We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but loud!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$199 (USD)
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but loud!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This place is BIG. The atmosphere is somewhere between family-beach-fun and busy-airport-terminal, but there are some really nice parts to the hotel/resort. I liked the lagoon - lovely still water perfect for swimming, was generally a lot quieter than the beaches too! I was lucky to have an ocean-view room in the tapa tower on the 34th floor, for the same price a colleague was staying in a room overlooking the Tapa bar though, and the live music wafted right into their room every night. Ocean view is probably worth going for for a bit more peace. They have every shop you could want without having to leave the 'village', I think the restaurants were a bit too few though for this many guests, and were packed each night (some closed Sundays) with long waiting times. Room was large and comfortable, had a safe, a fridge, coffee maker, flatscreen tv, wired internet (for a cost) and some seats and a table on a small but pleasant balcony. Great resort hotel overall. Taxi rank by front desk also very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,153
    2,970
    1,401
    560
    339
See reviews for
3,076
2,716
222
872
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,087)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

It was a nice hotel but I was disppointed. Eventhough I had confirmed my reservation 3 times and spoke with a staff member at the hotel on my last confirmation, my room was not available when I arrived. I checked in at 1pm & was told there wasn't a room assigned to me eventhough I am a diamond hilton honors member. I checked back with them at 2pm, which is the regular check in time & still there was not a room available. After waiting in line form them to look for 45 minuttes, they came back & gave me a room in Tapa tower which I had originally requested NOT to have. They switched me to a room in the Diamond Head tower that was really small. This hotel is nice with its own village but everything was expensive and way too crowded. You feel like you are in a Chinatown in Japan. The pools are nice but again very crowded. The jacuzzi has 20 people in it when it was supposed to have only 9. I probaly will not stay here again. I stayed at the Outrigger Reef on the beach last time and eventhough the hotel is not as nice but the room was bigger and they were more organized and less crowded.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a really nice resort and we were upgraded to the Khalia Tower which handily has a Starbucks that opens at 05.30am, I say this because if you book excursions they leave between 05.40 and 06.00. The room had a small balcony and we could see the ocean. The room was clean and coffee making facilities were available as well as a small fridge, which came in very handy.

We ate in the Tropics bar which was reasonably priced and also sampled a few cocktails as well. There is usually live entertainment whic was great. There is also a free fireworks show on a Friday evening, well worth watching.

My only issue was with the concierge, he described himself as the only bald one on site so you wont miss him. We asked some directions and he then discovered that we had booked tickets for the Luao but had not paid for them yet, he said that we could get tickets for free if we went to a 40 minute presentation on their holiday club. Little did we realise that it was a one on one hard sell for timeshare, this was a hideous experience compounded by the fact that the Luao was on a rooftop not a beach area, that you are put at the back if you have a free ticket, do not get a Lei and get to eat last. The only saving grace was the fact that if I had paid $118 per ticket I would have demanded my money back as the food was the worst that i have ever been served.

I would recommend hiring a car, parking is available at the resort for a daily fee, get yourself out around the island it is stunning. I recommend the North Shore for great shrimp vans, the pineapple plantation and the opportunity to swim with Hawaiian Green Turtles who are just feeding by the shore. If organised tours are your thing try discover hawaii we used them for Pearl Harbour and swimming with dolphins both were excellent.

Eat off resort as it is cheaper there is plenty of variety, we also like the Ala Moana Centre as it had a brilliant Bubba Gumps and next to this the Mai Tai bar which was surprisingly cheap

I will definitely be coming back to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolomin, NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Was really looking forward to attending a Luau, was told this one was quite spectacular, the dancers were fantastic and lovely people however......We were rushed through the buffet and given no opportunity to go back, the drinks waiters were rude as rude and the cocktails were horrible. Our kids were not offered a drink at all, and the so called "priority seating" was a joke. We were rushed in and out in about 2 hours - not great value at $150 per head.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed for 8 nights in a one bedroom suite in the Diamond head tower on the 15th floor. While not up to "Four Season" standards it was comfortable, and set up well with a separate bedroom and a room without a pull out bed for our two boys. We had a very nice view of the ocean. The food was good but expensive on the hotel grounds. We liked the Bali restraunt the best. Best tip is go for breakfast right outside the village. There is a IHOP and the Wailauna coffee house that served mean pancakes and was a great deal. The water slides on the property were great for my 7 and 8 year old boys and we had a great time. Room service, and all the hotel staff were nice and efficient. The shaved ice was very good too.

Room Tip: Diamond head is the cheapest tower but our ocean view one bedroom on the 15th floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in an oceanfront room on a recently refurbished Rainbow Tower floor. The balcony was great to have morning coffee and listen to the luau on the convention center rooftop. Eat meals off site and EVERYTHING is pricey. Can you believe that there is a $10 "handling fee" to get a FedEx package from them (it was sent directly to them!)?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights at the end of July and can't see why there are loads of complaints. Yes, it was full and it was busy. We never saw any long lines for anything though and there always seemed to be seats by the pools when we walked past (although we never used them ourselves as we prefer the beach).

Yes the restaurants are expensive. No one is making you eat at them - there are loads within walking distance (although don't bother with the IHOP across the road; we went about 6 p.m one evening and waited 5 minutes to be seated in a restaurant with 3 occupied tables and 3 wait staff. After a further 5 minutes of being ignored we walked out.) Lapperts Ice Cream on the HHV site was great though.

Yes there were lots of cases in the lobby waiting to be taken up to rooms. Is there some reason you couldn't just carry your own? We had 3 cases and 4 pieces of hand luggage and we managed all by ourselves.

We thought the HHV was in a very good location - we walked 5 minutes away from it every day to use the beach in front of the military hotel next door. We could rent paddle boards and kayaks and one afternoon there were turtles there - not sure why one review says there aren't any round there, unless they meant in the Hilton lagoon? When we walked to Waikiki beach on our first day we were extremely grateful to be down our end of the beach - they were packed in like sardines there.

If you can, be there on a Friday night for the fireworks. We arrived about 45 minutes before they started and it was a fantastic way to start our stay.

Our only complaint the whole time was that from our room in the Diamond Head tower we could hear the music from the Tapa bar every night but we just put a blanket on the floor in front of the door and that took care of it. Obviously if you want a quiet hotel or one without loads of little kids then this isn't the one for you but we found it perfectly acceptable and would happily go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.