We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Holidays in Pat Winston's condo # 403” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaiian King

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawaiian King
417 Nohonani Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Holidays in Pat Winston's condo # 403”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days in December and we had a great time. The condo is very clean, it is fully equipped with everything you need and Pat and his wife are absolutely nice people. The condo is in the heart of Waikiki, about 5 minutes walking distance to the beach. You can't get a better deal in Waikiki. We would love to come back!
Ludger and Carmen from Germany

Room Tip: Not all rooms in the Hawaiian King Building are managed by Pat Winston. You should book a room from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Location, quality of the condo, amenities - everything was great! It felt pretty much like home. I know many visitors who stayed in other units in Hawaiian King Condo complained about noises from the bar downstairs but in this unit, once we close the door we didn't even feel that we are in the heart of downtown Waikiki (well... except the humming of the air conditioner!!). David was very prompt in dealing with every aspect of our booking including in returning the security deposit and it was a wonderful experience working with him. Now we know where to stay in any future trip to Honolulu. It was also nice to meet Ms. Boots Vinson. David & Jennifer: Thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed in #403 for one week. We live in Hawaii on the Big Island and wanted to "play tourist" in Waikiki. The location of this condo was perfect. I love the fact that this condo had a washer and dryer. There is also a laundry area by the pool. There is a convenience store directly downstairs where we could buy the morning paper and snacks. There is a bar downstairs that can get a little noisy. We didn't have a car so we planned on walking and relying on our adult kids that live on Oahu for excursions. The condo was very clean and comfortable. The pool was a great place to lounge and take a swim. Pat Winston was very responsive to our needs and always there. I'm sure there are many condos that have some of the same amenities, but they may not be as convenient as this one, or would probably cost a lot more. This place is a good bargain!

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing the street are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

i came here with my sons to visit my daughter who lives in Hawaii. we stayed at the Hawaiian King Condo 504 fr about a month and a week . it had been the happiest experience fr us in a long time. the landlady, Inna, had been so very helpful and friendly.

Not knowing exactly what to expect in the condo, we had arranged fr our own utensils and appliances but lo !!! the condo had 4 burners, a micro wave, a big fridge, all kinds of pots and pans we could have wanted, lots of crockery and cutlery. and lots of place to store our goodies and clothes too ... most importantly for us, the place is so full of light at day time, so airy that it makes and keeps u happy just like that... every time i mopped the wooden floor , it would sparkle and every thing gave that homely feeling and excitement that a house maker, taking care of the house longs to have.

The view from the lanai, specially when it rains, is awesome. You can see the mountains from ur lanai.

the swimming pool too was good for my kids. The premises gave us the privacy we wanted.

only thing i missed was co operation from the front desk. Owners can not rush to solve problems of the tenants every day, it would have been much appreciated if the front desk would solve the trifle matters.

wat more, i am taking with me back to my country, Bangladesh, happy times and I am leaving for my daughter happy memories in this condo for the whole year.. how? yes !!! my daughter is moving in to condo 504 !!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

My wife and I have been wintering in Waikiki beach for 39 years. We have just spent wonderful 3 months in the "Honeymoon Suite#403" for our third year in a row. Pat and Mana Winston own and manage this condo , plus others in the Hawaiian King. By comparison to other condos we have stayed in throughout Waikiki over the years Condo #403 was the cleanest, best supplied with all of the necessities, close to the bus, plus a friendly environment with other guests returning year after year.
We were quite surprised to see the critical review dated Jan. 13th regarding the condo that we are so comfortable in and we think, is perfect. Our home away from home has expensive mirrored walls with Hawaiian Koa wood trim, plush and expensive carpet, a lanai with beautiful trees that give us privacy and let the breezes flow through the condo even though the A/C works wonders when used. This negative review states the unit is musty, but we have never experienced that ,but Hawaii is the tropics and has it,s rainy times and humidity can be high, but we handle that by air flow, which is great or using the A/C properly.
We have lived in our Residential Condominium for 20 years now, rules by Strata Association are meant to abide by. We are very glad that Pat has other rules to help guarantee the condition of the unit is good year after year for all of to us to enjoy. Extra charges that they mention, like$3 a day to use the A/C is simply false, unless totally abused by the guest. We have never heard of it being applied to any guests.
One example of how this condo is managed is that we asked for a special convection toaster /oven and HOORAY, Pat had the model we liked , so well for us two days later. Ask and you may be rewarded. We liked how well it worked that we later bought another one and brought it home.
We have always received 100% of our deposit back with no problems, which we understand covers several things such as breakage, damage, lost keys or fobs/etc. We feel we have a great condo, the price is right and the location couldn,t be better.
In our 39 years in numerous locations within an aging Waikiki we know what is available in the vacation rental market to make judgements based on our experiences and we have now found a condo that fills all of our needs. The single critic aside, come and enjoy yourselves.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Very Satisfied Snowbirds
Quebec, Canada
From our first contact with Mr. Patrick Winston we were treated in a professional and friendly manner, very courteously and very detailed written information supplied on the rental conditions and amenities. We chose to rent on the basis of positive reviews from homeaway and trip advisor. The reservation was concluded with no problem. No bad surprise at our arrival, exactly as seen on the internet and very clean. Mr. Winston personally met us at our arrival and showed us through the condo. We were very pleased to see that all the equipment mentioned was in fact present (full kitchen, toaster, microwave, large refrigerator with freezer compartment, dishes, wine glasses, all utensils, detergents, tissues, even chairs for the beach, etc…). A few basic and reasonable conditions were mentioned in order to keep the premises clean and bug free (like taking out the trash daily), to use the air conditioner respectfully when the windows and doors are closed and to turn it off when we are away for the day in order to keep energy cost reasonable and check-out time. We are presently enjoying our holidays at the Hawaiian King in a friendly environment. The facilities are situated in central Waikiki near all points of interest (beaches, shopping, tourist attractions, parks, restaurants, groceries, bus transportation to all points of interest on the island, etc…). I will definitively recommend Pat Winston’s condos at the Hawaiian King to my friends or to anyone seeking accommodation in Waikiki.
Considering the above mentioned we were very surprised to read on trip advisor the recent bad review “this is the worst place we stayed in” and we certainly do not agree with that review and find it unreasonable and not warranted considering our experience at this time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

