We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Equus Hotel to your Saves list
The Equus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Lorenzo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed here and wanted to share our positive experience. The hotel has a great location and have friendly, helpful and customer service oriented staff. Mahalo to Rene and Puka! They really made sure we had a nice stay. Overall, good value for your money. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Honolulu!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    290
    111
    49
    33
See reviews for
140
347
128
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel during the pro bowl week. We flew in from the mainland and arrived at the hotel friday evening. We were surprised upon checking in to be greeted by their concierge Linelle. She invited us to their cocktail hour while we waited to register. We just wanted to say thank you Linelle for the warm welcome and for making us feel at home. We will be returning in the near future. Aloha.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

BEST FEATURE: LOCATION! On a last-minute visit, we didn't want to inconvenience family so we decided to find a budget hotel conveniently located in town. Equus Hotel was a great find! We used a car for most of our stay (and had no problem getting a parking space in the small lot every night), but we did some walking, too. The hotel is on the edge of Waikiki (not centrally located), but it isn't a bad walk to other Waikiki hotels or the beach. It was actually pretty nice to stroll through the nearby Hilton Hawaiian Village grounds (beautiful hotel, fancy shopping area, penguins!) and Fort DeRussy (also beautiful to walk through; excellent running paths). If you head in the other direction, over the bridge by the harbor, it's an easy walk to Magic Island (beach/park) or Ala Moana Shopping Center, a local favorite for good food and shopping. There are nice restaurants and bars, but Makai Market is my personal favorite! It's not a standard mall food court-- I could eat there every day and find something different and delicious. Check it out- it has 4 stars on Yelp!

SURROUNDINGS: Like most of Waikiki, this neighborhood is part tourist area and part low-rent apartments, so there are homeless or practically-homeless and random people hanging around. I would advise visitors to be street-smart like in any tourist area, but I definitely wouldn't say this area is at all dangerous or uncomfortable. In fact, Kalakaua Ave feels much nicer than some parts of Kuhio Ave that actually has prostitutes and shady characters on the street. In general, don't worry-- Hawaii people are pretty friendly and easy-going so it's unlikely you'll run into any unsavory situations.

LOBBY: Non-existent. It's super small, typical of boutique hotels, but don't judge this hotel solely by the lobby. The staff is awesomely friendly and helpful, and the rooms are comfortable. If you are staying in the lobby building, there is just one, very slow elevator. We opted for the stairs that led to the garage because it was close to the car and good exercise. On our last day, they stored our bags for free, and I found out that they sometimes hold bags for a couple weeks for international visitors who use it as a home base while taking other trips across the Pacific or to the outer islands!

ROOM: Stayed in the main building (not the Marina Tower). King bed, very comfortable. Really liked the bar area with mini-fridge and wide counter space. No bugs at all, like I've read in reviews of the Marina Tower. Horse-themed photographs and decorations were quirky but not too ridiculous. No sound problems with neighbors or cars. Private balcony with table and chairs- we used it to dry our swimsuits. It was nice to get fresh air in the room, but don't get excited for the view. From the 6th floor, we could see a bit of ocean, but mostly just the apartment building next door. Not pretty, not tourist-y, just regular and urban.

BATHROOM: Limited privacy. If you will be sharing this room, note that the bathroom door is a sliding wooden door that may not close completely. Also, the bathroom is crazy small, with an unusually-configured toilet/shower area-- feeks like a locker room. Two people really can't be in this space at the same time. For example, brushing your teeth next to each other in front of the short sink/counter is awkward, and with the closet right behind you, there's no room for anyone to get past you while you're standing at the sink. Personally, I felt that the small, weird bathroom was fine because it was clean and I enjoyed the room overall at the price we paid.

POOL: Give up- it's tiny, pathetic, and in a weird, unexpectedly windy, and cramped location. But who wants a pool in Hawaii? Go to the gorgeous beach across the street!!!

BREAKFAST: The hotel gives you a paper voucher for a free hot breakfast (eggs, meat, hashbrowns, toast and juice) or $3 credit towards anything on the menu at a sports bar down the block. We sat outside on the lanai and enjoyed the sun. Right near the loud street, but we still liked it. As long as you keep your expectations reasonable, this is a free, satisfying meal, which I'd prefer over the McDonald's that was across the street.

OVERALL: Would definitely stay here again because we had a good experience with the staff, love the location, and this no-frills hotel met our basic needs for a good price (booked through Orbitz w/a discount code).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice big bed, no bed bugs.
The room is not clean at all, they just make the bed and change the toweles thats it! The carpet is so dirty that I used shoes!
10 min to the beach.
I will not stay here next time to dirty for me!

Except from that the hotel is good.

I even said to them that my room was dirty,they said that they will fix it but they dident

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hotel is centrally located near Waikiki and Ala Moana Mall. It is on the Red line for the tourist bus. There are many eating options close to the hotel. We asked for a "water view" room, and got one, a tiny view of the water between high rise buildings. The staff were helpful. The room was quite spacious and represented good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Equus for two nights prior to leaving Hawaii. We found the staff couldn't do enough for us, the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room was clean. If you like shopping Ala Moana shopping centre is huge and walking distance from the hotel. There is car parking at the hotel but not enough spaces for every guest. We were lucky enough to get a park for the time we stayed. Hotel is basic but certainly served our purposes for our stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a busy street so we had a room at the back of the hotel therefore traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

i stayed at the Equus during my stay in Hawaii. There has been times where i wouldve been at home. But when i got to the Equus it made me feel like i already was. There was this one employee that made this trip one to remember. I would like to thank Lenelle for this because she helped me when i needed help with directions around the island n places to eat. I will be coming back in the future. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
kwiff00,

Many mahalos for your kind review of our property and services. Our team at Equus Hotel appreciates your feedback, and we certainly enjoy having you as part of our ohana. We will see that Linelle receives praise for her hard work, that comes so naturally. We look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikīkī’s “Upper West Side” where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world’s largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel’s equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Equus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.