We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yep, Clean & Comfortable, but some minuses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Equus Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Equus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Yep, Clean & Comfortable, but some minuses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

We stayed at this hotel both pre and post a cruise on the Pride of America.

Once advantage of its location is that the Equus was the first drop - off with the Airport bus (we used Roberts - $9 each person one way).

The Equus is decribed as a boutique. A flight of stairs up from street level. At the top of the stairs is a small lobby area with reception and a lounge area with one computer terminal plus some chairs and lounges. This is where they serve breakfast in the mornings. Yes, as reported here, there is only one elevator and it is a bit slow.

Our room was 902. Not much of a view. We don’t think any of the rooms would have much of a view.

BUT, the room was comfortable, huge comfy bed, large Philips flat screen TV which also had a computer attached to it with a full keyboard and wireless mouse. However, problems with Internet connection. Also, could not get a connection with our laptop. They were having problems with the system and to mangements credit, they arranged to have one of the rooms at their sister property next door opened up for Internet use.

There was a small balcony with a table and two chairs. Large sliding louvre shutters. Which was just as well because of the high rise just across the way!

Large bathroom, coffee making facilities, drip style with fresh coffee which we didn’t use.

One advantage for shoppers - it's just a short 10 minute walk to the All Moana shopping centre. However, the walk to Waikiki is something else! - at a leisurely stroll, about 1 hour.

The bed was as M sez - “fabulous”.

Big screen TV had 32 channels. But a lot of news type networks. All with USA news.

A lot of sirens during the night but too tried to worry about after flying in from Australia the previous day.

The breakie in the lobby was so-so. Breakie consists of two juices (orange but watery - didn’t try the other one). Coffee with whitener (doncha hate that!). Fruit, great bananas. Then some pastries like little croissants, Danish. Just so-so. Noticed some of the guests went down to Starbucks.

Summing up the location of The Equus: Fine for the Ala Moana but a little too far away for the Waikii Beach area. We thought about it, and did change the last two nights to another hotel when we returned 5 weeks later on our way back home.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Location and spartan breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    276
    104
    47
    31
See reviews for
130
321
120
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

I believe in getting what you pay for. This is a clean budget hotel. The hotel was clean, the rooms were clean and newly renovated. The rooms were cleaned daily and there was a fridge in the room as well as clean showers.

Surprisingly the hotel also had a mini pool but on the downside it closes at 7pm. Upon check in we got two free bottles of water which was a nice touch. This hotel is hard to find and it is far from the beach so you can't get to the beach by walking. I was tossing between staying at this hotel or a different AQUA property which seemed to be closer to the beach (few blocks away).

However, this hotel offers a free breakfast so the wife decided to stay here. It was the same price as the other AQUA property. So we decided to stay here but the breakfast was definitely not worth it. They just have a few danishes and muffins, some fruits and that's just about it. Oh yes, they also have some free juices. It also gets pretty crowded in the morning so there isn't much room to eat your very basic free breakfast and there are no tables to eat your breakfast on, just some chairs. If you're choosing to stay here for the free breakfast I think you will be dissapointed.

I regret choosing this Aqua property over the other one. Because we had no intention to go to Waikiki beach for a swim (we did that when we stayed at another property on another leg of the trip) but instead we planned to go to other parts of the island the location did not bother us too much. Finding the hotel is a challenge and parking the car can also be a challenge as there is very, and I mean very limited parking under the hotel. Instead, you need to park your car next door at Aqua Marine and then walk back to this hotel. The parking charge is $18 per day whether you park next door or in the hotel parking lot. We did try going to Waikiki at night to purchase something and there is nowhere to park for free even though we circled the entire Waikiki 3 or 4 times. Only place to park is at the end of Waikiki near the Zoo.

We had no issues at all staying at this hotel but because of its location I think next time we would go for another hotel closer to Waikiki but would definitely stay here if we had no choice as this was a very clean hotel.

