We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Happy German Graduate Student who stayed 6 months” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaiian King

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawaiian King
Save
You added Hawaiian King to your Saves list
417 Nohonani Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Langenfeld, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Happy German Graduate Student who stayed 6 months”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I arrived in January with another graduate student and stayed in Pat's "European Graduate Student Suite #206", We had read many positive reviews online and were aware of other student housing which was smaller in size, housed mostly undergraduates and the rates were high for what was being offered.
So, we ended up across the street from their main housing (Ohia) and had more privacy, two lanais, quiet pool and BBQ area along with a convenient laundry room where several machines are brand new. We were only 30 seconds from the bus line (2 buses to pick from) that took us directly to HPU and our classes. How convenient and only 20-25 minutes each way.
The condo was supplied with everything from linens,towels, to laundry soap and even spices and seasonings in the kitchen and etc/etc. It was ready to move into and be comfortable immediately which we were.
When we first arrived Pat took the two of us to Sam's (in Germany it is like Metro) where we stocked up on all sorts of reasonably priced foods since we had a full and complete kitchen and BBQ in the pool area.
We bought two surfboards and the surfing beach was only 5 minutes away. The lanais had room to store our boards (note: Regarding cleaning we had all of the supplies to keep the condo clean---this large one bedroom condo was a real find. All of our friends staying in other condos when visiting us said "This condo is the nicest of anyone we know here for school in Waikiki". We knew several who were paying much more so we felt lucky.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in Pat's unit 405 for the month of April 2013. Pat was very helpful when we were setting up our reservations, met us at our unit when we arrived and showed us where everything was. The unit itself was a delight (clean, updated and well supplied). We had a pretty view of the mountains and spent many a morning having breakfast on the lanai. The Hawaiian King is centrally located and within a couple blocks walk of the International Market Place and the beach. Pat was on call at any time if we needed his assistance. Check his website out at http://www.winstonswaikikicondos.com/ the photos of the rooms are spot-on and you will not be disappointed. I must also add that the Hawaiian King's pool area was another high point of our stay, surrounded by palms and plants, no traffic noise - you forgot you were in one of the busiest cities in the US. Judy and Ron

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had found the Pat Winston Condo site for the Hawaiian King online and liked what we saw. Once we arrived we were even more impressed, the pictures and descriptions were all spot on, it looked exactly like it did in the photos. The condo is large and roomy by Waikiki condo standards. It was very clean and well appointed. Cleaning supplies of every description were there for us to use, we had to buy nothing, even toilet paper and paper towels were supplied. The vaccum cleaner was brand new and made cleaning a quick and pleasant job, which is what you want while on vacation. He even supplied us with a rice cooker when we asked, all our needs were satisfied. If we had any questions or needed anything Pat was there to help, he is a very hands on manager of his condos. The location of the condo itself is wonderfully central, we could walk anywhere we wanted to go in Waikiki, we didn't even need a bus pass. Knowing how noisy Waikiki is we were pleasantly surprised how quiet it was within our unit and also in the courtyard area. The courtyard has a beautiful salt water pool, a BBQ for all to use, all you have to do is sign up and no extra charge, tropical plants and lounge chairs with or without umbrellas abound, so there truly is something for everyone here. We stayed for the entire month and are now booking our stay for a month for next year before we leave. Just wish we were able to stay longer, but we're hoping in another year or so we will be able to do that and Pat is eager to accomodate us for a longer term stay. As I say in my title, play it safe at the Hawaiian King and rent a Pat Winston Condo, we certainly will be doing that again and hopefully again and again. It would be nice if we could pull up the Pat Winston Condo reviews seperately from the Hawaiian Kings other reviews, I don't think you can at this time but it would be worth your time to read to find those particular reviews since most of them are excellent, it was how we decided to rent this particular condo from Pat and not another condo from someone else.

Room Tip: The fourth floor or above on the north side lets you look above the neighbouring building. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in Hawaiian King #308. This condo needs alot of work. Dirty and outdated. No cleaning supplies, not very well equipped. Vacuum cleaner that didnt work, no dish cloth and had to use face cloth. No cleaning supplies and we were there for 24 nights. The coffee maker did not work and you had to unplug it to turn it off. I dont think coffee makers cost that much money. We found this information about the coffee maker in the binder that was in the room. But on a brighter note the pool area and laundry room were very clean and inviting. Would not stay again unless it has had work done to it! High priced for what we got! We were not made clear of the picking up of the key for the condo...a lock box would probably work better! We paid for the first night and arrived at 10:30 at night and did not have a key or access to get it. We were lucky and had friends that we could stay at. When I spoke with the realtor, she said "there must have been some miscommunication" You think??? But on our last day I did ask to stay in the condo until our flight left that night at 11:30 pm in lieu of our first night and this was given to us. But we did pay for it in the end!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Pat Winston's units are clean, updated and overall wonderfully managed. As some others have said you have to contend with some noise from the streets, but that really is true for any place in a busy area like Waikiki. The pool was redone a few years ago and the entire pool area is awesome with a BBQ and wifi included in the room rate. On site laundry is another bonus, though it does cost a few quarters. A short walk through Dukes lane takes you to the main drag and the beach. The Hawaiian King can't be beat for the price!

Room Tip: Make sure you book your unit through Pat Winston as the units are individually owned and managed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My sister and I had booked two condos side by side for our families. When we arrived, we were told that one of the condos was not ready for occupancy. The person who met us tried to place us in two other condos on the same floor, but when he tried to enter one of them, he discovered it was occupied. Seemed strange to us that he did not know beforehand. We ended up in two condos on separate floors. Both had small, but reasonably well equipped kitchens. Ours had a new microwave and a rusty old toaster oven, but it worked. Our living room and bedroom were quite spacious and we had a very comfortable king-sized bed. Our adult son slept on the pull-out couch in the living room. The mattress was soft and very uncomfortable. One of the dining chairs was broken and we had to eat on uncomfortable stools. It appears that the new hardwood floors have been installed recently. However, the walls and doors were stained and had some paint peeling off. The sinks in the bathrooms in both condos did not have plugs. It was perhaps not surprising that my sister's sink got blocked. When my brother-in-law tried to unblock it unsuccessfully, he pulled up all kinds of junk, including a battery. Management did fix it. Wi-fi was available in their courtyard, which was a pleasant place to relax. Judging from other recent reviews, there are some good condos in this low-rise building. It is also in a convenient location downtown, though it is very noisy at night. The problem is that you cannot guarantee getting the place you booked. Booking a condo here is risky, but the price was low for Honolulu and the risk might be worth it if you are on a tight budget.

Room Tip: No parking is provided, as far as we know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed on my trip to australia. I was so tired when i arrived but well rested and fed when i left. this was just what i needed and the staff were so good. I hope to come back one day and stay a little longer

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawaiian King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian King

Address: 417 Nohonani Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hawaiian King Hotel Honolulu
Hawaiian King Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaiian King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.