We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for first night after long flight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki to your Saves list
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night FREE!
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great for first night after long flight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Booked Hawaii Prince Hotel through Expedias secret Hotels so were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the facilities- our room on the 5th floor had a large balcony overlooking the pool and Marina. The bathroom was huge with a separate shower and toilet stall (with frosted glass divider) and impressed us with it's decor. The beds were confortable and room was dark. However, the best thing about this hotel was how quiet it was at night. After a long flight through the night from Australia to get an uninterrupted night's sleep was wonderful.
This hotel though does not offer the same level of customer service as the Embassy Suites (also reviewed). On arrival at 11.30am after a long flight we were told there was no possibility of an early check in (on transferring to Embassy the next day the front desk immediately rang through to housekeeping and requested our room be prepared as early as possible - and we ended up checking in three hours early). After wandering around Waikiki waiting for the time to pass until we checked in (a good 15-20 minutes walk from Hawaii Prince) we went to the pool deck and tried to get a drink. The bar staff advised she was on the phone to her Manager and would help us as soon as she could (surely a paying customer takes precedence!) - it was another 20 minutes before we were able to be served. The pool itself was very cold - though a dip in the spa made up for it.
I would definitely recommend it for a first night in if needing to recover from jetlag or if wanting to be away from the noise of Waikiki. Though compared to other hotels it lacked any warmth and customer service. I would rate it far more highly if there was more attention paid to the way guests were treated.

Room Tip: Balconies only appear to be on level 5. Though this level is right next to the pool we heard no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    475
    185
    42
    21
See reviews for
262
374
86
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The Waikiki Prince is a nice hotel and if it wasn't for the incident at checkout I would have given them a much higher rating based solely on the rooms. I didn't have my cell phone and needed to call a friend to meet up in Waikiki. I tried to call from the pay phones in the lobby but they ate up my quarters so fast I ended up having to call from the room. I tried to look up the rate and all I could find was that they charge $0.75 per minute for local calls so I assumed the rate for US domestic calls should be around the same. Boy was I wrong! They ended up charging me almost $40 bucks for about 5 minutes of phone call! What irks me more was the attitude of the staff at check out. When I demanded to know why the charges were so high, he was evasive and kept saying that it's the phone company that charges so much for the calls, not them. Look, I've stayed in many hotels and know that hotels will charge you what they can for phone calls, but even this was ridiculous! They know that you are in a hurry to check out and don't have the time to contest the charges, so we ended up having to pay. It definitely left a bad taste in my mouth dealing with such a dishonest business - 1) because the rate was not published anywhere in the info binder and 2) the attitude of the check out staff. If the hotel decides to charge for these calls, at least have the decency to admit it and don't try to push the blame to the telephone company and say you can't do anything about it.

This incident aside, this hotel is not in Waikiki proper - it's a 20 minute walk to the heart of where all the restaurants and shops are. For a similar quality hotel that's much more convenient, there's plenty of other choices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Pros:
Huge, clean (coffee maker aside) room and bathroom (tiny shower stall though)
Impressive lobby
Near Ala Monana Shopping centre and car hire is across the street
The shuttle is a five min ride to Waikiki and really good

Cons:
Only had coffee in the room and when i asked for tea and milk, was told that they didn't have any and that i should try the gift store! Also the coffee maker hadn't been cleaned out since the last guest and was a wee bit mouldy so had to clean it myself.
Not the most helpful staff in the world
Bit out of the Waikiki way and wouldn't pay full price for a stay here

Overall, it was a good enough base for a few days for someone not wanting to be in the heart of the action. Wouldn't say i was blown away at its 4 star rating and was disappointed from what 4 stars would normally mean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The prince is very nice, hotel is clean, the room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was really spacious, the largest bathroom I have ever stayed in and that is a lot of hotels we are talking about. All rooms face the waikiki harbor, which is very nice. the pool is nothing special, but they dont care if you take a pool towel to the beach, as long as you bring it back. the beach is a four minute walk from the hotel, which is great. this is a very quiet hotel, and i really enjoyed that. It primarily caters to the japanese tourist, which is fine by me. Housekeeping was like swiss timing, every day and they do a great job. They dont have balconies, but that is fine, as you can open the windows to let in the nice breezes. Overall a very nice stay. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Obviously the higher the floor the better the view. There are no bad views here as they all face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights starting on December 25th. I was very satisfied with the room. I did check out the restuarants and found them to be way over-priced. The pool and hottub was very nice.
Got a good deal on priceline for the room.
Not a bad hotel, but I will stay in central Waikiki on my next stay.
Hotel mainly caters to Japanese tourists.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

A little bit out from the Waikiki strip this lovely hotel was delightful to stay at.
The hotel was peaceful, clean, and the quality of the food on offer was great.

Room Tip: Harbour view room was great as the windows opened up so you could enjoy the sensational sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We arrived very late on Dec 25 and there's no more room for 2 beds so we had added a folded bed into our room. The first night we weren't sleep well as 3 of us had to squeeze into the King size bed. In the next morning, the receptionist called our room we had changed to 2 Queens and it was amazing since we got told it was fully booked when we arrived but they did their job. The hotel location is good, room has yacht club views and the staffs are friendly, we had valet parked our car and it's fast to get our car every day. Just the hotel is a bit old.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Address: 100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hawaii
Prince Hotel Honolulu
Hawaii Hotel Prince
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.