We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Big Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Surf
Save Saved
You added Big Surf to your Saves list
1690 Ala Moana, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

for us , we called owner this is a common complain breaker just needed to be flipped to restart heater.always a pain .We arrived feb 3rd afternoon ,when we we got to our 14 floor room we a little surprised by that fact it was a bit smaller than we invisioned, no big deal. All bedrooms very old with hard mattresses no real blankets ,no real curtains in second bedroom had to pin airplane blankets to block out light when we arrived nothig was clean ,it had just been wiped down , toothpaste dried on in bathroom , mould in the coffee pot ,they had not removed previous grounds that took a half hour to scrub and boil clean, not something I should have to do on holiday and paying 250 cleaning fee .Yes the dust bunnies mention in previous reveiw still their behind sofa in livingroom.Hot dust bunnies mention in previous reveiw still their behind sofa in livingroom.Hot water was an issue Dishes and cookware all need to be replaced , they are tired , chipped, and missing pieces they need to be retired to camp cookouts.The veiw from the front laina is beautiful but don't look down your on a bus route it is very noisiey all the time not peaceful at all. if you went to the back lanai at certain times a day you might get 10 minutes of wi fi not all the time but sometimes. the front bedroom had a door that led into the hallway locked that door quickly and slept with one eye open.we paid lots of money for not a lot of quality or quantity of towels , blankets,and kitchen wares.
We also had to email and ask for our deposit back after 3 weeks and it was definately cleaner when we left then when we arrived.It was then refunded .
In closing you can do much better than the big surf, not a great family area or condowater was an issue Dishes and cookware all need to be replaced , they are tired , chipped, and missing pieces they need to be retired to camp cookouts.The veiw from the front laina is beautiful but don't look down your on a bus route it is very noisiey all the time not peaceful at all. if you went to the back lanai at certain times a day you might get 10 minutes of wi fi not all the time but sometimes. the front bedroom had a door that led into the hallway locked that door quickly and slept with one eye open.we paid lots of money for not a lot of quality or quantity of towels , blankets,and kitchen wares.
We also had to email and ask for our deposit back after 3 weeks and it was definately cleaner when we left then when we arrived.It was then refunded .
In closing you can do much better than the big surf, not a great family area or condo

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    3
    21
See reviews for
7
3
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We recently stayed in Apt 1401 at a cost of US$365 per night, for 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms this sounds reasonable. Well its not! There was very little hot water only for about 2 minutes if you were lucky. We had no blankets and had to buy some, left receipts to be reimbursed, but no luck with that. The hall light would not turn off so stayed on all day/night. It was not clean, when lounge was moved fluff and dirt behind it. Not enough pots/pans/cooking utensils to make a decent meal. Took owner/manager 4 weeks to refund bond, after apartment was left spotless. Also dodgy part of town, pimps and pros all around the area including in the building.There is NO internet..dont get sucked into this place....Beware!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

First off this is not a 5 diamond hotel. What it is is a great deal especially if you're on a budget. Huge rooms w/ 2 queens beds, a sleeper/sofa and 2 cots. I stayed several times with friends and we used it as it was supposed to be - a spacious crash pad. Walking distance to the strip and beaches. FULL kitchen so don't expect room service. Balconies overlooking both the harbor on one side and the mountains on the other. Right across the street from Ala Moana Park. It is outdated yes and limited amenities. But it was only $50 a night. You can't beat the price especially if you have a group. So if you're looking for all the bells and whistles, the Hilton is just around the corner. If you're wanting a crash pad and to actually go out and see the sights, then this is a perfect one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Only good thing was the location.The unit was dirty and very run down.We were there for 2 weeks and no cleaning was done,no extra linens provided.We had to go to laundermat and pay to have the linens cleaned,this was pricey.I dont know who is in charge of this place but they are obviously not very interested in keeping clients.We had to pay a cleanong fee when we left and I wonder what they do with that money as we had to clean the place as best we could when we arrived.Everything was filthy!!!We had 2 babies with us and for sure we could not let them crawl on floors.
Will never prepay total cost again and never stay at Big Surf but will definitelt return to Hawaii

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

I stayed here with friends who were visiting Hawaii and were traveling on a budget. My friends chose the hotel because of the price and access to surf spots and I have to say it definitely delivered. It didn't have the amenities of a bigger hotel but then again it didn't have the same price tag either. We also saved money by shopping at a grocery store nearby and cooking in the kitchen in our room.
The lady at the front desk was very helpful and gave us a newly remodeled room which was nice because for the price we weren't expecting anything fancy. If you're looking to save money on a room so you have more to spend in Hawaii or just want a place with a great location to keep your stuff while you're shopping or at the beach all day then I would recommend the Big Surf for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed there one month with my wife. I have to say the price was pretty good for Waikiki, but please, go somewhere else, here is why :

location is good, thats it !
the rooms are terrible, feels like you ve just time travelled to 1955, it smells bad, stains everywhere. in a month, our room was "cleaned" three times !!!!!! they even charged us $70 cleaning deposit when we left.

the management doesnt exist. Seriously this place is awful, totally ghetto, DO NOT GO THERE

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

i do hate saying this, because i know it is not all the long & helpful of a review, but, let me get right to the point. Dump. Cheap, sure, so if you only care bout one thing (and if you do, your criteria are off) and that only one thing is money, ok, go here. if not, keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Surf

Address: 1690 Ala Moana, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Big Surf Hotel Honolulu
Big Surf Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.