We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free
Ranked #30 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while in Oahu for a few days. It has a beautiful lobby and an attached parking garage (not free). The hotel is on one end of Waikiki Beach, so if you're looking to be in the heart of the action there you will probably have to drive or take the hotel shuttle. But, the Ala Moana Mall, a beautiful mall with the most extensive food court I've ever seen and beautiful koi ponds throughout, is a very quick walk from the hotel. The rooms are pretty standard; we had two rooms facing the marina behind the hotel. Unfortunately, there are no balconies (probably the main reason I gave the hotel this rating instead of higher), but the windows are huge and open up in a unique way to give you the opportunity to really stick your head out. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was high end with enclosed commode room, stall shower and separate tub. Very spacious. In the lobby they have a counter restaurant at which you can get a quick breakfast if you're on the go, and it was surprisingly good and more reasonably priced than we'd expected. There's a pool on the 5th floor, along with a hot tub, and we were able to enjoy a lovely sunset from up there along with a great view of the fireworks from another hotel along Waikiki (possibly the Hilton?). Nice enough folks at the front desk, but there was at least one occasion when we needed to ask a quick question and someone was there doing some work at the computer and she didn't even acknowledge that I was waiting. I had to wait quite a while till someone else appeared from the room behind. It was disturbing - if only she had let me know she would be with me in a moment, I wouldn't have gotten annoyed. Overall, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    428
    161
    40
    20
See reviews for
233
340
76
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked this hotel through Expedia. I will never book with them again as they recommended this hotel. We arrived to a lovely lobby area however on entering the room we were met with a pungent mould smell. The place was out dated had some peeling wallpaper was dirty and worn and worst of all the net curtains and to some extent the normal curtains were covered in mould. We asked for a manager to come up to the room, he did and we were offered two other rooms one of which smelt exactly the same with mould and the other was a smoking room which stank of cigarettes. We declined both, we had a lengthy phone call with the Expedia call centre in India to change hotels.

We changed hotels. I have never said this about a hotel because I have never stayed in a really dirty run down musty hotel, but if my ratings or reviews over many years mean anything I would not stay here. I would even go so far to say this hotel may make you sick as the mold will not be good for your respiratory system.

In fairness the duty manager and all the staff were very helpful the manager even rang other hotels to check availability for us. However, he did say he did not have a problem with mold and perhaps we were a little sensitive. Both of these are not true I have photos of the mold and if you look at some of the other bad reviews on here they also mention it. The manager was adamant it was not mold he stated the hotel had been tested. Well, we are both professional people we are not stupid if it looks like mold, smells like mole then it is mole....!

We were promised a full refund which we are waiting for from Expedia. We also incurred a massive international phone bill ringing Expedia and sorting this out for over an hour mostly on hold. I have learnt never to deal with Expedia again and I would recommend not staying at this hotel until it is fully refurbished.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a treasure! This hotel is beautiful, has all amenities, and a free shuttle to take you to the beach. We stayed in a room overlooking the marina. It was beautifully decorated and had an incredible view of the marina, sunset, and two beaches. We rode the shuttle to duty free shop and Waikiki. Super convenient. I loved how the floor to ceiling windows actually opened to allow the fresh sea air into our room. If we ever come back to Hawaii, well stay here while in Honolulu. At check in, we were offered ice cold, scented cooling cloths. Thank you!!!!

Room Tip: Overlook the marina... You'll have a 180 degree view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place really ticks most boxes. The rooms are large, beds excellent and staff are really lovely. The free shuttle bus in and out of town is a bonus. You can even walk to Nordstrom rack from the hotel.

The pool is fine, small with shaded areas and quite a nice spa. If you fancy a swim in the sea, but dont like getting your feet cut up by the rocks at the beaches, swim in the lagoon area or buy a floaty from the abc shop and maybe wear dive shoes.

The only down sides are there is no free wi fi and and some building works next to the Hotel ,near the canal has begun. This means noise. I am unsure what the work is and how long it will be in progress for. Perhaps the hotel can answer those questions.

For free wi fi go to the mall, it available most places for free and outside apple everyone is doing it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite, facing the yacht harbor, ocean and sunset, as well as the Ala Moana Park. Everything in the suite was first class--even the cookies. Service was excellent from the maid service to the valet service. Very clean and great mattresses and pillows. Considering the location, it was very quiet at night. We walked to the Ala Moana Mall from the hotel and the King Kamehameha parade was right in front of the hotel. The air conditioning was excellent and quiet. Windows opened if desired.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the ocean and the sunset, for sure. We stayed on the 14th floor which was away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a very upscale hotel and is located right on Waikiki beach and next to the Ala Moana Park. The location is just 2 blocks from the Ala Moana shopping mall with multiple shops and dining of all kinds. The hotel is about 1.2 miles from the international market place.
The hotel itself has just about everything, but (like the rest of Hawaii) it is expensive. There are two high rise towers and I would suggest rooms on the marina side. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

Room Tip: If have a rental car get the self parking package. You can self park for $19.99 a day or have valet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our return visit was just a great as before. HSKP service was very good as well as Turndown service. New bath amenities were great. Room Service quality of food could be better. Food was cold and "very well toasted" hamburger buns.

We will be back . . .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Address: 100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hawaii
Prince Hotel Honolulu
Hawaii Hotel Prince
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.