We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Equus Hotel to your Saves list
The Equus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Koloa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I were on Oahu for one day, visiting from neighboring Kauai. We weren't there for the beaches, so I can't even attest to the location of the hotel to Waikiki beach. It didn't seem far though- but was definitely not right NEXT to the water. We could walk to some good restaurants and to the Ala Moana Mall. We really liked the room. The bed was a little on the soft side, but very comfortable. The bathrooms were definitely renovated not too long ago and were very nice.
I was concerned about the street noise upon check in, but I didn't even hear it once it was time to sleep. Best night sleep in a long time! My only qualm was that we reserved a "Standard King" room but only had a Queen bed in our room. It didn't bother us too much, though.

Room Tip: I would try for a higher up room to be further from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
SuperDrDavey,

Mahalo for your review. We appreciate you selecting The Equus Hotel for your visit to Oahu. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and were able to relax and recharge before heading back home. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit. Please let us know when you return, and we can give you some great information about our location, and the fun things to do on the upper west side of Waikiki.

With Aloha,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    290
    111
    49
    33
See reviews for
140
347
128
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't be deceived by the enthusiastic welcome by Puka at Reception. My requested booking for a harbour view in Moana Tower ( had paid additional for this to occur) was disputed by Puka who was too lazy to refer back to confirmation sent to me by Clifton which was documented on computer so was allocated Room# 607 with a view into another adjoining building!!Whats more Puka was loose with the truth, as according to Clinton, Puka stated that I was happy in #607 which was far from the truth!! Following much discord with other Reception staff, when finally Clinton came on duty for late shift, he in fact confirmed that there had been a room reserved for me in the Tower but at such a late hour declined as too much of an effort to move as it was only an overnight stay BUT it left a bad taste!!! Room # 607 was a refurbished older style motel type off a covered walkway along the internal side of the building, which had been updated. The room was spacious, with American style colonial décor- pleasant décor, furnishing. Had a balcony with a side view of Alamoana Blvd which had constant traffic noise. On arrival shower recess floor was covered in a "white substance' ?? cleaning agent! where was the quality control?? When I eventually found the maid it was rectified quickly. That aside it was a pleasant ( don't know about being ';boutique")place to stay in close proximity to shopping mall, short distance to beach and other attractions. Poor WIFI reception. It is a pity that on this occasion the likes of Puka marred the overall experience. Clinton was so efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Christine K,

Thank you for your review, and taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate every opportunity to improve our services, and will look into each complaint and address them with sincerity.

We would first like to apologize that you had such a misunderstanding with Puka, as he is regularly one of our star employees, and is often a favorite among our guests. It is unfortunate that this had to upset your experience, which I assure you is not a regular occurrence. As you were checking in to the Marina Tower Waikiki, which is a separate Hotel from the Equus, although they share a guest service desk for checkin.

The Marina Tower Waikiki is an extended stay property with kitchenettes and is geared more toward longer term guests- which prefer the privacy of the four rooms per floor, and the guest service desk in an adjacent building. We apologize that your reservation was unclear, and we should have done better to correct this misunderstanding.

Puka believed he was assisting in the best way possible, as often many guests prefer the Equus guest rooms, as they are newly renovated. If he could not get you into the Marina Tower Waikiki, naturally he tried to do his best to find you a suitable alternative. We apologize that it was not to your liking, and would love to offer you another visit, so that we might correct any false impressions from your first visit. Please contact me directly with any further comments or concerns.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

me and my wife stayed on the 6 floor and we wanted to give a big thanks to Linelle who serviced our room through out out stay. she went above and beyond and most of all out of her way to fulfill our request even though we were checking out that very same day. Also Thank you Linelle for leaving special notes saying have a great day. We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
happypeple,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you, and Linelle is happy to have made such an impact on your visit. She speaks of you both with fond memories, and thanks you for your efforts to share your experience. We hope to have you visit us soon, so that we might enjoy the pleasure of your company again.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our first trip to hawaii stayed at The Equus Hotel. Awesome location its next to the mall, also by ala moana park. would stay there again when we go back no doubt..Great staff especially Linelle thank you for your generosity and hospitality..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
FrizzyT,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and our location was convenient for you. We will be sure to thank Linelle on your behalf. We hope that you will allow us to host you on your next visit, and welcome you into our Equus Ohana.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Quaint hotel with wonderful, friendly, accommodating staff. It started with Keo, who was the Bellman who after performing his duties gave us recommendations for dinner & things to see within walking distance in the area. He was so kind. The next morning when we stepped off the elevator we were greeted with the most welcoming "aloha" with a beautiful smile from Robin at the front desk. When we called the front desk, you could still hear her smile in her greeting. Upon checkout, Robin was very accommodating to hold our luggage after checkout, while we grabbed a quick breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated with the wood from the island and the chairs are a bit taller in height for those who dislike sitting in low sitting chairs. The table is also in island wood. Very quaint boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
MizDag,

Big Mahalos for your kind review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were able to accommodate your needs. We will pass along your kind remarks to our team, especially Ms. Rene and Keo, they will be thrilled to hear from you! We hope to have you back soon, and welcome you into our Equus Ohana!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britishcolumbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very friendly staff. Friendly atmosphere, close to shopping, and a short walk to the beaches. Staff was very knowledgeable about the area, and advised us on places of interest to check out. I would visit this place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Toagira,

Mahalo for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Hawai'i and that we could assist you in making the most of your trip. We hope it was a memorable one, and that you will allow us to host you again upon your return. Big Mahalos from the Equus Ohana!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the first hotel I stayed at with EXCELLENT customer service. I would like to thank Linelle for her time and patience for helping with direction's and helping me with other question's I had. She was more helpful then the front desk clerks. Them alway's being busy answering there phone. What I didn't understand was there was three worker's at the front desk and was wondering why either the two ladie's in the back never helped assist me. I shall return in the near future due to Linelle's GREAT customer service. Thank You Linelle!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Linda l,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, and will utilize your comments to improve our services. We will certainly pass on your kind regards to Linelle and ensure she is rewarded for such excellent service. Mahalo from our family at The Equus Hotel, and will look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mahalo,
Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#46 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikīkī’s “Upper West Side” where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world’s largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel’s equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Equus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.