We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury hotel overlooking marina and harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki to your Saves list
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night FREE!
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vermont, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“luxury hotel overlooking marina and harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This high-rise hotel on the western edge of Waikiki, is a bit removed from the bustle of the beach, but very close to Ala Moana Park and Ala Moana Mall, which has extensive shops and dining options. Our room on the 29th floor had a spectacular view of the harbor and marina, was spacious, clean, and very comfortable, especially the king sized bed. The best feature was that the ocean view windows actually slide open, letting in real air and ocean breezes. The hotel caters nicely to Japanese visitors, with amenities and signage in Japanese and English. I don't understand why hotels like this continue to charge extra for internet - at a hefty $12/day per device. Unlike your typical mid-price hotel, there is no free breakfast either.

Room Tip: Stay above 20th floor for best views of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    506
    193
    43
    23
See reviews for
279
395
89
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We rented a car during our stay because we wanted to explore the island on our own. The hotel was maybe 20 minutes away from the airport. Very easy to find the hotel using the gps, just off the main road. The hotel charges around $20 per night for parking, which is decent comparing to the price at the waikiki beach area $30+ per night. The hotel itself looks a little old but our room was very clean and spacious. There's a in-room safe that we stored our laptop and small electronics when we went to do water sports. It looks like all rooms face the ocean, very nice view to wake up to every morning. We also really enjoyed the massage chair that they have in the room, especially after full day of activities. The hotel is just 10-15 minutes away from the popular waikiki area. The hotel offers free shuttles that took us to/from the waikiki area. The pool is a little small but we didn't spend too much time there so it's not really a problem for us. Also we saw a lot of Japanese tourists there.... not sure why. Overall, the location was great. Close to waikiki beach but cheaper / bigger hotel rooms with cheaper parking. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited in Hawaii between June 21 and June 28 (7 nights). We stayed in Hawaii Prince because some good reviews. First, the room (every room) view are good as per review but you need to stay up at least 20th floors and above.
Overall the room & the bathroom are clean. It's correct the room need a New Paint jobs.
If you need quiet, this is not the Hotel you want to stay. The Hotel are over 20 years old and you could hear the noise (water, shower..etc) between the room wall.
Pool >The pool need an upgrade. The pool water are cold but it's clean. There's no umbrella anywhere so you are on sun spot all the time. So there's not too many people in the area because you can't stay too long under the Hawaii sun. The pool chairs need a replacement. It's one of those old plastic long chair which was not very comfortable when you're sun tanning.
Restarant > We ate in the japanese restaurant for buffet on Saturday night. It's over $50 per person. It's good. You can have sushi, hot pot, crab leg..etc but not too much choices for a buffet.
Parking & Internet > It will cause you $19 +tax parking and $11.95+ tax Internet per night.
If you decided to use them, better off to take their package ($25+tax) with Parking, Imternet and 2 drinks (water, soft drink) daily.
Courtesy shuttle to Waikiki - It's good (every 30 mins) but only service from noon to 22:00. If you wanted to stay late for happy hours or shopping and you need a taxis back to the Hotel (Avage $13).
Transpotation - If you're not renting a car, it will cause you apx $35 to $45 from the Airport to Waikiki. (it also cause you $.60 per small luggage and it's up to the taxis driver to charge you or not).
Area > took apx 10 mins walk to Ala Moana shopping. Thers' Macdonalds & small ABC store across the stree. Red lobster & Outback (only night time) next to the Hotel.
I hope this review will help you for your planning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved staying at the Hawaii Prince. Hotel staff were very nice! Very accommodating! Overlooks the harbor where the beginning scenes of Gilligan's Island were filmed. Our first room we were given didn't have a great view (overlooked construction). We went back to the front desk and they gave us a different room - no problem! We were definitely a minority being American. Almost all the other travelers were from Japan. I asked one of our tour guides about it and he said that about 60% of the tourists in Honolulu are Japanese. They are very friendly people - frequently asking us to take their picture.
The hotel has a shuttle bus that will take you to Waikiki beach for free. OR...you could walk it - we did one evening and it took us about 20 minutes to get from the beach back to the hotel. About 5 minutes walking distance (just over the harbor bridge) is the largest shopping mall in Hawaii!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you ever step on Honolulu, don't hesitate and stay at the Prince Hotel. It will exceed your expectations. Everything was great, the location might be not so good, but they have shuttles to take you to the main attractions, downtown and to the beach. Definitely a must. Thanks!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked this as a Hotwire mystery hotel for a two night stopover on the way to NYC selecting it as a budget way to get a cracker of a view. We couldn't have been happier. Having stayed in Oahu twice before, and sampled many of its offerings, we were quite happy to be just out of Waikiki this time. We loved the comfy bed, large room and with the huge expanse of windows opening on to the marina we didn't notice the lack of a balcony at all. We only had a couple of exchanges with staff. One was when they allowed us an early checkin (of 2 hours) and another when they allowed us a late checkout (of 1 hour) so pretty happy with that service. The pool on the fifth floor (I think) takes in the view and there was rarely more than a handful of guests using it. The charthouse pub down the street made a very pleasant local. Stayed in Waikiki for the return stopover but would rather have been here. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while in Oahu for a few days. It has a beautiful lobby and an attached parking garage (not free). The hotel is on one end of Waikiki Beach, so if you're looking to be in the heart of the action there you will probably have to drive or take the hotel shuttle. But, the Ala Moana Mall, a beautiful mall with the most extensive food court I've ever seen and beautiful koi ponds throughout, is a very quick walk from the hotel. The rooms are pretty standard; we had two rooms facing the marina behind the hotel. Unfortunately, there are no balconies (probably the main reason I gave the hotel this rating instead of higher), but the windows are huge and open up in a unique way to give you the opportunity to really stick your head out. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was high end with enclosed commode room, stall shower and separate tub. Very spacious. In the lobby they have a counter restaurant at which you can get a quick breakfast if you're on the go, and it was surprisingly good and more reasonably priced than we'd expected. There's a pool on the 5th floor, along with a hot tub, and we were able to enjoy a lovely sunset from up there along with a great view of the fireworks from another hotel along Waikiki (possibly the Hilton?). Nice enough folks at the front desk, but there was at least one occasion when we needed to ask a quick question and someone was there doing some work at the computer and she didn't even acknowledge that I was waiting. I had to wait quite a while till someone else appeared from the room behind. It was disturbing - if only she had let me know she would be with me in a moment, I wouldn't have gotten annoyed. Overall, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Address: 100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hawaii
Prince Hotel Honolulu
Hawaii Hotel Prince
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.