We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Sunset to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Sunset
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in the hotel on the 28th floor. Beautiful view of Diamond Head. Spacious 2 bedroom with full kitchen. Clean and functional. Hallways a bit dingy, but otherwise fine. No elevator problems as in other reviews. Good location, easy walk to beach. Very friendly staff with easy check in and out. Amenities fee well publicized in advance so it was no surprise. Helpful concierge on site to arrange tours. Rented beach chairs from the hotel convenience store and carried them to the beach, saving significant $. I'm sure you can find much more luxurious accommodation nearby, but if you are looking for value and a decent, clean hotel, this is a good choice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We're happy to hear how you enjoyed our facilities and location to the beach. We're also glad to hear the travel desk and the convenience store were able to assist with enjoying your vacation with us.
Again, we appreciate your comments and hope you come back and stay with us in the near future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    474
    181
    69
    42
See reviews for
575
165
16
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Newton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Value with a good location made this a nice choice. Room was clean and staff pleasant. We stayed on 37th floor with great view of Diamond Head and zoo. Did not understand the many complaints about the elevators because we rarely waited more than a minute and they zipped up and down quickly. Maybe being the off season helped or maybe some people are just too impatient. A Hawaiian vacation should never involve much time spent in your hotel room and/or hotel pool to begin with imho.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We appreciate taking the time to let us know your experience with the Aston Waikiki Sunset. Its great to hear how we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you for mentioning how pleased you were with our rooms and our staff.
We hope to see you at the Aston Waikiki Sunset in the near future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nice place. Nice price. Amazing state!! Aloha Honolulu has lots of action and of course Pearl Harbor near by!! Honolulu is the most fun city in Hawaii and the restaurants are fanatastic near this place. Sunsets and romance as well !!!
Woo!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for enjoying your stay in Hawaii and especially with the Aston Waikiki Sunset. We hope you stay with us again in the near future!!!

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We are traveling with a 18 month old, and the full kitchen is with everything needed for a toddler meal. Our room is 18 floor partial ocean view, room is clean. There are some road noise especially in daytime and if you open the balcony door. For the price we didn't expect more. Maybe the mountain view side or higher floor will be better. The $15 resort fee is totally not worth it, but it is mandatory. Next time Aston Waikiki Sunset is certainly still our option, but will shop around and see if it is still best price at the time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments!!! We're happy to hear our amenities have assisted with your vacation needs. We look forward to having you back with us should you decide to stay in Waikiki.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our 3rd stay here as a stopover from mainland USA to home. We chose the ocean view room which was nice to go to bed to and wake up to. Check in & out was efficient. The 1bdrm condo on the 33rd floor was clean and suited our family of four after a long day travelling. Nice to have a close ABC shop and other eateries. It's really not that far from the beach. Much has been said about the resort fee and I don't have much to add other than include it into the cost of the room if it is 'mandatory'. If we are to do a stopover next year, the aston sunset will be hard to pass up, however I will still compare prices and see if value stacks up...so far it has.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Its great to hear that you came back to see us!!!! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. We appreciate the time taken to share your experience, even though it was just a stopover.

Thank you for your comments!!!!

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights before we went on a cruise and then 1 night after cruise.
We were first put in a room on the 29th floor. I was concerned with that room having our adventurous 2 year old with us at that height. I asked to change rooms, so without any hesitation they put us on a floor that suited me. The room on the lowest floor was identical to the one on the 29th floor. Very clean, spacious with everything you could need, pots, pans, paper towel, full size fridge, everything else you could need in a kitchen.
They have two decent sized TV's, one in the bedroom and one in the living area. Each room has a balcony.
There are guest laundry facilities on each floor.
There are only 4 elevators to service the entire hotel. At times the wait for the elevator was several minutes.
I do not know the cost of our stay as our trip was booked through a travel agent so I can't comment on the value.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. We look forward to having you back with us should your travel plans find you back in Waikiki in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is off the beach and near the zoo. It did not come up in the GPS and the sign is a bit hard to see. Being a high-rise, the rooms are a bit small, even for a 2 bed suite. We got in after dark and were just happy to find the beds. We were awakened early at sunrise from the most intense and beautiful sunrise over Diamond head you can imagine. Others in my party opted for the partial ocean view, which was just a sliver of ocean between two hotels between the Aston and the beach. Being off the beach did save us quite a few dollars and it wasn't a far walk to the beach. The hotel was clearly a hot spot for bargain hunters and was a bit crowded, but not too noisy.

Room Tip: Diamond head view is probably the best there unless you can get a better ocean view on the highest f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments!!! I agree, the Diamond Head view is spectacular in the morning. We're glad to hear our location was helpful with your vacation needs.
We look forward to having you back with us in the future!!!

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Address: 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.