We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They redeemed themselves” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Equus Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Equus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waikoloa, Hawaii, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They redeemed themselves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After we had a not-so-pleasant experience here last year, we were given a two night stay by Rene, the Guest Service Manager at the Equus. This time, we had a lovely room, very clean and comfortable accommodations. The staff on both visits treated us with a ton of aloha, were very helpful and kind. Our room (1004) was nicely decorated and the bed is super comfortable. We were very happy with our stay there this time and would definitely return on our next trip to Oahu. The hotel is located within easy walking distance to great restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Sharon T,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay with us, and giving us the opportunity of hosting you again this year. We appreciate the effort you took to visit us again, and allow us to show you our Aloha.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our guest rooms, and were welcomed by our Ohana. We hope that you are able to return and visit us again on your next trip to Oahu. Big Mahalo from our team, and welcome to our Equus Ohana!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    270
    104
    46
    31
See reviews for
131
324
121
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Our room was cute, small and simple. The staff was always helpful with there aloha spirit. After having an exciting yet very tiresome day of site seeing to shopping, coming back to our room my Husband and I cant help but enjoy the comfortable bed. Our room attendant Lorie did an awesome job with the up keeping of our room or should I say mess! To rate it overall, our stay was beautiful as the scenery in Hawaii and filled with so much Aloha! Our room service was never a disappointment! Thanks to the staff for showing the Aloha spirit to us and A BIG thank you to our room attendant Lorie for making our room clean and as comfortable as if we were in our own room at home!!!! We will surely be returning to Hawaii in the near future and will be booking our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
SoccerMom4u,

Many Mahalos for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at The Equus Hotel, and thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is a pleasure to serve you, and hear the details of your visit. We will be sure to pass along your thanks to Lorie Ann, she will be happy to hear from you. We welcome you into our Ohana, and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wonderful customer service from our arrival to check out! The service is great and the accommodations are perfect! The rooms (we had a 1 bdrm suite, king bed room, and the bamboo room) had little touches that just made the experience even more special. We were there with family, including three small boys, and the hotel is perfect for keeping them busy and entertained. We felt like family right from the beginning. All the employees seemed to really love their jobs and that says a lot for how the property is run. Justin was our go-to guy for everything from parking, to bags, to helping us figure out the air conditioner. Miss Rene was at the front desk and you immediately feel like you are part of the family. If you like polo, horses, you will love it too. The eco-friendly nature of the hotel makes you want to conserve and it isn't hard at all. Spend time walking thru the halls and look at all the old pictures. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The suites are PERFECT if you have family. Lots of space and a totally separate bedroom and almost...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is the most eco-friendly hotel I've ever stayed at. There is a special card you put into a slot in your room to help conserve energy when you are away. Felt comfortable leaving our recyclables out on the counter for the staff to take out.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Anxterrachick,

It is such a pleasure to serve you, and welcome you and your family into our Equus Ohana. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay a relaxing escape. Our team is happy to provide all the services and recommendations that you might need at any hour. We are happy you took advantage of our friendly service, and we were able to get to know you better. It is our goal to provide great service while making it a unique experience for each of our guests. Our goals for green energy are completely optional, and we are pleased that you took advantage of this by participating, and helping keep Hawai'i beautiful! We are awaiting your return!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

A cute simple small hotel with such a great staff who makes you feel comfortable and feel like your home . Our room attendant lorie was great she always asked if we needed anything and always
kept our room spick and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
702ladiejade,

Big Mahalos for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Equus Hotel, and were able to get to know our team better. We will be sure to pass along your thanks to Lorie Ann, she will be happy to have helped make your stay such a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and my mother stayed at the marina towers and we loved it so much from the time we arrived at the hotel till the day we left . The staff was so helpfull and nice . We needed some help with our coffe marker and the housekeeper lorie who helped us was such a awesome person LOVED her accent ! The staff and front desk made us feel like family like we were back at home making us just not want to leave ;) we will be back .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Tralianxx,

Mahalo for your kind comments. We are pleased to have been able to make your visit a memorable one, and we hope that you will join us again when you come back to the islands. We hope that it is soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a standard room with two double beds room side was adequate .
We arrived very early in the morning, the staff were kind enough to look after our luggage while we we exploring , We found the room clean,close to the trolley stop, close to bus stop ,close to the shopping centre , 10 minutes from the beach / lagoon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Rod237,

Big Mahalos for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and were able to make the most of our location. If there is anything we can do to improve upon your experience during your next visit, please contact me directly. We look forward to your return!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Before flying back home my fiance and I stayed at The Equus for a quick overnight stay after two weeks traveling between the other islands. Let me begin with the pros because I like to start with good news - great rate, friendly staff, clean room, some version of a balcony.