The location is great .The people who stayed there were great. The room was okay but the balcony was full of junk, the room smelled all musty, there was so many rule. We purchased a condo with full kitchen and we ended up with a 2 burner stove and a small bake oven in the cuboard . If we used the small a/c pat was going to charge us an extra 3.00 per day. You couldn`t us the toaster and the microwave at the same time or it would blow a braker. We paid a cleaning fee and then was in formed that if it wasn`t completely clean when we were ready to leave he was going to keep our key deposit.We were there for 21 days. We would not recommend this apartment to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waikikicondoowner, I am the Owner/Manager of Hawaiian King #403 at Hawaiian King, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Last year we had over 120 Reservations/Guests with this couple as our only "Unhappy Guest" or less than 1% leaving 99% satisfied and happy. You cannot satify all the people all the time, but we try. Several comments just aren't correct, paint an incorrect picture of this condo and our business in general and I feel it important to address these statements.
1) If the location is great why do you give it only 3 of 5 stars which a somewhat average or below average rating. This was your highest rating.
2) Stating the "room" was okay and giving it 1 of 5 stars shows it wasn't that bad in their mind with an "okay", but they gave it a very negative mark. This is not a "Room", but a one bedroom condominium with 468 total interior square footage, 90 square feet on the lanai and for Waikiki is a good sized condo and not a " Room" which is a hotel term.
3) This condo does have a kitchen that is well equipped for most guests, but probably not as well as their home and it was told to your husband that it had other features, but had a 2 burner stainless steel cooktop in the counter whch I believe he didn't pass to his wife who signed this review. Most couples staying less than a month do light cooking and I talk to them regarding that cooking issue and can place them in a condo that has a stove/oven if they desire.
4) The small bake oven is a convection oven that will cook a 13 pound turkey, go to 450 degrees and we also have a BBQ at the pool area with an additional gas burner. Is what concerns me is this was all explained to the husband before he made the reservation and at check in and when they arrived at 11pm I could have moved this couple immediately before the bags were unpacked to another condo that was open with a full size stove and oven, but they said nothing-no complaints regarding these issues were ever made during their 21 day stay. When passing by on the street I asked how things were going and they said OK. By their review that wasn't the case.
5) The A/C is not small, implying it is inadequate.but is a 10,000 Btu newer unit that can handle 500-600 square feet (it is 2200 Btu larger than the neighboring condo). They were told that guests who ABUSE the A/C by using with doors and windows wide open, use when the unit is vacant or running 24 hours a day wheter they are in or out could result in a $3/day surcharge. Normal usage is expceted and to date this $3 surcharge never been charged to a guest. In Hawaii we burn oil to get electricity and we try to be "Green in our Energy Thinking" and at .25-.30 cents a KW (triple most oher cities in the mainland) We offer budget prices and need to keep on top of our expenses so we can kep our prices low. Wasteful use of energy is just unacceptable-normal usage is acceptable.
6) In most older buildings and Waikiki has more than it's share of older building's built before window air conditioners, microwaves and etc. it is prudent to watch how many items are plugged in and running at one time. This is explained to all guests and a reason we haven't had a problem for many years with a single tripped beaker.
6) A $75 condo cleaning fee helps to defer the expensive costs and time required to clean each condo at check out. In our personal business we take from 4-7 hours per unit. This is a very reasonable fee, but we expect our guests to respect the upgrades and leave a condo unit in good condition-This is a rule we are firm on and it helps keep the condo in good condition for the next renter. We very seldom do not return the refunadable deposit which is separate and it is called a Damage,Key, Security and Sand Deposit. To say that if the condo wasn't completely clean is just plain not true and a fabrication or their justification for this nasty and inaccurate review. Their 2 stars for cleanliness is not true and they did get 100% of their deposit returned even though they broke the metal shower door handle.
7) Their rate was a special rate well under the average Christmas/New Years Peak Season Rates and under $90/day, but they give it a low rating for value with one star.
If guests are unhappy or have special needs they need to convey that and if this wasn't done before or during their stay and their expectations weren't met. If they misunderstood the basic rules of any well run condo vacation rental what can you do? I suggest that this couple in the future have both parties involved in the reservation proccess as if just one person takes all the information, rules and etc. the other might end up uninformed and unhappy. Condominiums are much different than booking a hotel room and each has it's benifits and disadvantages which I feel wasn't understood in this booking by both parties. Any potential guest for any condo should read all reviews in making a decision,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawaiian King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian King

Address: 417 Nohonani Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hawaiian King Hotel Honolulu
Hawaiian King Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaiian King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hawaiian King to your Saves list