  • Liked — The hotel was clean
  • Disliked — Having to park at the hotel next door and then having to walk back to the room.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

This is the second time my husband and I stay at the Equus.
The Equus is not only affordable but clean , cozy and close to all Bus routes. The staff was very friendly and informative. Loved being close to the Mall and beach. Look forward to visiting again My morning walks around Alai Wai were a great wake up.Mahalo to the Equus staff, look forward to seeing all of you again.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — not enough cable channels
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

The prices are decent if you're on a budget or don't plan on spending much time in the hotel. My one major compalint is the sound proofing. We were on the 4th floor and the outdoor noise seemed to be amplified in the room. Tons of loud motorcyles kept going by for hours making me constantly turn the t.v. volume up. We could hear everything the people staying in the room next door said no matter what time of day. So sound lack of sound proofing was an issue. Oh, and it would have been nice if they had a bath tub or at least a larger shower.Other than that, the decor was up to date, and their basic double bed room has a small fridge/freezer combo which came in handy. The free breakfast starts at 7:30am and is pretty picked over by 8am. It's basically fresh fruit, fruit salad, and assorted muffins and rolls. The staff is friendly, and the location is great if you want to go to the Ala Moana Mall or Hilton Hawaiian Village. It's also close to a McDonald, Subway, and plenty of other places to dine.

  • Liked — free internet and breakfast
  • Disliked — sound proofing was awful.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

Had limited parking and charged $18.00 a day. Stayed 30 days on buisness with no breaks. No elevator to first floor. Have to carry luggage up two flights of stairs. Was charged $200.00 non refundable for smoking in room. Never smoked in room. Had to get new key for room about every third day. Friendly staff.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Parking and no elevator to first floor
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Small hotel near the Ala Moana marina and shopping centre. The inside of the hotel has been recently renovated and is very tasteful. The beds are very comfortable and have more pillows than even I can use! Previous comments have been made about the road noise, which is noticeable, but I'm not sure what else to expect on a busy road in a major city. There are 2 beaches nearby (10-15min walk), Dukes opposite the Hilton and the lovely Ala Moana beach park on the other side of the Marina. All the staff were very friendly, especially Rene, and if you're there on a Tuesday there's a nice touch of a drinks reception where management and guests mingle. Mike, the manager really does seem to be looking for honest opinions and comments for his hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

I was returning from a 6-month Navy deployment, and my Wife and I wanted some alone time together away from the kids for a few days. We got it!
We researched the Equus online and liked what we had seen, initially. After easily booking the hotel thru the Aqua Resorts website, we did more online research. The comments we found were NOT very good. Alot of highly negative comments. Alot of complaining about the location. Alot of dissatisfaction with the the facilities. Alot of whining about parking. Alot of moaning and groaning about no food in the area. We almost cancelled the entire reservation due to all of these negative reviews. However, once we got there we found the complaints were 100% wrong. This hotel is great! We had room 1008, a Polo Executive Suite and it was exactly like the website picture depicted. The room was on the 10th floor, at the end of the hall, completely away from the street. Little to no street noise was heard. It didn't have a balcony, but we didn't need one. The view was great, the King bed was comfortable, and the internet was fast. No wireless, but Paulo at the desk lent me a cable to direct connect it to my laptop. The shower is a 1-person one, but that's all we needed. Our only 2 issues with the entire stay was that the deadbolt on our door jammed, but was promptly fixed. And the right railing on the stairs leading to the lobby was loose. Otherwise this hotel was more than great. I guess alot of other reviews were prior to and during the remodeling, but our stay was nothing like those. There's an Outback steakhouse, Red Lobster, McDonalds, Starbucks, a British pub, and an ABS Convenience store within a block. This place is well worth the money. The staff were PLEASANT and HELPFUL! ;) IF you are planning on a 'visit', the front desk staff is wonderful! Renee, Paulo and Puka were friendly and accommodating! We would DEFINITELY stay again!

  • Liked — Small in stature but large in friendliness.
  • Disliked — Not alot of parking, but what there is was very convenient.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikīkī’s “Upper West Side” where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world’s largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel’s equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Equus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.