We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #42 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
South East England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at the Hawaiian Village in summer 2012 and had a great time. It is located about a 20 minute walk from the main Waikiki beach area, which we actually found nice because it is a pleasant walk to lose some of the extra pounds gained from eating American size meals. The beach and pools were really nice, with board paddling and kayaks available at the lake. Staff were friendly and there are some nice restaurants to eat at. My one complaint would be that there is nothing to do after 11pm as everywhere shuts, and it would be nice to have somewhere locally to spend a late night drinking and chatting. Waikiki itself is a little touristy but I still loved it, and Honolulu and Pearl Harbour are worth a visit. we also went for an organised walk in the rainforest. Don't want to offend our American cousins, but any British will have to accept that on such a walk Americans are just so slow (lol). And yes, the place is full of the iconic sandy beaches, palm trees and blue skies. Not as hot as European resorts, and can be windy / cloudy at times (it is an island in the middle of the Pacific), but we loved every day there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,779
    2,645
    1,269
    516
    302
See reviews for
2765
2401
200
765
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,823)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairborn, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very impressed so far. The Hilton just called my house to do pre check in. I can't wait !!! This will be our second visit. We are going to stay oceanfront in the Rainbow Tower. Keeping our fingers crossed for a room on a high floor !!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Resort in the late afternoon on Thanksgiving Day. Be prepared, the line at check-in can be long and there is renovation ongoing (Ali Tower) in part of the resort. The excellent front desk clerk, Angeline, noting we were on an anniversary vacation upgraded us to a suite (what a wonderful treat). The room on the 27th floor of the Rainbow Tower - Oceanfront, we had a spectular view of the ocean, beach and Diamond Head. This resort has a variety of excellent restaurants and shops (but, be prepared that prices for meals are a bit on the high side). We had a snack at Lappert's (an ice cream parlor on property and a coupon from one of the coupon books saved us some bucks). The guestroom and shower were clean and the beds comfortable. We opened the doors to the two balconies and could clearly hear the sounds of the ocean. The following day we went exploring the island (Punchbown, Da Kine, Panualuu, etc.) and when we returned the room had been thoroughly cleaned (although there is a resort fee, it doesn't hurt to leave a few dollars each day for the maids). This resort provides good access to the beach and there are a variety of different shops (e.g., Hawaii Five-O) in the various towers. The check out process went smoothly (but, always give yourself time to review the bill).

Room Tip: Ocean view/front rooms are the best, but stay about the 6th floor to get the best views...the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As HH members we booked the last 2 nights of our vacation at the Hawaiian Village. We arrived early and had to wait for our room. We waited about an hour but there is so much to see that time passed rather quickly and soon we found ourselves on the 23rd floor of the Rainbow Tower. After staing at a hotel with no view we were amazed by how the view of the beach and Diamond Head and for the first hour or so just sat on the balcony and stared. This hotel is self contained ( yes there is a resort fee) but everything is there. No need for a car rental. My husband I did rent a car for a day (as many visitors do to avoid parking) and drove around the island) and returned it to avoid the parking fees. Car rental was $35.00 for the day! We walked the entire property and found every area to be clean and well maintained. Our room was clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries and the bed was very confortable. There is something for everyone at this location but be sure to go to the lagoon for a nice salt water experience, no crowds and learn to paddle or take the paddle boats for a spin. We love this property and can't wait to return next year! AND if you are in Waikiki Hilton or not don't forget the fireworks at 745 it is spectacular!

Room Tip: If you book online take the option for a ocean view or ocean fron room. Although this increases the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village over Thanksgiving. It was beautiful!! Weather was wonderful. The hotel was crowded, however it didn't bother me. Best beach in Waikiki. It's larger than the others, so there was always plenty of room. Reserve a corner king in the Rainbow Tower. Best tower, and best way to get a great view. I was on the 7th floor and it was still good. Wouldn't want to go any lower than that. The Benihana's on the property was excellent. Tropics Restaurant has a great atmosphere. We were not crazy about the food. Service was great everywhere we went. Pools are a little too crowded, however not as bad as the other hotels in Waikiki, that are much smaller.

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower, corner king. Try for the 7th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a family place just to hang your hat for a few days, this may be the place for you. Especially if you enjoy paying resort fees based essentially on the location. If you want to be pampered , not an ideal choice.

Parking; spring for the valet as its only $6/day more than self park, & the self park garage is rather remote and has many dangerous crossings for pedestrians.

Rooms: Go for the Ali'i tower no matter how nice the room in another tower. You only get access to the nice gym and other amenities if you are in the Ali'i.

Room Service: really really shallow menu - e.g. only sandwiches salads and pizza for lunch. I guess that forces you to use the restaurants downstairs if you want anything like local cuisine. Be aware though that the nice steakhouse (Bali) closes at 9 PM. On Saturday! Also, no champagne glasses will be delivered to your room. Not so good for romance. That's terrible, really! Not even plastic ones?

On the plus side, the sheets were nice. The staff was always friendly and tried to help, but many things were out of their control. The beach access is good. The stores are nice. There are tons of things to do with your kids. But don't set your expectations too high.

I won't be back to this property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Aloha Archeptolemus,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with our offerings. Guests with vehicles may choose to valet at the Main Lobby, Kalia Tower, or Grand Waikikian porte cochere. Otherwise, guests can choose to self- park in our centralized garage that is marked with safety signs/crossings and provides easy access to our resort towers. There is a fitness center for all registered guests to enjoy on the fourth floor of the Kalia Tower, near the Mandara Spa. Fresh connection offers a selection of menu items with breakfast and dinner service room delivery available. We apologize that Fresh Connection does not offer the delivery of glassware as they do not sell alcohol. Your feedback is greatly appreciated so that adjustments can be made to better enhance our guests’ experience. We hope you will reconsider visiting us again the next time you come to Oahu.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are a couple in our late 40's. We stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian village for 8 nights at the end of August into September 2011. We stayed in the Ali tower. The room met all our needs and was kept in great shape by the staff. The bed was very comfortable. The second level pool was wonderful for relaxing in peace. The restaurants we went to were varied both in cost and quality but were all enjoyed. She went to the spa for a massage and was very satisfied. The beach area was nice and we loved the gentle surf.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Diamond head side of the Ali Tower. We could hear the trucks in the morning even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.