We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickle and dime or not - I'd stay there again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$199 (USD)
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Nanaimo BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nickle and dime or not - I'd stay there again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I was here with my sister - and we both love to swim and have beach fun. We chose this location because it is a hotel ON THE BEACH, as well as being a luxury resort. It is a beautiful hotel. We stayed on the 33rd floor in the Tapa tower. We were supposed to have a garden view, but ended up having a beautiful view of the lagoon, and the Luau , Ocean and the Marina next door. They had not mentioned that the APEC conference was going to be there - so security was very tight, and we had to haul our luggage 4 blocks to get there - not the hotels fault. (President Obama, President Aquino, and many other world leaders were also staying there.) Other than affecting our travel - we didn't notice much - and chose to stay and play on the beach for the 3 days they were there.
everything is extra - Wifi about 18/day, gym 12.50day, parking I heard was 30/day - so be aware. Once we found out about free WIFI at the McDonalds - we were set, and I have new found respect for McDonalds restaurants now. The FREE (I am sure we actually paid somewhere along the line) LUAU show was Spectacular, and first class, but the meal was smorg, and mediocre. Knowing what I know now, the Friday night show and fireworks around the pool for $20.00 is worth seeing.
Some of the restaurants in the complex are very good - Sergios had a $20.00 3 course lovely dinner - and when we were there you could bring in your own wine or beer. This was our deal of the week. It was restaurant week - so many 5* restaurants had good deals on.

They also offer courtesy rooms to clean up before your flight if you have a red eye like we did, and plenty of places to store things for your trip.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade - In this hotel - they were renovating the Rainbow tower while we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,150
    2,967
    1,400
    560
    339
See reviews for
3,072
2,714
222
872
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,085)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Md
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at Diamond Head Tower in a "suite", which was a stretch. It did have a living room and bedroom, but that's the extent of the term "suite". The rooms are older and need to be updated. We were on the 14th floor which has HUGE balconies -- decks more like it -- overlooking Hale Koa and the beach. The balconies were bigger than the rooms. Definitely a great place to have morning coffee. Even though we were right behind the elevator it was very quiet. If we get back out to Hawaii I'd definitely stay in a different bldg if not a different resort.

Service was spotty. One day they'd take the used glasses, the next they wouldn't. One glass stayed for about 3 days, obviously it'd been used. It became the daily bet whether it was there or not when we got back. Some days we had a plethora of towels, others they'd take away towels on the floor and hanging and leave us with 1 short. It was a bit odd.

The resort itself is beautiful with Koi ponds and the beach. There are penguins and pink flamingos too, along with a variety of macaws, when you can find them out,- a bit of "hide and seek" for them. It's a bit of a maze and took most of the week to figure out which way to go.

The lagoon is great with the paddle boards, but not included and kind of expensive. The pools are rather "blah" -- just a pool. The pool with the slides was pretty, but the slides were lame. My 6 and 8 year old had to wear arm floaties to go down a short 10' (approx) slide -- really? And the slides close at 5pm when the attendants leave.

The whole place is a bit lackluster, but the hotel isn't where you want to be anyway, get out and explore.

Room Tip: 14th floor has HUGE balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

I may have made a mistake but it seemed to me that the Hilton markets the Ali'i tower as being the most luxurious option within the resort. But it really didn't seem true.

The rooms were surprisingly small and there were no luxuries to speak of. Just mid 1980's interior design. I would have expected in this price range to have enough room for a small couch and table in front of the tv. But only a tiny desk and chair... Otherwise just enough room for the queen bed.

We paid for the ocean view room and the view was great, but it looked to me like the Rainbow Tower rooms might have even better views especially on the high floors. The welcome fruit bowl was three bruised apples and a flower. Really? Just dont offer it if its gonna be so lame... Its a bit embarassing! The check in wasn't any faster than the main resort check in. The pool wasn't that nice really, though it was on the 2nd floor so it had a bit of a view, though we preffered to go to the main pool anyway. The gym was fine if a bit small.

But if I were to do it all over again I would definitely just stick to the Rainbow Tower and use the extra money to upgrade the room to ocean front. Other than that, no complaints. It's a nice resort and made a great trip. But not for those seeking luxury or modern styling.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My family, which included 6 adults and 2 children (10 and 4), stayed in 3 rooms (2 connecting) at the Hiltown Hawaiin Village for 5 nights. This was our first visit to Honolulu, and this resort worked out great because everything we needed (restaurants, stores, submarine attraction, etc.) was at the resort. We took the trolley to the other parts of Waikiki. Tours picked us up at the resort. We even rented a car at a nearby rental agency. It was all very convenient. We did visit other beachside resorts, and the beaches were small and crowded. The beach at this resort was nice and not at all crowded. Definitely a nice place for first-time visitors to Honolulu. My kids enjoyed viewing the various birds on site. Restaurants were expensive, but it seemed like all the restaurants in Honolulu were expensive, even IHOP and McDonalds.

Room Tip: We stayed at the 29th floor of the Tapa Tower. Not sure if it was worth paying extra for the partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed in a newly renovated room in the Rainbow tower. Excellent room with plenty space. Big place but easy to get around well laid out.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room. Rainbow tower is nearly finished and I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon and we were pleasantly surprised. We got upgraded to Ali tower which has a private rooftop pool, gym, and small spa. If we had to deal with the general population at the larger pools it would have came in as a disappointment. We really didn't eat much at the hotel, so I can't comment there. The tropic bar was good for a quick bite and pronto pickle was decent for a sandwich. Hotel and room in Ali tower were nice, my understanding is some of the other towers are older. Nice shops in the Hilton village to walk around in. Post office in the hotel was very convenient to ship gifts home. Only complaint was with the tours and activities people with Hilton, seemed like a scam just sub contracting the tours out. My credit card was charged 3x for the same one tour.. Still waiting for a refund. Def better value in the restaurants outside the Hilton in waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuzco
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

entirely.

They are just part of a mess.

This reminds me of the people who go to the PARIS in Las Vegas and say they have been to France.

Everything is a mirage.

Lousy food, union style service and worse.

An offer to tour the timeshare every few hours and everywhere.

Waikiki is as bad as it gets.

Room Tip: Choose a different part of Hawaii.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.