommodated our request to move to another room but did not offer assistance in moving our belongings.
-Food and service at on-site restaurants were disappointing.

The Bottom Line: We had a great time staying at this resort and would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean View Alii Tower Rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pros: Great ambiance, nice views and activities. Pool areas are nicely landscaped

Cons: Pools are cold and need to be heated. This is obvious and the fact that only one pool is of swimming temperature it was massively overcrowded. we did not get a one category upgrade with HHonors diamond membership... Complimentary breakfast was a joke. There's nothing VIP about a few muffins, and bananas. This is possilby the biggest dissapointment of the whole property. I can't over emphasize how poor this aspect of the property was. It is almost better to have nothing at all than to try to pass off the vip lounge breakfast as a perk.

Overall: While the landscape and atmosphere was really nice, I can only sum it up by saying that if I were paying as opposed to using points then I probably would've gone elsewhere. Not sure any hotel wants to hear this but unfortunately its the truth. Biggest improvements I can suggest to its mgmt is :

- to revamp the complimentary breakfast to include some eggs, breakfast meats, an egg/omelet bar, etc.

- stop overbooking by such massive margins. I was told by front desk that the overbooking is beyond reasonable and while we did stay on property, this did impact upgrade availability and thus I wasn't able to take advantage of my loyalty to the Hilton brand because of this practice.

The focus is most apparent as quantity and upselling to Hilton Grand Vacations... Learn to respect the guests, respect my investment in coming to the property and stop the focus on the quantity.

Room Tip: diamond head tower, rainbow tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Hilton Waikiki on March 29th for one night. We checked in at noon and went straight to the pool. This is a huge “village” and there are many pools to choose from. Since I was with 3 teenagers, we decided to head for the Hilton Waikikian side pool which has 3 slides. Spring break time so it was very crowded but everyone was enjoying their time. There is a mini slide which is good for little kids maybe 2+ years old. The other two slides are good for anyone even adults!
Nearly the pool there is a lagoon where you can play sand. There are 2 more pools other than this one if you want a more quiet time. Tapa tower has a brand new swimming pool which is next to the wedding chapel. It looked very nice, too!
Our room was in the Alii tower which is central to all pools. The room was a bit worn – the deadbolt was broken when we checked in. The TV remote didn’t work until they changed batteries. The bathroom had a piece of tile that came off and it was ducktaped! Other than that, the room/bath were nice.

Room Tip: Rainbow tower or alii towers would be the ones to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village while attending a conference. There were some positive aspects to it but we are not resort people and did not really care for the experience. We also spent several days with a rental car touring the island and staying at much more modest places. We stayed in the Tapa tower and our room was spacious, newer, comfortable and all that we could have asked for. The staff were uniformly helpful and friendly, easily some of the nicest and most helpful staff I have seen.

As other reviewers have noted, this is a big resort. They have it set up so that you can visit Hawaii and never leave. You also can have almost no contact with anything that is not the resort. So if that is what you are looking for this is probably a good place but if you want to really see Hawaii and interact with Hawaiian people in some capacity other than service workers this is not the place for you. The layout is set up to help you spend money at every turn and corner. And, you better be prepared to spend because virtually everything, food, clothing, entertainment etc. that you buy in the resort will cost you half as much to double what you can get it outside of the resort and Waikiki. What is annoying are the nickle and dime charges, such as $14.00 a day for internet, on top of fairly steep room rates.

We saw lots of families and I could see how it would be a great, but very expensive place to bring the family. This would not be our idea of a romantic get away place. Too loud, too crowded, and too many kids.

Room Tip: Everyone we knew who stayed in the Tapa tower were happy with their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is one of the best properties on Waikiki Beach. It has a good (not great) location at the end of the beach near the harbor and its beach is very friendly for young families. The buildings themselves are comparable to the Westin in Maui. We received an upgrade to the Rainbow Tower with a lovely view of the beach looking south capped with a wonderful Diamondhead vista. The view was pretty amazing, but it's a fairly pretty penny. The rooms are great, but the hallway and elevator experience is starting to show some age which is to be expected given the volume this place must do. The elevators have a weird control system where you enter your floor number and wait - a very Japanese way to do it.
The downer of this resort is that they upcharge you for everything. Self-parking is $27/day, valet $33/day. Resort fee is $25/day. An umbrella on the beach? Extra $30/day. Dinners are pretty outrageously priced, but thankfully there are not one, but two ABC stores on premise. I'm not a big fan of this type of pricing as I think they sucker you in and then have you as a captive consumer, but I realize that most of the big chains are doing this these days.
Another nitpick I have is that their traffic management in the main drop-off area is a bit chaotic. Granted there was some construction that closed one of the arteries, but their Bell/Valet staff could be more proactive to ensure flow and customer pedestrian safety.

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower Ocean View Facing Diamonhead are Great if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.