We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Of Your Needs At The Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bonus Points + Suite
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Most Of Your Needs At The Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been coming back to this Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort at least once every other year for many years now and still look forward to be there again. There are several hotel towers and three Timeshare properties in this village. There are many different type of restaurants, eateries, ice creamery, cookie store, pizzeria, grocery store, gift shops, jewelery stores, T-shirt store, several outdoor bars, pools, spa etc. in this village. There is a free outdoor show on Friday night followed by fire works by Waikiki beach. There is a lagoon with water sport activities and equipment rentals right there. The beautiful Waikiki beach is right there at the end of the village. We love to stroll the beach in early mornings or during sunsets. Play in the ocean, sun bath, people watch or surf. There are several free trollies that one can ride from the village to shopping mall, jewelry factory, Hilo Hattie clothing/ gift store etc. There are many city bus lines that stop near the village as well, so one does not really need to have a car to get around Oahu island.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors, facing east will have this spectacular view of the Diamond Head Volcano,parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,451
    3,269
    1,540
    605
    360
See reviews for
3,387
2,994
241
917
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights(feb 15 through 18th) with my wife and two children. Grounds were beautiful! We had requested a high floor room facing diamond head. We got a lower floor facing harbor. We made the request in August of last year, so i thought i had given plenty of notice. My wife and i were disapointed with the view :( for the money we would have expected our request to be taken more seriously, but we did enjoy our stay otherwise... It is Hawaii after all. My advice when booking your room would be to make sure upon booking that you get Rainbow tower high floor Diamond head side, or if you want a guaranteed incredible view go for the ocean front Rainbow tower. Once again, we did enjoy our stay, but for the money and slight lack in customer care and service we will be searching elsewhere for that ideal place that my family and i can return to for future vacations and memory making. P.S. Save your souvenir money untill you get off property, you will find a substantial price difference! Mahalo :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha hellscanyonman,


Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with the view from your room, and apologize the Front Desk was not able to fulfill your requests. Our team tries our best to accommodate every guest’s request and the needs based on the availability. It is our regret that you did not feel this aloha spirit shared with you during your visit. We appreciate your comments as we work with our team to enhance our guests’ experience. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.


Mahalo Nui Loa
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here at the beginning of February. I was in town for a convention and the Hilton HV is nice 13-15 minute walk to the convention center. The grounds are absolutely beautiful but I stayed in one of the older more run down towers (Diamond Head). While the room was outdated it was very clean and had a balcony overlooking the pool. If you are a light sleeper, keep your balcony door close because the bands can be heard very distinctly with the door open. The hotel is an easy walk out to the beach. The door to my room did not close all the way and had to be forced close. Other than that it was an average stay but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Aloha teamram,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are pleased to hear that you found the resort’s grounds beautiful as well as our location convenient. We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced with the noise from the Tapa bar and the issue with the room door. Our maintenance team is on site at all times to assist our guests with such issue. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review as your feedback will assist us in perfecting our customer service to our guests. We hope you return to our resort and provide us with another opportunity to service you.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Don’t stay here – the senior management’s attitude towards its paying guests is terrible. They are clearly operating on the theory that it’s a big hotel in a very desirable location and they don’t need repeat custom:-

We visited the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort in August 2012 as part of a road trip around the US. The Hawaiian stop over (6 days) was supposed to be the chill out and relaxing part of the holiday but as it turned out it was very much the opposite.

We were travelling as a family of four (2 adults and 2 kids) and had booked interconnecting rooms. On arrival we were greeted by a massive queue to check in, we stood up and queued (with the kids) for 50 minutes. The only thing the hotel offered its queuing guests was water in plastic cups. I had visions of leis and tropical drinks but no sign of those.
Check in was SLOW and you then realise why the queues are so big but the odd thing was they had computers and desks available for more staff? How tough can it be to work out that when a big plane arrives, reception will get busy – add more staff??

Once checked in, we were told “you’re in the Ali’i tower and that’s having some minor refurbishment, oh and there’s no porters, sorry”. That’s not funny when you’re staying in a tower that’s a good 500yd hike from reception, are travelling with two kids that cant carry a 25KG suit case each plus hand luggage– I hauled them all in batches, by the time I got to the room I was exhausted.

The tower was indeed having refurbishment done and I’m generally pretty chilled about that sort of thing (see my other reviews), I mean it has to be done sometime. In our case the entrance to the tower had been closed and you had to gain access through a side door – no big deal. But the place stank of paint and they’d put block board on the floor for us to walk on and the walls were all boarded up, I think this was too much to expect paying guests to accept.

