We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Equus Hotel to your Saves list
The Equus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at the Equus hotel after four days on the big island. Had we have come here first I would have rated this hotel higher. It just happened to follow a hotel that impressed us no end.

The Equus hotel is a good hotel. The location is just on the edge of town between Waikiki and Honolulu. It is within walking distance (5mins) to the Ala Moana shopping centre, and a 5 min bus ride to waikiki.

The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are on the smaller side, but are not cramped. There is a small fridge to keep drinks cold, and an ABC less than 100mts away to buy water, soda etc. The rooms were clean and the airconditioning worked well. The hotel is not sound proof, but it is not overly noisy at night to keep you from sleeping, just the occasional siren from emergency services passing.

We found we could access the pool in the building behind, that is a sister hotel. This pool is a lot warmer than the small one in the Equus, as it is in the sun all day, and has a hot tub attached too.

We found this hotel perfectly adequate to meet our needs. It was clean, had easy access to everything either by walking a short distance, or on the bus, and the staff were helpful. The only down fall to this hotel was the 20 stairs you had to climb to get to reception and the elevator to the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    289
    111
    49
    33
See reviews for
138
347
128
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Been a month since we came back from our trip and stayed at the Equus hotel for 7D6N. Had a pleasant stay, room was clean and had no problem connecting to the internet in the room. Paolo helped us with our requests most of the time. Had free breakfast which was okay to start off our morning. Requested for a late check out which was granted but the front desk on our last day did not even bother checking that we have requested for the late check out days before and she was rude and not helpful at all, eventually it was resolved. Would definitely come back,maybe minutes walk to waikiki beaches but there are buses along the route. Not the best spot for the pool

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010 via mobile

Clean and conviently located. Maid service not good. Good price for value received.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

If you're just looking for a place to sleep and shower, then this hotel is ok. If you're looking for a resort type place, such as the establishments on Waikiki Beach, then Equus is not for you. The marketing photos on the internet of this hotel are very deceiving. We were expecting a much more modern-looking set up. From appearances, the building has been touched up and cosmetically remodeled. But it honestly needs major renovation before I would consider returning. There were other things that detracted from Equus. First and foremost is the front-desk staff. There were 2 middle-age gentlemen who were not friendly at all. Whenever we approached either of them to ask a question, they wouldn't even take the time to look up from what they were doing, nor would they smile. Seemed to us, they had either been there way too long to care anymore, or just didn't enjoy dealing with guests. Second, after checking in and going up to our room, we discovered a urine-like smell in the bathroom. We thought it might be from the toilet, but that was clean, Then we checked the shower. Turned out the smell was from the shower curtain, which was clearly in need of a good laundering or even replacement. That smell intensified whenever we took a shower and the curtain got wet. Third, the free breakfast that is advertised is a joke-- just coffee, vats of juice, and really awful muffins. After the first day, we drove to the local Safeway to pick up our own breakfast provisions that lasted us during our stay. You can also go down to the ABC store just on the corner, but it's a lot more expensive than stocking up at Safeway or Walmart. There were other housekeeping issues that could be improved upon, such as using fitted sheets on the mattress, and installing more towel racks in the bathroom, and vacuuming the bathroom daily. But again, if these small things don't bother you, and you're looking for a cheap place to stay, then it's adequate. Also, ask for a room not overlooking the street. The room we were in was just above the street, so traffic noise was pretty bad. If you're going to walk to Waikiki, it will take you a good 20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it does have extremely comfortable beds, and they give you plenty of pillows. Unfortunately, this is negated by the noise level. Despite supposedly "soundproof" windows, you hear all the street noises - including the construction that starts at 6 AM - even on the top floors.

The location of this hotel is just ok. You are near Waikiki beach but outside the nice area where all the shops and restaurants are located. It is about 1.5 miles to walk to central Waikiki beach.

This hotel is also not for anyone who has trouble walking or with carrying your luggage. It is not wheelchair accessible. There is a flight of stairs to get in--no elevator (for the first flight). You have to carry your own luggage up the stairs--the hotel does not offer any assistance in this regard.

Overall, the service is lacking. The front desk rarely answers the phone, and the people at the front desk tend to be unfriendly and unhelpful (especially the night staff). There is only one elevator and it is slow so it can take a long time to get up and down if you are on a higher floor.

Perhaps the most disappointing thing about this hotel is the "continental breakfast." The "breakfast" consists only of regular coffee (no tea -- and incidentally there is no tea or regular coffee in the rooms either, just decaf coffee) that is so bad it is undrinkable, and rolls that are a cross between a potato roll and a hamburger bun filled with some sweet dough-like substance. If you get to breakfast in the first 15 minutes, you might be able to get a couple pieces of pineapple or watermelon--but this runs out by 7:45 and there is so little of it to begin with that you would be lucky to get any. There are no muffins, croissants, bananas, apples, or basically anything edible.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Pro:
Located nearby Ala Moana Center and beach.

Con:
- Small and dirty bathroom
- did not replace bathroom amenities and clean towels. I requested for the body wash and shower cap however "sorry, we just run out of stock"
- street view and noisy at night, slept with ear plugs

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This is the 2nd time that my family and I stayed at the Equus Hotel.
Is a very nice boutique hotel with horses as the main theme of the hotel.
Situated in a nice place next to the beach and shopping malls.
Equus hotel will continue to be my 1st choice in terms of location, service and pricing of the room rates for my next trip back to Hawaii

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikīkī’s “Upper West Side” where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world’s largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel’s equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Equus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.