We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream boutique in waikiki.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Equus Hotel to your Saves list
The Equus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dream boutique in waikiki.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had stayed with this boutique hotel for three nights, the guest services agents were on top with my requests and had made sure it was delievered to my room without an waiting period. My housekeeper which I believe is Romero,(handsome young man) he had done an amazing job servicing my room starting from my bed to the restroom. Where he had organized the amenties, towels and the whole room as if it was my first night at the Equus. They made me feel if I was at home at an higher standard. Would definitely recomend this hotel. Just one problem, the street noise but overall my stay was spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    289
    111
    48
    33
See reviews for
138
346
128
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

After reading the reviews, we chose The Equus Hotel for our month-long stay in Oahu. We're glad we did! Guest Services host Puka has been very accommodating to our party of three, which includes a disabled person. He ensures that all our needs are met, with the assistance of his gracious staff. Our room is comfortable, clean and cozy and we are not disturbed by ongoing traffic.
The location is excellent, close to Ala Moana Beach Park and the shopping center, as well as downtown Honolulu. We are still here, and look forward to having a most pleasurable stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night and were booked for 7. Really welcoming staff and bed super comfortable. Newly furnished room too and very clean. Problem was the 6 Lane traffic on the street below was constant! No sound proofing and sleep was difficult even with ear plugs! Staff were very gracious about us checking out. So if you need relative quiet don't stay here. We were moved to floor 9 and still couldn't stand the traffic din.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel! We are locals and it's nice to stay downtown in a place that does not have a lot of tourists. They paid so much attention to detail in the way they furnished the rooms, including towels folded into birds and swans awaiting our arrival. Definitely recommend this hotel to both tourist and local people!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

OMG what a place to stay! Had such a ball here as the staff were amazing and hours of conversations with them. Rooms were modern and always kept clean by the cleaner. It is really close to the shopping mall and to the main square. Very family orientated but also good for business with some spectacular views. If you here for a long time or just a stop inn - stay here!!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Nice, clean and comfortable hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful. Bed is comfortable, showers are great and the air works wonderfully. Only reason not a 5 is the street noise. We did okay with it but light sleepers might not

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston, ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Select you goal good for seeing the island, close to cruise ship terminal, Ala Mona plaza where there is The Bus terminal, close to Waikiki beach and Ala Mona Beach which is better and centrally located
Staff make this small and cozy hotel
note good for bleachers or families who have young children as it is a drag to deal with the traffic on Ala Mona Blvd Plus no food
great coffee in the room with milk sugar and cookies
There is a frig so you can go to ABC store one block on the levy of entrance to get everyone which includes breakfast lunch and light supper. Cheap wine and expensive beer is available
avoid second floor. Convent but very noisy. Cannot open window due to street noise. we arrived late for 4 days before we bordered a world cruise with Crystal. Although we asked for a quiet room at the back not so lucky as they were full and we were last ones in. Room 208. Was large but needs some colour, over looked parking lot and Ala Mona Blvd. real disappointment but after 18 hrs flying from Kingston we just wanted to sleep in their very comfy bed

Room Tip: Ask for Keo who snuck extra yummy cookie
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikīkī’s “Upper West Side” where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world’s largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel’s equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Equus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.