We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Big Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Surf
Save
You added Big Surf to your Saves list
1690 Ala Moana, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

These condos are individually owned and rented out. Overall the building is very poorly maintained. Our unit, 1105, was just OK. On the positive side, there were plenty of towels....er, that's about it! The unit was not clean, the kitchen was lacking in resources, eg only two glasses, the shower is awful (despite being recently renovated) and the whole place is in desperate need of being painted. Sadly I cannot recommend this unit.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    3
    22
See reviews for
11
3
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lake tahoe ,california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at the Big Surf Hotel ,its a nice clean hotel ,quiet and has really nice guests ,it is a affordable hotel in a HIGH END neighborhood with no homeless t speak of in the area like near the expensive hotels.I felt safe walking around at night
It has many nice restaurants in the area and you can walk to Wal Mart ,the Ala Moana Center,and into Waikiki in minutes
The rates are very reasonable and it is not a cookie cutter hotel ,the i bedroom suites for 2k a month is the best price in town for snowbirds and the weekly and daily rate are the best.
We go out early and come home late .
It nice stay their if your looking for the best deal in a safe environment in Waikiki

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

i stayed there for about a year and it was bad experience.
the stuff is almost never in the office to answer complains and the charge an arm and a leg for cheap motel.
plus when i was moving out they didn't refund me full deposit and made an excuse that i painted the wall. the wall had a big hole before i even moved in and the dust in ventilation system looked horrible like nobody ever cleaned it. so i don't recomend this place

Room Tip: none actually i don't recommend to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked to stay in apartment #1401 in Oct 2012. From the moment we walked into the apartment we had problems.
> No hot water
>No kettle to BOIL hot water for the dishes
>Leaking toilet in bathroom
>Only a few light globes in the apartment that worked
>Ants in the bedroom and bathroom
>only two cereal bowls for 5 people and the rest of the crockery was old ,cracked and chipped
>disgusting tea towels supplied that had to be pried open
>exposed wires hanging out of skirting in main bedroom
>dirty furniture
>outdoor furniture too dirty to even sit on
>tired ,thin towels
>mattresses in the bedroom disgusting

We contacted the owner almost straight away. She said she would send out the caretaker. He didn't even bother to come over but when she rang us back she said that he had sorted everything out...obviously not the case!! We told her this but she did not offer to sort anything out. 2 members of our party moved out as the thought of spending even one night there was unbearable . The 3 of us that were left stayed thinking that maybe the owner would come over the next day with clean tea towels, some spare bowls , apologetic and offering to fix the hot water system. NOT THE CASE. The next day the 3rd person moved out. My husband and I followed as by the 3rd day, still with no hot water we were desperate. We informed her that we were moving and that we would like a refund. She said she would only do this if she could rebook the room which was highly unlikely that this would happen at such short notice. So hence we all moved out to the hotel next door at greater expense to ourselves.
This was in Oct 2012, it it now Jan 2013 and we have only been forwarded a portion of our bond.
This woman is incouragable. She very rarely replies to my emails and when she does she blames us for using all the Hot Water and for leaving food on the benches. Which is ridiculous seeing as the ants were there on our arrival and there was never any hot water to start with.
I hope that anyone out there thinking of booking this apartment reads this review first and saves themselves the holiday dramas that we had to go thru

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We used this 1BR/1BA condo as our base camp for 7 days while we stayed in Oahu. We knew this wouldnt be one of those luxurious places so dont expect that when you stay here. We had activities planned throughout the week and we just needed a place to rest our heads at night and shower. The condo had a roomy living room with a full kitchen. It had a range, a full size fridge and plenty of silverware and pots and pans if you wanna cook. We ate out most of the time. The bedroom and living room both had air-con. The bedroom a full size bed and plenty of closet space. The lliving room had a full size sofa. We needed another bed so we asked the manager, Maxine and she provided a twin roll away bed at no extra charge. The kitchen has no dining table but it has a breakfast bar. There is a tv and its in the living room. There is an exterior door in the bedroom that leads to the balcony. There is a full bathroom. Its kinda cramp for my husbands taste by it has a shower, a toilet, and a sink. What else would you need? Theres another balcony in the living room which was facing Ala Moana Blvd and marina. Literallhy 20 steps to ABC Store and McDonalds. Plus everything like restaurants, plazas, beaches is close by within 10 mins. The Ala Moana shopping center and Magic Island is also walking distance from Big Surf. There is also one parking space for each tenant for only $5 day. You can rent it per day or per week, or when days when you only have a (rental) car. They also have a laundry room located downstairs in the parking garage. Overall we had satisfactory and comfortable stay. I would recommend this to anyone whos not looking for a 5 star accomodation but is looking for a budget friendly unit.
We were going to rent a hotel 2 doors down for 200 dollars more with no kitchen, no bedroom, 2 full beds and only a microwave. I thought the Big Surf was a steal!
PS We stayed at Unit 301. The garbage trucks will wake you up early in the morning. We either used it as an alarm clock or just put on our Ipods if we wanted to sleep in. Another plus is Maxine, the manager. Very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Unfortunately this hotel is in a bad state of disrepair. Our room did not have air conditioning..so it got really stuffy and uncomfortable. The bedding was terrible with stains and holes in the sheets. It was obvious our room had not been cleaned in a long time. Our shower was dirty enough that we had to wear our sandals to take a shower. The location was good and the staff was fine to us. Unfortunately, the complete lack of cleanliness made us leave early.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

for us , we called owner this is a common complain breaker just needed to be flipped to restart heater.always a pain .We arrived feb 3rd afternoon ,when we we got to our 14 floor room we a little surprised by that fact it was a bit smaller than we invisioned, no big deal. All bedrooms very old with hard mattresses no real blankets ,no real curtains in second bedroom had to pin airplane blankets to block out light when we arrived nothig was clean ,it had just been wiped down , toothpaste dried on in bathroom , mould in the coffee pot ,they had not removed previous grounds that took a half hour to scrub and boil clean, not something I should have to do on holiday and paying 250 cleaning fee .Yes the dust bunnies mention in previous reveiw still their behind sofa in livingroom.Hot dust bunnies mention in previous reveiw still their behind sofa in livingroom.Hot water was an issue Dishes and cookware all need to be replaced , they are tired , chipped, and missing pieces they need to be retired to camp cookouts.The veiw from the front laina is beautiful but don't look down your on a bus route it is very noisiey all the time not peaceful at all. if you went to the back lanai at certain times a day you might get 10 minutes of wi fi not all the time but sometimes. the front bedroom had a door that led into the hallway locked that door quickly and slept with one eye open.we paid lots of money for not a lot of quality or quantity of towels , blankets,and kitchen wares.
We also had to email and ask for our deposit back after 3 weeks and it was definately cleaner when we left then when we arrived.It was then refunded .
In closing you can do much better than the big surf, not a great family area or condowater was an issue Dishes and cookware all need to be replaced , they are tired , chipped, and missing pieces they need to be retired to camp cookouts.The veiw from the front laina is beautiful but don't look down your on a bus route it is very noisiey all the time not peaceful at all. if you went to the back lanai at certain times a day you might get 10 minutes of wi fi not all the time but sometimes. the front bedroom had a door that led into the hallway locked that door quickly and slept with one eye open.we paid lots of money for not a lot of quality or quantity of towels , blankets,and kitchen wares.
We also had to email and ask for our deposit back after 3 weeks and it was definately cleaner when we left then when we arrived.It was then refunded .
In closing you can do much better than the big surf, not a great family area or condo

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Surf

Address: 1690 Ala Moana, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Big Surf Hotel Honolulu
Big Surf Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.