We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Aware...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2464 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Be Aware...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Several years ago, my travel agent booked this hotel for us. When we got there the front desk staff gave us a room on the lowest level with a view of the parking ramp! We asked for a better room but were told it would cost extra so I paid an extra $250 out of pocket for three nights. After the trip my travel agent showed me that he had booked an ocean view room AND PAID EXTRA for it and scolded me for not phoning him on the spot! Felt really scamed by this hotel!

The rooms are small pie shaped contraptions in which you would not want to spend much time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIRMNGR, Manager at Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Aloha Cabnfever,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us and especially for bringing to light the difference between our OCEAN VIEW and OCEAN FRONT rooms.

Our hotel has four different categories: City View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View, and Ocean Front. A diagram of our rooms can be found here: http://www.astonhotels.com/resort/overview/aston-waikiki-circle-hotel under “Room Info”. Ocean View rooms are located on the side of our building (with the exception of the second floor) while Ocean Front rooms are the first three rooms facing the ocean. Unfortunately these categories often get confused for one another.

I believe your travel agent was correct in telling you your reservation was for Ocean View. I see that upon arrival you were on our lowest level, which actually has Ocean View rooms that extend all the way to the front (see diagram). Rooms in that same position, but on a higher floor, would change your category to Ocean Front, explaining the upgrade charge.

Please accept my apologies for any confusion this may have caused. It was never our intent to make you feel as though did not get what was paid for. I sincerely hope that this explanation has brought clarity to the situation.

Mahalo for choosing the Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    289
    83
    24
    11
See reviews for
143
316
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Streator, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great location to stay if you just need a room. No amenities of the the resort type. So if you want the step out to the beach and Waikiki center this is the hotel for you. The room and bathroom are really small. No fancy pool. Nice place just not a lot to it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteria, Colombia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for over a week in this hotel and it was everything we needed for our stay in Honolulu. We thought we would miss the pool but not at all! The location is perfect.You have the beach right in front of the hotel! You do definitely want book ocean front view room and on the higher floors. We did not have any problem in the hotel. It was a great stay and for a reasonable price in comparison with the hotels in the area.

Room Tip: ocean front view are the best. Higher floors to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is small (in a nice way) and staff are efficient. We had a full ocean view room which is more expensive but totally worth it. Rooms are quite small but very clean and cute! If you are on the larger side I would recommend going elsewhere as the bathrooms are tight (and I'm not a big person). The location is great- right on the beach in the middle of Waikiki. If you don't like the hustle bustle of a touristy area then don't stay in the heart of Waikiki as it can be a little noisy but we loved it. We would definitely return to this hotel :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I loved this hotel. Nothing fancy really, not even a real lobby, but rooms were clean and comfy and staff was great! Best thing is views and price for that view and awesome location. Every room has a view and I have paid a lot more for views over parking lots. Location is fantastic! Beach is right there as is everything else. We had a car and went all over Oahu. Parking is 15 a day, very good for Waikiki. Staff was great and very responsive. No frills but aren't missed.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay extra for ocean front, but ask for" ocean view" which is great a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The Waikiki circle hotel is great value for the beachfront location and a short stroll to some great shopping!
The room decor is very welcoming and was a good size for us travelling as a couple. The bathroom is a little small and the air con is a little noisy but it didnt affect our stay at all.
We had a fantastic view of the beach and up the street from the balcony. Not advisable to leave anything on the balcony as it is very windy. Street noise was not an issue to us up on the 5th floor.
The hotel was clean and comfortable, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a very different experience. You can take an elevator from your room, walk down a ramp or steps and you are ready to cross the street to one of the best parts of the Waikiki beach. The rooms were refurbished last year and are clean and pleasant with everything working. There is no lobby, looks like you are going to a movie by just going up to the window.
Stayed last year for a week and prices were a little over $100 per night. With nothing improved or changed we paid about $165 per night this year. Part of that is a $15 per day charge for safe, etc. I think in addition it is either $15 or $25 more for parking. This is for a city view room. Last year we had been comped a ocean view and the view was probably as good as any in that area. I think that has risen to $250 or more per night. If prices rise any more we would not stay there again in spite of location, location, location.

Room Tip: If you want to be across from the beach area, it is a wonderful area of Wakiki. City view faces ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel

Address: 2464 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikiki's best value - directly across from Waikiki Beach. This whimsical ocean-themed hotel's distinctive circular shape offers panoramic views and great rates surrounded by shopping, dining and ocean activities. All rooms have private lanais, most with an ocean view. Playful ambiance, beach proximity and affordability make this hotel a much sought-after jewel in Waikiki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.