We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ali'i Tower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$199 (USD)
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ali'i Tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I just arrived home form 8 days in Ohau, staying at the Hawaiian Village. The Ali'i Tower made the ttrip very relaxing. We had an ocean front room which was large and well appointed. The housekeeping was excellent and the provided toiletries were wonderful. I wish I knew where to buy them because they were labeled just for the Ali'i. I especially enjoyed the 2nd floor pool deck, as the chaises were well cushioned and the umbrellas were plentiful, when you prefered shade. The towels were luxurious and plenttiful, no towel card required. The patio bar area was a pleasant place to sit for the fireworks and to listen to the music of the Friday night show. My only complaint was the $25.00 resort fee. I believe such fees should either be optional or included in the initial price. The Village was a pleasant area to walk and window shop, it was never crowed but still vibrant. If you have to stay in Honolulu I believe that this is the place to stay. I was vacationing, my companion was on business. As Hilton Gold members we were given a continental breakfast each morning which was extremely good with cereal, wonderful muffins, bowls of fresh fruit, juice toast bagels, etc. Serve yourself, but very good clean up serice and pleasant employees.

Room Tip: Others in our group were located in different towers and they all commented that the Ali'i Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,154
    2,974
    1,402
    561
    339
See reviews for
3,078
2,720
222
872
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,089)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were put up in the hotel by our airline, due to a problem with our plane. We ended up getting three free nights in the hotel and free meals for the whole stay (not a bad deal) United Mileage Plus Premier is worth the extra dough. The hotel and the area are just stunning, we had a great time. Every single person we talked to that worked there just seemed as though they didn't want us to be there and that we were inconveniencing them by our presence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha jr37388,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time and found the hotel area stunning. We regret to hear that we did not succeed in sharing the aloha sprit with you. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review as we are continuously striving to improve in providing the best customer service to our guest. We hope you return to our resort and provide us with another opportunity to service you and share the aloha spirit.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine, ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Most hotels in Waikiki are not "resorts." IMO. This property is very pretty. It has the largest stretch of sand. Many stretches on Waikiki are so narrow, it is hard to find a spot. Hotel is great. Our tower rooms were a little dated, but still good. The not so good part is that this hotel is a bit far from the heart of Waikiki, so you may need to take a long walk or a short drive to get to many of the restaurants and shops. Pools are good. I wished the water slide was a bit bigger. Still, my favorite family spot of the Waikiki beach front hotels.

Room Tip: Everything on the Hotel premise is very expensive. Take a walk for less expensive and better eating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Hilton Hawaiian Village is spectacularly located on Waikiki Beach. The Rainbow Tower has amazing views of the beach and the ocean. There are several stores and restaurants on the property as well. The prices at the various bars and restaurants on the property are quite frankly, too high for the quality, but that is common with resorts. Take the initiative and walk a few blocks into Waikiki's retail district and you will find more options and if you look around, much better pricing and options. Admittedly, the facility is far from new, but most of the properties in the area have some age to them. The Hilton has clearly spent time and money working to keep the facility up to modern standards while maintaining a level of affordability. This is a fine facility for families, couples, and business types as well. The only real downside with this facility is that the bars and restaurants are simply too expensive for the average vacation traveler to use on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Ask for the Rainbow Tower and specify that you want a room facing the ocean or towards Diamondhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at three different towers on the resort - the Rainbow Tower, the Kalia Tower, and the Ali'i Tower. Each room was fine, very clean, comfortable with different but very nice views. The Kalia Tower is part of the Hilton Grand Vacation Club where we have a membership. We had a one bedroom "plus" there with a kitchen/living/dining room and two balconies. We bracketed our HGVC stay with one night in each of the two above mentioned towers. Although the $25/night resort fee is annoying and not that useful for us as we had only 1 night in each, it is comparable to most other similar hotels. Each pool is nice and the beach is beautiful (although it is also annoying that there is a separate $15 charge for each chaise lounge on the beach - so we skipped it and hung out at the pool where there was no additional charge and just waiked on the beach). The restaurants on the property are expensive, but we had a very nice buffet breakfast with an ocean view the first morning. The more casual Tropics restaurant and bar- also on the beachfront has good bands playing in the evening. Service in all 3 towers was great. Location is prime - a walkable distance to the Ala Moana Shopping Center and in the other direction the high end luxury shopping street near the Royal Hawaiian.
street near the Royal Hawaiin

Room Tip: Even though the Kalia Tower is closest to the street, and our room partially faced the street, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If your looking for a quiet secluded beach vacation. Your not going to happy here. Yet if you have kids. Llike lazy days choosing which pool to go to. Wearing your kids out on beach. Night life and shopping with in walking distance, then its Mecca. Great time, great staff, great place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in the tapa tower. It was very noisy, we could hear the people on either side of us as if they were in the room. We requested a room high in a tower, got the 6th floor and No view. The band that played in the bar downstairs might as well have been in the room every night too. We could smell cigarette smoke in the AC every night. I did not sleep well the entire stay. The parking rates were $27 per night to park your own car- pretty steep. No help from the front desk on any account. The surfing guide we hired one day was of no help to me, a beginner. It appeared he just wanted to go surf himself. I finally just paddled in and gave up. My husband was more help to me than the "guide"
Fortunately, we spent most of our time away from the resort, otherwise it would have been a disaster.
One bright spot: The concierge that helped us the first day was great and showed us lots of spots to try around the island and dining tips.
Will definately stay somewhere else on the next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha Georgia122,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are sorry to learn of the challenges you experienced with our service and accommodations. Our goal is to ensure all of our guests feel comfortable and are able to enjoy a relaxing stay with us. Based on our availability, we apologize the Front Desk was unable to fulfill your requests. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback so we can work on improving these specific concerns with our team. We hope you will reconsider and allow us the opportunity to better serve you on a future visit.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.