We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely refurbished inside, great rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Equus Hotel to your Saves list
The Equus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nicely refurbished inside, great rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

While the outside looks a bit dull, the rooms have recently been refurbished, and the result is great. Super quiet aircon, and the king beds are Amazing! My experience with staff was mixed, but overall quite positive. Use of the gym costs $10 per day, but the in room Wifi is free. Good location for shopping (close to ala moana shopping mall).

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiipolohawaii, Susan Weander, Director of Sales and Revenue Management at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2008
Appreciate your comments regarding our renovation, decor and quiet air conditoners. Although you only stayed with us a short time we are happy that you found our hotel unique and comfortable. We hope that you are able to stay with us again very soon. Our Warmest Aloha, Susan Weander, Director of Sales and Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    289
    111
    49
    33
See reviews for
138
347
128
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

Held my luggage both before the cruise departure and after. We stayed a day before the Pride of America (NCL) cruise and the saturday night afterwards and were very pleased with the service and the room.

Tech geeks will love the interactive TV with access to a computer for iPod, divx and .mp3 play.

Can't beat the price and it's just a 5 min public transit ($2 per person) to the market and waikiki beach. i know it sounds like a lot compared to the hotels on the beach, but $94 + $2pp and a 5 min bus is well worth it instead of paying more for an outdated room.

There is an ABC store right outside, which is always convenient ($3 24oz beer cans??? I couldn't believe it).

Stayed Dec 14th and 23rd 2007.

  • Liked — High Tech TV, amazing shower
  • Disliked — bad elevator, no stairs to elevator (have to carry luggage up stairs to lobby).
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiipolohawaii, Sales and Marketing at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2008
Thank you for your review. As you discovered, the location of The Equus is at the entrance to Waikiki and less than 10 minutes to the cruise ship terminal at the Aloha Tower. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Equus. Please feel free to contact me at susan.weander@hawaiipolo.com if I can be of assistance. Warmest Aloha, Susan Weander, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

The room was nice, We didn't even notice the construction. I have no complaints with the hotel itself. I had many complaints with finding the parking garage, which is actually in another hotel. The hotel is on a one-way street, which is very very busy, and I held my breath every time we slowed down to turn into the driveway, because I was sure someone was going to run over us. The entrance is nowhere near the driveway or garage, and you have to carry your luggage a loooong way. I will not be staying here again.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — hard to locate front entrance, and parking garage
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiipolohawaii, Sales and Marketing at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2008
Thank you for your review. Our $3.5 Million Renovation is complete. The parking lot for The Equus, which is on the ground level of the hotel adjacent to the entrance is now open and available for parking. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and hope you will consider staying with us again. I would be happy to assist you personally and can be contacted at susan.weander@hawaiipolo.com

Warmest Aloha
Susan Weander, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH FLORIDA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

My stay at the Equus was phenominal. From the beginning as we were greeted with personalized service everyone was very accommodating and the resort itself was soooooooooo relaxing. Mahalo Puka & Renee!

  • Liked — Newly renovated, breakfast, internet access, location to wakiki beach
  • Disliked — My stay wasn't longer......LOL
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiipolohawaii, Sales and Marketing at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2008
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Equus. Be sure to join us next time at the Manager's Cocktail Party on Tuesday evening. Warmest Aloha, Susan Weander, Puka and Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

This is a small property in the Aqua chain that is currently being renovated. However, the only inconvenience caused by the construction was confined to the elevator. The elevator is very old and extremely slow and this was compounded with the use by construction personnel who were working on the top floor (the 10th). Our room was on the 8th floor and I found the stairs to be much faster than using the elevator. At 65 years of age, however, the trip up was only three times and down maybe a dozen times.
Our room was very nice and comfortable. The wide-screen television (although it only had analog stations available) was very nice. We didn't watch much television, of course, but it did give us free access to the Internet -- a nice perk, indeed.
In addition to the elevator, there are three other negatives that need mention. The elevator does not go to the ground floor so luggage has to be lugged up the stairs to the 2nd floor desk at check-in and back down when you leave. (It is also very confusing as to where to park during the check-in period but eventually one figures it out -- perhaps after several trips around the ten block circle.) Secondly, if you have a car, count on paying $18 a day for garage space. The alternative is to find a parking place on the street. Yeah, right. Lastly, is the noise. This property is on one of the busiest streets in Honolulu and the traffic noise is quite loud and doesn't really diminish in the wee hours. I wear 33db ear plugs at night which blocks out (I thought) all sound. Nevertheless, the sound, for example, of those rental motorcycles, particularly between 2 and 4 a.m., was as if they were in the room with me -- remember, I was on the 8th floor.
In any event, we were completely satisfied with our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone willing to accept the above (very minor, actually) negatives. This hotel is very close to a wide variety (in price and type) of restaurants and is within walking distance of the ocean and Waikiki... or by bus.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaiipolohawaii, Sales and Marketing at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2008
Thank you for your review. Our $3.5 Million guest room renovation is complete including our executive suites with extra soundproof windows. Our elevator renovation will be complete by end of January. Our staff is ready and happy to assist with luggage. Mahalo for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance at susan.weander@hawaiipolo.com
Warmest Aloha, Susan Weander, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua hi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

we were so happy to find the nice, friendly staff with the true aloha spirit. this boutique hotel has a personable feel where the "old Hawaii meet new" decor. just 1 block from ala moana- perfect location!! thanks for a fun and special get away.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

After comparing various Aqua properties, we chose to stay at the Equus based on the pictures on the website. We booked our room and sent a confirmation e-mail to request a remodeled room and were assured all rooms were remodeled. We were hugely disappointed when we arrived and our room looked nothing like what is pictured. The bedding was dated and tired with a Hawaiian palm theme. The armoire, end table and nightstand had multiple chips out of the wood, gouges and scratches. Had our children been toddlers, we could not have stayed in the room due to the risk of splinters. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable but we were disappointed overall with the condition of the room. Given our numerous pieces of luggage and (by check in time) sleeping kids, we did not opt to change rooms.

Also, one morning around 8am we requested four beach towels. After checking multiple locations, the front desk told us they only had three clean towels. I wondered how soon it would be before other guests could get even one clean beach towel.

I believe I had appropriate expectations of a budget "boutique" hotel and assumed the website accurately depicted what we should expect. It was disappointing to come that far and feel like your expectations were not met.

The staff members were very polite to us and the breakfast suited our needs just fine. The street noise was noticeable but did not bother us. We saw other guests staying there, but we never once heard anyone which was nice.

Based on our experience, I would not recommend the Equus, although I might possibly consider other Aqua properties.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Furniture in disrepair and nothing like website pictures. Felt like bait and switch!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikīkī’s “Upper West Side” where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world’s largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel’s equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Equus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.