We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful place--WAY too noisy!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #41 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awful place--WAY too noisy!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is awful for anyone who wants to relax. The "music" from the beachside Tropicals Bar is incessant morning 'til night and extremely loud--even on the 22nd floor with the lanai doors closed. Anyone who actually wanted to enjoy the great view of Diamond Head and Waikiki on their lanai is bombarded with the noise from below. It is by far the noisiest hotel we have ever stayed in. The incessant beat of the drums can be heard in bed, behind closed doors, until late at night, even through earplugs. AWFUL place!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha Shallberg,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! As a vibrant resort, we feature live entertainment daily beginning in the late afternoon into the evening. With respect to all our valued guests, noise levels and curfews are in place to govern activity of HHV. We sincerely apologize that our entertainment was disturbing to your stay and that our team was unable to offer assistance with this matter during your visit. Our guests’ feedback is extremely important in the growth of our offerings and services and we thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you will allow HHV to another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in Honolulu.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,676
    2,546
    1,224
    509
    296
See reviews for
2633
2324
196
746
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,726)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DENVER
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in a great room on the 24th floor of the Rainbow Tower, the room was a nice size and well appointed. It featured a perfect sized balcony which had a fabulous view of Waikiki beach and Diamond Head.
The property is expansive with five towers of room availability, I really like the Rainbow Tower it provided a fantastic view because of it's location on the beach and the largest pool is at the base of the building. There are many shops and restaurants right on the property available, one could stay on the property without leaving during your stay.
I wouldn't do that, a walk on Waikiki is beautiful, a day at Pearl Harbor, a trip to the National Cemetery in the Punch Bowl, and into the Diamond Park. So many things to do, sights to see, incredible history and of course great places to eat.
I will go back to Honolulu and plan to stay with Hilton again.

Room Tip: There is a band that plays into the night and you can hear it even on the 24th floor if your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of days during spring break and loved it! Alii pool was great, kids loved Pronto Pickle and a great dinner at the Italian place! The grounds were clean and the staff was always there to take care of my kids!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just spent a week at the Hilton in Walkiki, The place is fantastic ! Very close to the beach , and there are two pools . There are a lot of shops with a great selection, so many restaurants to choose from! The fireworks on Friday were beautiful. The room was very spacious
and clean, the bed very comfortable. The staff was always very helpful and kind we did not meet any "grumpy" people!!! We took a tour of the island and it was very well organized. The tour guide
was very informative and with a good humour.
Anyway, as you can tell, we had a marvellous time and we plan to go back there in the near future!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a the Ocean view, it is really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just spent four nights at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, and we came away pretty disappointed. I had stayed here many times as a child, and I had fond memories.

I think the primary problem is that they have built too many towers. The place is overcrowded. We walked by the breakfast buffet line today, and people were strewn all about the pool area waiting. Did not look pleasant.

The pools aren't big enough to capacitate all of the expansion, and as it is a family resort, it isn't uncommon for pools to be shut down due to turds in the water. The beach is really nice, but it is also packed, and as it is a public beach, you will be paying for a chair rental. Speaking of chairs, the pool chairs are also pretty run down and could use replacing. The other thing is that you only get one towel card per guest. So if you want to spread a towel on your chair and dry off with another, no can do here. Better bring your own towels.

The room service options are pretty poor. Standard city Hilton / Marriott properties have significantly better options.

I suppose it's nice that every room comes with a PS3, but if you came to Hawaii to play video games, that's another issue - but you can bring Blu ray or DVD movies to watch.

Our room was really nice. As Hilton diamond members, we were upgraded to a corner room in the rainbow tower. The room wasn't anything special, but the bed was comfy, and it was very clean.

All in all, we won't ever stay here again. It's a zoo. The place is overrun with rif raf. The strict towel allocation makes me feel like as a guest I'm treated as a potential criminal...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha hungarianhc,

Mahalo for returning to the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We appreciate your loyalty as a returning guest and valued Hhonors Diamond member. It is to our delight to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade to a Rainbow Tower corner suite. Breakfast is served in multiple outlets daily and we understand your concern for resolution where queues are present. We apologize that we have failed to notify you upon check-in that although the front desk initially allocates one towel card per registered guest, we would be happy to issue additional towel cards for your comfort. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team to prevent further oversights. We hope you will reconsider in allowing us to continue to serve you.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a very bustling hotel. We had a fantastic corner room with 2 balconies overlooking Diamond Head, Waikiki Beach and the ocean. Restaurants on site were expensive but there are many great places to eat close by. Staff was courteous and helpful at all times. We did not use a lot of the amenities at this hotel as we were here seeing the major attractions before heading to Maui. The Hilton was a big part of our Hawaiian experience. We stayed in the Rainbow Tower, no complaints except that pesky beach grooming tractor who started about 5:30 am. We just got up and closed the windows so it wasn't a major issue. It was all part of their very meticulous groundskeepng at the Hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel if staying in Honolulu

Room Tip: The Corner King suite is well worth the money, wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I travel a lot and have become disappointed in the general customer service offered, but was greaty encouraged after my most recent stay here, March 12-15. We met 4 others staying here and upon check in requested to be close to our friends. The front-desk agent worked incredibly hard and was able to get us into the Rainbow Tower, upgraded our room and the room was ready for us to check in. A triple play! Also, we unfortunately had to check out a day early and they again accomodated my request AND refunded the points I had used for that night stay. Very pleased. The hotel also offers a lovely lagoon for swimming, wonderful beach where you can also snorkel and many fun shops. I also like being down at the end of Waikiki where the beach is a bit quieter and much wider. Can't wait for my next stay!

Room Tip: Rainbow tower.. Diamond head view, high floor, expensive,but you won't get a better view anywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.