Now for the much longer list of "Cons" - No elevator or ramp up at ground level, you have to walk up about 15-20 stairs from the street sidewalk and then you're in the lobby, this is definitely very inconvenient. This also means that either you have to carry your luggage up, or if you're lucky an employee will assist (which means you have to throw money for tip, even if you were planning on taking care of your luggage yourself). Now upon checking in, if your room is not ready they will store your luggage for you - and when your room is ready they will offer to bring it up to your room. The con in this is the comments that might be made when it is dropped off at your room - (after 2 weeks of traveling, including a wedding, we had quite a bit of luggage) - so when the comment is made by, a woman I'm assuming is some sort of manager, "Moving in?" it doesn't go over very well. And luggage assistance on the way out? Thats a joke - especially when you are in a hurry to catch your ride to the airport. The elevator takes 5-8 minutes to get to your floor and then you get down to the lobby level, but wait, you need to drag your luggage down 15-20 stairs to the street level. Of course, there is luggage assistance, but it took them 3-5 mins to get outside when if there was a ramp down the street level you would already be down and not having to give a tip.

Once in the room - further cons include - VERY small shower space (stand-up only) - woman forget trying to shave your legs in the shower; A/C is operated by a key system - HINT: Get an extra key and leave it in the key system in the room, otherwise you WILL return to a hot and humid room (even if they say that it doesn't turn all the way off, it's closer to off than on); the lanai is not welcoming or even the least bit appetizing to sit out on, and to open the sliding door to it is a chore in itself - bottom line, don't bother.

Now, the location is a challenge in itself - it is a taxi ride to Kalakua and Lewers Street area and Waikiki Beach, walking distance to the mall, and walk right out onto the street and you'll be in the homeless territory of the city. I really like how they classify themselves on the "Upper West Side" as if you'll be staying in the best part of town - you definitely are not.

Overall - I'm glad we only stayed for 1 night - if we were booked for more, I would have moved locations. Pay a few dollars more per night and stay at a nicer place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Ashley J J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your evening at The Equus Hotel. We appreciate that you were able to provide us with a list of items to improve upon, as we take our guests feedback very seriously.

To address a few of your concerns, we are a small boutique hotel, and apologize if this is not what you were expecting. We strive to exceed expectations, and focus on making the details outstanding. We are apologetic that your experience upon entering the property was so negative. However, our team is here to assist, and certainly does not require tipping. Tipping is completely at our guests discretion, and is not required or alluded to in any way.

Regardless of any comments made, our team was simply trying to make your experience a memorable one by getting to know you. If you misinterpreted the conversation, and were somehow offended in the process, we are mistaken, and we offer our sincere apologies.

We are a small 10 story boutique with one elevator to service these floors. I apologize that the wait inconvenienced you. Our team is always ready and willing to assist, especially in the case that you have a number of items that might be difficult to carry alone. We are happy to hold and carry all items, and provide this service free of charge, as we are aware of the inconvenience our staircase poses, and do not expect our guests to simply go it alone. We are here to provide superior service, and make each guests stay unique. It may not be something you expect at a small hotel, but please allow us to assist with any of your needs, on or off property, as we are your hosts when you are in Hawaii.

It is a shame that you were unable to enjoy our unique area of the "upper west side" of Waikiki. There are many interesting places to shop and eat that are off the beaten path, and our team can offer you suggestions for local things to do in the area. We are only a block from Ala Moana Shopping Center, and 5 minutes from either Waikiki beach or Ala Moana Beach Park (our local preference). Waikiki is a quick 5 min drive away, otherwise you can walk to the center of Waikiki in under 15 min on the beach or by road.

Again, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share some of the pro's and con's of your visit, and appreciate the opportunity to address them. We would love to have you back for a visit on your return to Waikiki. It would be our pleasure to show you our Equus Hospitality and welcome you back as Ohana.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikīkī’s “Upper West Side” where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world’s largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel’s equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Equus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;