We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki to your Saves list
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night FREE!
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel and staff. Hotel is located to all amenities. Large room and exceptionally clean. No negatives really not too fussed about breakfast but food is one of those things that either please or displease.

Room Tip: Ocean view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    539
    203
    43
    27
See reviews for
307
418
93
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've had the pleasure of coming to the Hawaii Prince Hotel since it was first built nearly two decades ago, and recently returned for a weekend stay. For the most part, the hotel has been kept in tip-top shape, especially its lobby, bar, and dining venues. Its location is ideal--you can walk everywhere--and the customer service was superb.

That said, I will admit I was disappointed with the pool. Granted, the hotel sits right in the middle of a city, and so the pool isn't on the beach--or the ground floor. It's located on the fifth, and while the views of the harbor are quite nice, the hotel ought to do something to enhance its aesthetics--plants, flowers, even updated lawn chairs. Also, the poolside bar and restaurant should have longer hours to accommodate early evening swimmers and revelers.

The furniture in our room was also a tad dismal--it appeared banged up, and the decor is in need of some revamping.

All that said, a strong hotel; definitely worth the loot.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront/marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I travelled with family (including 2 kids) and this hotel was a little over our budget but was definitely worth it. The location was convenient (near Ala Moana, close to beaches and Waikiki shopping area), the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the room and the view were amazing! Swimming pool was a bonus and had no problem with noise. Recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Honolulu :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pago Pgo
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found it to be just wonderful,with exquisite views from every room ( how could you miss in Waikiki?).

The room is very large , king size bed....an adequate mattress... enough for the room price . Room has an ironing board, and new iron as well. Air conditioning works great too! Should Also mention that they include those delightful 'waffle weave' robes which are always a plus.

Bathroom is equally large and bright with separate shower and tub with ample towels and very clean. The amenities include shampoo, etc. in generous amounts....oddly enough I found the faucets to be reverse wound, which makes for a confusing experience!

I didn't eat any meals in the hotel with so many other options nearby, but they had are fine bar, a coffee area, gift shop,and several decent formal restaurants to choose from had I wanted to. Lobby is spacious , well attended by staff. Check in was fast, courteous , and easy.

Would stay here again without hesitation .

Room Tip: If you are here on a Friday night, there is a free fireworks show over the bay. Get a low numbered r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our stay in this hotel concludes our research into how to stay in Waikiki. We come over from the island of Hawaii periodically for various reasons. Since we live fairly rural quiet lives it is a fun change to put ourselves in the heart of things.

Although the address of this hotel and name say Waikiki it is not exactly Waikiki, but about a mile from the heart of the action. The Hilton is on the border, and around the middle, the Royal Hawaiian. We ended up walking a lot more than we would have preferred. At one point we had walked about two miles already and needed to walk another mile and a half, so grabbed a taxi. that ride cost us $15. We ended up walking back. Taxis, parking, traffic, all unnecessary if you stay in the heart of Waikiki, as we will do the next time.

what was good: easy check in, nice room, pretty harbor view. no noise.
what could have been better: livelier atmosphere, something happening at night besides us, the drunk guy at the bar, and the bartender. This could be helped out with some atmosphere creation, music, that kind of thing.

Room Tip: All rooms have a Harbor view. As you go higher, the view expands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

everything was as promised and more. View is great, location is amazing, parking is easy and cheap, add-ons are not too expensive.
beach and the biggest shopping mall are at the same place. great ABC store behind the hotel.

Room Tip: try to get higher floor - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

WOW - Our first trip overseas and spent so much time researching accommodation @ Waikiki and it paid off !! This was the Best Hotel in the Best Location with the Best Service and Food. We stayed in the Prince Suite on the 11th Floor - PERFECT - no noise, beautiful view of harbour and ocean. The suite was amazing with really comfy beds and the bathroom was truly gorgeous.
Fireworks every Friday night were spectacular ! The room service was fantastic with the best food - we had to eat-in on two nights as too tired after big day tours .... yum yum yum ...and presented beautifully. It was our 37th Wedding Anniversary and we received a wonderful bottle of champagne on arrival. The service was second to none and the staff greet you every time they see you - something you wouldn't see here in Australia. Waikiki beach and shopping was a short complimentary shuttle trip from the Hotel. Ala Moana Shopping Centre was the best shopping and a short walk across the road. Too many things to list as positives for this place - you wont stay anywhere better !

Room Tip: The 11th Floor Ala Moana tower - pay the extra for a suite - it was wonderful ! If you are up too h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Ala Moana Hotel
Ala Moana Hotel
#61 of 82 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#20 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,431 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Shore Waikiki
Park Shore Waikiki
#14 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#12 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Address: 100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hawaii
Prince Hotel Honolulu
Hawaii Hotel Prince
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.