We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #41 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location for a family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in the Rainbow Tower for eight nights in interconnecting Diamond Head ocean front rooms (family of four with two older teenagers). One room was a junior suite with an interconnecting regular ocean front room. The view was simply amazing by both day and night. The rooms have been recently renovated and are appropriately appointed and furnished. The bathroom in the suite was large with seperate toilet area. The house keeping staff were friendly and very efficient and polite and nothing seemed to be a problem, our maid always left extra towels and toiletries for us.

The complex has many pools, restaurants, bars and shops. Being such a large complex there are lots of people. This is mainly way i didn't give it five stars in this review. With all the people the service whilst atentative is generally just getting the job done. This is not a bad thing but it is not what you expect from a five star hotel. At times you really were just another person not a guest as such. I was annoyed at times that staff were always trying to sell vacation units and sell hotel events. We got a grumpy check in attendant who obviously was not well suited to front office duties but that did not deter my stay in any way. That all said the choice was great and everything basically at your door step. We ate at CJ's several times and at tropics twice, great for quick full meals. The highlight was Bali steak and seafood, expensive but great food, excellent service and a beautiful ambience.

Having a proper beach adjacent to the pool area was a bonus as was the lagoon and lagoon pool with the water slides. Most evenings were spent on the beach watching the sun set followed by pool side cocktails. This was a great way to finish the day.

The hotel was about a fifteen minute walk to Waikiki shops, which was a pleasant walk.
direction There is a Doctors practice in the village, this came in handy for a quick visit. The doctor was extremely professional and you felt like you were seeing your own GP as the practice had that pleasant andreassuring feel.

Room Tip: Ocean front is Diamond head view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Aloha amsam,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are sorry to hear you were not given a warm welcome to HHV and did not feel the aloha spirit of hospitality at our village. The size of our resort is not to be mistaken for the personalized service our team is here to provide including booking activities and timeshare presentations for the interested. We appreciate your feedback on how we can enhance your next visit and look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,683
    2,556
    1,227
    509
    296
See reviews for
2645
2331
196
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were spoiled and got the corner room in the rainbow tower on the 27th floor. Incredible room and view. It was amazing! Room was very pricey. We could see sea turtles surfacing from our balcony. Amazing views of diamondhead, beach and the lagoon.

I like the village concept but it was waaaaaay too big. There are only two pools. They weren't too crowded, but you couldn't find a chair anywhere. Unless you get down to the pool at 7am, which we did one day, you won't find a chair, let along two together. It's like a shark tank waiting for people to leave to get a chair. We went to the beach and then back to the pool (maybe half an hour total-7:30 or 8am) and there weren't any chairs available.

It's very busy and crowded. I liked the shops. There's almost everything you could want close by, but it is negated by how crowded it is.

They did give us a courtesy room to shower after we had to check out before our evening flight.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the rainbow tower corner suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Aloha 333kmg333,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are delighted to hear of your pleasant stay in the iconic Rainbow Tower. All of our pools are currently open to registered HHV guests with the exception of the Tapa Pool that is under renovation. We are anticipating its reopening as it will be sure to bring additional pool space and amenities to our guests. Complimentary chaise lounge chairs can be found at all of our pools on a first come basis with no reservations. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Small rooms --- quite expensive. But they have everything one needs. I had to just loose of the pocket strings and enjoy. We were on a high floor in the Rainbow Tower but never more than a 30 second wait for elevator.
Fireworks are the best I've seen.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in September and have been looking forward to this for nearly a year , I have to say I was so disappointed ....this was a reward my company booked for me for for my 10 years of long service they paid AU$250 a night for each room, we had two rooms booked and arrived all exited to be put in the tapa tower , a couple of floors up with our balcony overlooking a construction pit and jack hammering all day.
I understood there was some construction going on and obviously they have to do it sometime but I don't think when you pay $250 a night you should be put in such an appalling room when there are so many other towers , the grounds are beautiful there's no doubt but no one should be charged to stay in that tower until it is finished construction .... The halls are old and paint is banged and chipped .....a terrible start to a holiday we had been looking forward to for a year .
My suggestion is that you request another tower and if they decline find yourself another hotel

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Aloha Beanie 1234,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village and congratulations on your award! Your patience and understanding during this time of rejuvenation of HHV is greatly appreciated. At this time, the Tapa Tower itself is fully open and we are anticipating the completion of the Tapa Pool renovation shortly. We apologize your dissatisfaction was not rectified before your departure as we hope to provide your family more pleasurable accommodations on a future visit. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived on Sunday 23rd September. This hotel complex is awesome - I read in earlier posts that the was some refurbishment taking place and was a little concerned before we got here - yes there are refurbishments but these are being carried out as unobtrusively as possible and in no way detract from what is a superb complex and wonderful holiday experience. The staff are all excellent and friendly and approachable - despite previous comments nothing is too much trouble for them and like in any hotel extras have to be paid for. We found the prices very reasonable bearing in mind the star rating of the complex - the food is excellent with a huge variety of food available in various on site restaurants and bars - if you are coming to Honolulu you must stay here. We thoroughly recommend it without hesitation

Room Tip: If you want a sea view then the best Tower to go for is the Rainbow Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is massive and there are just too many people staying here. Stepping out of the elevators is like walking into Grand Central Station. It struck me that the place is understaffed and as a consequence the service is quite poor and the staff attitude apathetic, with a few exceptions. The service at the poolside bar is poor and for the second time in 2 stays here I gave up waiting to be served and walked away. The plus is that the hotel is on the beach but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Aloha cathrob1,

Mahalo for returning to the Hilton Hawaiian Village! As a popular resort destination, we cater to a diversity of guests and have team members throughout the resort that are ready to assist at any time. We apologize for the queue you have experienced and hope for the opportunity to provide you more timely service on a future visit.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I would not stay there again. The rooms were just hotel rooms. They do not offer much in the way of entertainment. It is like staying in a shopping mall. If you like to shop this place is for you.

Too many lines and too many people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Aloha Jeanne926,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are sorry to hear you were unaware of our daily offerings that certainly keep our resort buzzing. Whether it is our penguin feeding, live entertainment in our restaurants and bars, Waikiki Starlight Luau, or the Rockin Rainbow Revue and Friday nights fireworks over Waikiki Beach, there is certainly something here for everyone. For future visits, please visit our website for more information and special offers. Thank you for your review and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.