We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night FREE!
Ranked #29 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We visited this hotel in November and were pretty happy. We arrived at around noon and whilst our room was not ready , Joy at reception was very helpful and was able to locate us another room which enabled us to shower and change clothes and be on our way.The view was fantastic and opening the windows meant we did not have to always have the aircon on.The room was clean and the bathroom huge and we had plenty of room to store our bags.For us the only downside was the cost of the internet , whilst I knew it was not complimentary when I booked I only found out just before I went (from another review) that you had to pay per device not per room. Not great when the kids want to bring the ipads!Loved the short walk to the shops and restaurants.Everyone we came into contact with from the hotel from reception to carpark attendants and maid were all pleasant and professional.Maybe we were lucky however I did not hear any noises from other rooms and enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    433
    159
    39
    19
See reviews for
235
341
76
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
brigette1972
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

the greeting at the reception was okay and they gave my daughter a gift pack that was very much appreicated.
We were placed in a room that sounded like a run way as the lifts were positioned right outside our door. The property was rated 4 star which i will tell you it is def 3 star. the wall paper was fallin off the walls. But in all fairness the rooms wer very clean the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge. i dont think i would stay there again as i stayed at the hilton village for most of my holiday and i would totally recommend staying there but for the last two nights we neede to stay at another hotel and we brought this through a mystery. They offer a service to take to you waikiki every half hour which was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was in Oahu for the first time in late November. We booked HI Prince through AA vacations. What a wonderful experience. Beautiful views from room and main dining. Very quite atmosphere, even though so close to Waikiki beach. We walked to the beach everyday. The service was wonderful, and I'm always stickler for service. The hotel and room was very clean and everything worked beautifully. The hotel is a short walk to the main shopping and dining in Waikiki, so if you don't want to walk at all this might not be for you. The hotel shuttle service only had one stop on Waikiki blvd and it was at the other end. way too far to walk back. we took a $10 cab back.

Room Tip: they say all rooms are ocean view. we were on the 32 floor, and had a great view. might want to tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this property in July 2012, and thought it was an incredible value. We booked using travelocity, and the rate with a travelocity discount coupon was about $120 per night. Peak season in Waikiki with a gorgeous ocean/marina/sunset view for $120... How can you be unhappy? We traveled as a family of four (kids age 5 and 9), and the room with two beds worked perfectly for us. The rooms are large, all rooms have a great view (we did not pay extra to be on an upper level), and we loved how the windows open. The open part of the window is up reasonably high off the floor, so with a stern warning to my children not to climb on a chair and a decision to not leave them unsupervised, I did not worry and definitely appreciated the fresh air. Beds were comfortable; bathroom is also very generous in size. Bedding and room appointments were perfectly nice. There are a few elements that could use updating (like bath fixtures), but I think this is more than reflected in the reasonable price. Staff are very friendly, and the pool is also beautiful with a very nice view.

We really appreciated the proximity to Ala Moana Beach and Magic Isle (both GORGEOUS at sunset). And Ala Moana Mall is an incredible winner as well. So many restaurants to choose from. We LOVED the Japanese market, Shirokiya, in Ala Moana Mall. The food court upstairs in Shirokiya is incredible, as is the bakery on the bottom floor (the quiche was crazy good).

We also really enjoyed the Chart House restaurant next door. The happy hour deals in the bar area were great (I think my son had a kid's meal there for half the price of the kid's meal in the regular dining room portion of the restaurant). Beautiful sunset view and happy hour prices - score! We had dinner for 2 adults and two kids in the bar for $45 including tax and generous tip (no alcoholic drinks). For a nice-ish Waikiki restaurant, that's a winner!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights with an Internet special. I chose this hotel due to the proximity to the Ala Moana and it not being right in the heart of Waikiki, as well as the floor to ceiling window views.
The first night while sleeping someone else managed to open our door with their key, luckily we had the bolt on the inside and they couldn't get in. The next morning we were moved to another room and took every security precaution. We didn't realise we had been moved to a smoking floor and later that night as people were smoking in their rooms I could not breathe and had to be moved again, this time to the "non-smoking" tower. Staff were very helpful, however moving us to a smoking floor was definitely not ideal and I would have preferred going down a room grade than to having a smoking room.
Two moves in a day, we did leave a few items, but the ones we left in the fridge were never found. The ones in the bathroom returned by housekeeping at checkout.
The room we did end up in was quiet and comfortable. The king size bed was comfortable and loved being able to have the windows open. The bathroom was very clean. Be sure to check the bill carefully as when we were considering getting wifi we noticed we could pickup other rooms with a charge to room option. We didn't end up using it at 11.95 per device per day, we went to maccas across the street for free wifi.
The free shuttle to Waikiki was good, however filled up quickly. The first night we caught it we were told to wait in the lobby and an announcement would be made to board, however there was no announcement and we noticed other people getting on the bus. We went out and got the last two seats. On the way back one of the scheduled pickup points was full of trolleys and tour buses and it didn't stop. So we had to wait for the next one.
Once we were finally settled and secure we had a good stay. The pool was nice and staff friendly. The meals seemed expensive so we either caught the bus to Waikiki central, ate nearby or went to Ala Moana centre.
Cab rank at the hotel meant we didn't need to pre-book or share to get back to the airport to leave and was very quick and easy.
Would I stay again? Maybe. Was a good location for the shopping centre and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Got a good deal for the view/location combo of this hotel. The shuttle to waikiki is a good bonus. Very near Alamo car rental, another plus. The pool on the 5th floor has awesome view, and good to relax in. But could be heated during October and later months. Too cold!

Room Tip: Every room has marina view. If you can afford, take rooms above 20th floor as far left as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is like stuck in the 1970s, at least that's the last time it had any sort of an update/renovation.

It's a tired old run down hotel. Everything feels old and icky.

The staff are friendly, no problems there.

The rooms are tired and worn.
The whole hotel has a well worn out used feel to it - I guess you get what you pay for.

If u are looking for a bed for a night and cheap , it'd do, like just somewhere to stick the luggage while you are out surfing or shopping, but for a full holiday you'd have to be mad.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gesteuyala W, Manager at Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. The Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki was built and opened in 1990. Our recent renovation took place In 2011. We replaced guest room carpets, artwork, desk chairs, lounge chairs, flat screen televisions, desk and dressers and bed/bed package. New carpets were also installed at our Prince Court and Hakone restaurants. As part of our public area upgrade, we completed a redesign of our street front waterfall to an eco-friendly theme with a new tropical landscape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Address: 100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hawaii
Prince Hotel Honolulu
Hawaii Hotel Prince
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.