We got to the interconnecting rooms and were greeted by a sea of brown and beige in both rooms, and old swivel office chair in pink, stains on the carpet, old electrical fixtures from the 1970’s, a dirty coffee machine (coffee stains all over it), battered woodwork and an electric light hanging off the wall (see the photo’s uploaded). I called reception and asked if we could have any other rooms, didn’t have to be interconnecting, we could live without that – they said “no we’re fully booked”.

So we made the best of it and stayed out of the depressing rooms. We visited the pools the hotel had and boy were they busy, no chance of a sun bed and the pools were hugely over crowded. We then went out to the lagoon that the hotel has and this is ok, apart from its salt water and cold, it also gets pretty deep quick as well so if your kids aren’t good swimmers it’s not ideal.
But at the lagoon you have to PAY for sunbeds and umbrellas $90.00+ per day! It’s the same story on the beach (the beach is epically good though) $90.00+ per day, to be fair they do bring the sun beds and umbrellas to where you want them but they are rusty and pretty unplesant.

The Ali’I tower has its own pool around floor four and this is accessible only by Ali’I tower guests – nice idea and in the end we spent quite a bit of time there. But this area was old as well and had horrible cloth sunbeds, cracked tiles around the pool and a bar that only opened some of the time. On our fourth day we were at the Ali’I tower pool and the refurbishment of the top four floors was in full swing, on this particular day they were breaking concrete with a jack hammer. The noise went on for hours, until eventually I cracked and went to reception and demanded to speak to the manager. The lady came quickly and listened as I ranted about travelling thousands of miles to visit an island paradise, not to listen to building works all day. When I finished she said she completely agreed with me, it was totally unacceptable that the tower was open and in fact all the local managers had all voted that the tower should be closed during the entire refurbishment but the senior management had overruled them and it will remain open 100% of the time!

I was astonished by what she said “the senior management overruled them” it’s the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard a hotel chain do. The duty manager was really nice about it (local Hawaiian) and it clearly wasn’t her fault, so that was it, we’d been done over by the Hilton senior management. The duty manager offered us a free meal (very nice of here) in the hotel, but when we got there we were given a pager and told 50 minute wait minimum. So we headed off and ate outside of the hotel again.

I’m sure parts of this hotel are seriously nice to stay in and I can’t fault the restaurants in the village complex, Benihana’s, Pizzeria, Hawaiian Cookie Company – they were all really nice places to eat/visit.

BUT I can’t ever forgive the attitude of the senior management and I’ll never trust the Hilton chain again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Aloha rob234,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We appreciate your understanding of the Ali’i Tower renovation that had taken place during your family’s visit. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and noise disturbances that had taken away from your enjoyment. Thank you kindly for your patience during times of queue. We would like to assure our guests we are exploring a collection of suggestions that would enhance our service and resort offerings. HHV provides complimentary chaise lounge chairs at all of our pools on a first come basis with optional rentals for use on the public beach and lagoon available thru a vendor. Thank you for sharing specific details where improvements can be made to better guide our development as a whole. We hope for the opportunity to welcome your family back for a more pleasant stay the next time you are in town.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

great hotel though really big since its spread out all over. there was construction going on when I was there which I could see from tapa tower but it didnt affect us at all.

rainbow tower is still the best as its cloest to the beach and has unobstructed view if you have a sea view.

Room Tip: corner suites if you can afford it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas 2012. The resort is beautiful. Beach front, shopping complex, ABC store, several Starbucks and even a Dairy Queen. The reviews here about alot of people everywhere are completely accurate. Counted upwards of 25 adults and small children in the hot tub at the Paradise Pool. Signage clearly marked with max. capacity at something like 15. It is not a quiet relaxing place at all. That being said, we just enjoyed hanging out by the pool, snorkeling, and spending time together as a family. The service at the Super Pool was excellent.

Our room was in the Tapa Tower. Tapa Tower Junior Suite on 31st floor. Awesome ocean facing brightly lit corner room with balcony. Only down side to the room were the two DOUBLE beds. Plenty of room for 2 queen beds. Enjoyed a great dinner at Benihana. Pizza from the Roundtable was excellent. All employees were helpful and courteous.

Definitely be prepared for alot of people all the time. If you do your homework and know what to expect you will have a good time.

Room Tip: Tapa Tower Junior Suite was spacious. Make sure to request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples,FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Grand style, take a map. Too big to really enjoy. We visited in January after visiting friends on Hawaii, not the best time to go, Pro Bowl. Easy walk to Ala Moana shopping center, marinas and beach park, lots of activity over the weekend. Chart house nearby has a great bar menu and Happy hour til seven. We stayed in the Rainbow Tower, great view of Diamond Head.

Room Tip: Busy, busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha ruaned,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your oceanfront view from our Rainbow Tower and found much convenience with our resort location. We appreciate your review and hope you will return for a longer visit to explore all that HHV has to offer.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.