We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki to your Saves list
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book With Us and Save!
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Putten, Gelderland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It is a great hotel very nearby waikiki beach. The hotel has a small swimming pool with a little hot tub. There is also a small fitness centre. It also has a very expensive restaurant, but the good is great. I would not recommend it for small children, because there is almost zero entertainment. But if you want to sit back and relax, this is a perfect hotel. The roomservice is also very good.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view, have an AMAZING view with the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    466
    181
    42
    21
See reviews for
257
367
85
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is an old hotel that was probably 5 star when it was new. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The restaurant is expensive...average breakfast buffet $60 for two. They have a free shuttle to Waikiki beach and a couple shopping centers. The hotel overlooks the marina, not the beach. If you want a beachfront hotel you need to go further toward Waikiki. They charge $11.95 per day for internet/wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Always nice to stay at the Hawaii Prince, since we've been staying since they opened over 25 years ago. The bellmen still remember taking our kids up on their luggage carts, even though our "kids" are now taller than them now. The friendly greeting from the staff that has been around since the beginning give the Prince a home-like feeling to us.

Room Tip: The Prince Suite and Ala Moana Suite are great family rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here while attending a conference. We had a number of choices which including the Hilton Waikiki Beach Village and the Sheraton Beach, but based on Tripadvisor reviews, we chose the Prince and are very glad we did. It is much smaller and far less busy. The pool was never crowded and there were always chairs. When we walked by the Hilton we always saw crowded pools and lounges set up three and four deep. The staff were very friendly and the location was excellent. All of the rooms are ocean view which is a bonus and one doesn't have to worry what kind of view you will get. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: I wouldn't want the 5th floor as this is the pool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here during a conference with my spouse so got a decent price. The view is terrific as many note in their reviews -- sunrise and sunsets are gorgeous. Also, the bathroom is very spacious, clean, and well appointed --the make-up mirror is especially welcome. The room is average sized and the bedding is super comfy. There is a good sized mini fridge in the room. We liked being off the main drag and away from the crowds, but with easy access to other hotels and the beach. Also the Ala Mona Mall which has a ton of shops and restaurants. The hotel has a 'package' for parking and internet which is worth the cost if you have rented a car (which we did and were glad). The staff is very nice and accommodating. There is a pool on the 5th floor with a cafe. The elevators in our tower were slow and one was out for repair, though to their credit, the staff posted signs that we could use the service elevator which we did. We would have liked a full service cafe or coffee shop -- there is a coffee stand in the lobby that has a long line in the morning and a limited menu. The lobby bar is small but adequate with good staff and selection. There is a spa in the hotel but they seemed very busy and couldn't do a pedicure within a two day window. All in all, we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: all rooms face the water.. can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I always stay at the Hawaii Prince when I come to Honolulu. As usual, the room was excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. This is such a great place to stay. The marina view room gives a wonderful vista of the marina, the beaches, the ocean. An extra treat was being able to watch the fireworks at the Hilton Hawaiian Village from my room at Hawaii Prince. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Definitely get the marina view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My party of 3 stayed in a Prince Suite (23rd Floor) in the Ala Moana Tower. The suite was very spacious (2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) & had great views of the harbour & sunset. The windows opened to catch the breeze at night & the a/c worked very well during the day. The beds were extremely comfortable & it was nice to catch the views in the lounge room. A couple of items of furniture had seen better days but that is the only thing that was amiss. The staff at the hotel were lovely & helpful (thank you Jonathan!). Beautiful pool with a spa; wasn't busy when we were there. Handy shuttle bus to Waikiki during the day & evening. Ala Moana is just up the road. Also close to the lagoon. I would definitely stay at this hotel again; perfect location away from the hustle of Waikiki Beach.

Room Tip: Prince Suite has 2 bedrooms (1 king & 2 doubles), 2 bathrooms & a separate lounge/dining roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Address: 100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hawaii
Prince Hotel Honolulu
Hawaii Hotel Prince
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.