We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2464 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Rohnert Park, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Convenient and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here because the conference hotel room block (Hyatt Resort) sold out. Glad I found the Circle. Location couldn't be better. I was thrilled that they allowed me to check in at 10am because there was a room ready. Staff were friendly. Room was partial ocean view. I didn't use the lanai because of limited privacy -- it faced another hotel's lanais. In fact, I had to remember to shut my curtains for privacy as the windows don't seem to be one-way. Very small room, which was perfect for me even tho it had 2 double beds. Bathroom/shower is tiny, but sufficient for one person. If my husband and kid had come, I would have gone crazy with lack of space for luggage/storage. But then again, we would spend very little time inside the room, so maybe not a big deal. Unfortunately, construction on a McDonald's is going on next door. (really?? Waikiki needs more local food, dudes!!) The construction makes it not so convenient to walk down the street. I rate the room "average" for sleep because the A/C unit is loud! But Waikiki is loud too, so sleeping with the door open was not an option.

Oh, and the hotel has an "Eggs n Things" restaurant. I didn't try it, but seems to be quite the rave experience, considering the waiting lines beginning at 6am.

Room Tip: partial ocean view room was okay, but not much privacy from neighboring hotels. Might be worth it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    279
    79
    23
    11
See reviews for
137
308
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

As other reviewers have highlighted this is a pretty low frills hotel, but the rooms are clean (worth paying the $15 or so dollars more for a pool view as you can get a decent sunset from the balcony).

Great price compared to other hotels in the area, although I did find myself getting slightly irritated by the additional charge for 'amenities' that you'd probably expect to be included (tea and coffee, WiFi, use of the safe, $15 a day for use of a gym) but still the overall cost was very reasonable.

For staying in Waikiki the location couldn't be better though, very central and right on the beach. Speedishuttle are really good (look out for the guys in red shirts at the airport). They'll take you right to the hotel and pick you up there at a prearranged time for your return flight for about $25 per person all in.

The restaurant in the hotel 'Eggs n Things' is really popular - queued out of the door in the mornings. I ate there a couple times around 5-6pm, when there was virtually no queue and the food is really good and cheap.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room preferably on a high floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Aston Waikiki Circle for a week in January 2013. We booked the hotel primarily because the price was good and the location looked to be very good as well. As it turns out, the location is excellent. The hotel is located immediately across the street from Waikiki beach. The hotel itself is a bit of a unique design (hence the "circle" name). The rooms have apparently been updated recently. We took a city view room since we weren't planning on being in the room much besides to sleep. The view ended up being of a parking structure and the adjacent hotel/condo's hot tub. Although small, the room had good features such as a safe, mini fridge, closet and TV with PS2/DVD. One of the neat features of the hotel was the included DVD rentals - there is a machine in the lobby that guests of the hotel can check-out free movies from to watch in their rooms - very convenient if you're looking for something to do in the evening. The only real complaints about the room were that the air conditioner was fairly loud and the hotel does not seem to have rooms with king/queen beds (we had two doubles and I think all of the rooms are like that). They also have limited parking available at the hotel for a fee which we took advantage of for a few days (be warned - the lot is quite small so I would assume there might not always be spots available, although we had no trouble). Overall, we'd recommend this hotel for a traveller looking for a good deal for an excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were there in October, family of four. This isn't the kind of hotel you lounge around in, no pool, not much of anything...except a great location, we loved the location, right across the beach! Everything is within walking distance. Every morning, we walked to a nearby restaurant for breakfast then head out to the beach. Laundromat was also nearby. The only big negative we encountered was the parking. On days we went out on excursions, by the time we got back, there was no more parking. We had to park at their sister hotel's parking lot. It wasn't that far and it was nice walking around with our boys so for us it wasn't a big deal. Overall, we liked the hotel and would most likely stay there again next time we go to Hawaii.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location across the street from Waikiki Beach. Great for getting to the beach. Bad for all the foot traffic--not an escape from the hubbub. You can easily walk anywhere along Kalakaua Ave. The staff was great. Although small (almost cramped), the rooms had a cool retro look. For the price a good value. No pool or restaurant. Also, people in condos (or apts) were very nearby and could easily see into our room.

Room Tip: Our room was listed as ocean view but that was primarily from the balcony. For true oceanview fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This review is long overdue, but as I am already planning this year's visit, and going back onto Trip Advisor to see the recent reviews made me finally submit this one. If you are looking for a full amenities hotel experience this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for excellent value in Waikiki this can't be beat. I have been to Hawaii many times over the years and have stayed at both high end and lower end hotels. Since discovering the Circle, I have stayed there my last 4 visits. Yes, the rooms are small, but really how much time are you spending in your room when paradise is outside? I definitely recommend spending the extra for an ocean view or ocean front room and ask for a higher floor. The location is ideal - the beach is literally across the street, great unobstructed ocean views from many rooms - better than many higher end hotels. The balcony is a good size and although the rooms are small, they are fine for 2 people and the space is well planned out. Yes, the bathrooms are tiny but again, no wasted space. The renos done a year or so ago have brightened up the rooms. Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Close to all the restaurants and shops, easy walking distance everywhere in Waikiki. Love it!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our second stay in this hotel. We chose to stay here again because we found it to be reasonably priced and ideally located. We arrived at the hotel and were quickly checked in. We had a room with two double beds and a full ocean view on the 18th floor. The room was beautifully decorated and completely redone. The bathroom was also redone but the shower is still really tight! The rooms are incredibly small. We have stayed in the room with three adults and found it to be okay. I'm not sure that four people would find the space adequate. You need to remember that you are not going to spend a lot of time in your room. The hotel now charges a "resort fee" of $15 daily. The fee includes Wifi (which we used), a daily paper (which we read), and in room coffee (which we drank). There was also a safe for storing your passports. The fee also includes a Play Station and free movies which we didn't use. We could not get over the transformation in the hotel. If you don't mind tight quarters, the location which is directly across the street from Kuhio Beach Park cannot be beat! We loved our stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel

Address: 2464 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikiki's best value - directly across from Waikiki Beach. This whimsical ocean-themed hotel's distinctive circular shape offers panoramic views and great rates surrounded by shopping, dining and ocean activities. All rooms have private lanais, most with an ocean view. Playful ambiance, beach proximity and affordability make this hotel a much sought-after jewel in Waikiki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.