We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute 1960s/1970s feeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2464 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - from $195
Ranked #29 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Cute 1960s/1970s feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were intrigued by this hotel when we researched hotel options for a one-night stay in Honolulu on the way to Maui. We wanted to stay directly at Waikiki beach but were turned off by the chains' standard offers at exorbitant prices for an ocean front room. So we opted to take a risk, considering it was just for one night.

What a pleasant surprise! We liked our ocean front room on the 11th floor and cherished sitting on the balcony and looking at Waikiki beach and the bustling activity on Kalakaua Avenue below. The building's strange circle shape, the reception behind glass (not bullet-proof, as one prior reviewer had suggested), the quirky pastell blue color scheme in the room, the small Motel 6-like window A/C (which we did not need at night), the functional small bathroom--all of this reminded us of travel in a different period, in a very positive way. We commend the owners for having preserved many of these characteristics and for having avoided a cookie-cutter modernization of the rooms akin to the thousands of chains' hotel rooms on the strip.

We also found the hotel price very competitive for Waikiki. There was, of course, a resort fee of USD 15 for "amenities" that many guests probably won't use (like movies), and we paid USD 15 for parking below the hotel. All of this is what needs to be expected for a stay in Waikiki and it thus did not bother us. We would recommend an ocean front room, for the views; traffic noise was not an issue on the 11th floor, and the A/C noise from neighboring hotels was far enough away that it did not spoil our marveling at the view.

So pick the Aston Circle if you enjoy--like we did--reliving some of the 1960s/1970s feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    267
    71
    19
    12
See reviews for
129
286
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

No view (avoid rooms ending in 7 or 9 if that's what you want), but we weren't in the room much anyway. We had a partial ocean view from our 12th-floor lanai, but it was so windy out there we couldn't sit outside. The wind also rattled the glass door; we had to wear earplugs to sleep.

The room was tiny and oddly furnished, but it was an efficient use of space and had cute, modern decor (love the bubble-glass panel in the bathroom door!). Would have preferred a queen or king bed instead of two doubles. Very limited parking in the garage under the building, but convenient if you can get a spot. Free Wi-Fi and DVD rentals, pleasant staff, good price -- I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our 2nd trip since the remodel, front & center, #1403, great return trip for us, we have a system, get supplys at Costco on the way to the hotel, & live better on the beach :>), we stayed 2 weeks & had a rental car 1st week, went to all places around the outer island, & then turned in the car in the Waikiki area & they shuttled us back to hotel, & used Roberts Hawaii.com for the shuttle on the day we left, best location on the strip, upgrade your room with a better view....rooms are tiny & are pie shaped, very basic hotel, but I went to Hawaii for the view, not to be waited on...

Best tip is....restaurant Eggs & Things in same building, always long lines, $$ prices, order your food to go & you will get it faster & go to beach area to eat, 10% off meal if you show hotel card, also hotel line to get in.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible....with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Second time at this hotel,right across the road from a fab beach. Got upgraded to partial ocean view, no extra charge. Friendly check in staff. Service staff very polite,greets you whenever they see you. Plenty of beach towels. Wifi, dvds very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Higher floors not so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rooms are quite small but there is everything you need. Rooms are also very tidy and the service in the hotel was good. The view from the ocean view room was amazing but on the other hand some noise from the main street down below. Also the small balcony is quite worn out and not very inviting.
Location is also superb as it's just across the street to Waikiki beach and only few minutes walk to main shopping and restaurant area. Didn't try the restaurant downstairs but seems to be very popular as there was a line almost all day.
We stayed only two nights after returning from Maui and on our way back home. The staff was kind enough to store some of our luggage during our time in Maui and this was very much appreciated. Also a crib for the baby was provided without any problems.
If you're planning just a one or two nights quick stay in Waikiki and don't want to spend a fortune for the room then you should look into this. For this purpose I would really recommend this place but if you're planning a romantic holiday then you should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a nice view although I doubt you will be spending much time in the hotel or on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very small but tidy rooms, we had an ocean front room which was beautiful-sitting on the balcony-also small-but directly across the road from a palm tree lined park and the gorgeous ocean. Happy, friendly staff. Right in the middle of town, short walk to all the shops. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room, otherwise you just get a view of buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchell
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our recent stay in Honolulu was wonderful thanks in part to the delightful Aston Circle Hotel! The location could not have been better--directly across the street from Waikiki. The rooms are a bit small and we had two double beds for a family of three-I did know of both issues going in, however. The staff was very helpful--Jan, at the front desk seemed be on duty day and night! We were so pleased to be able to use the air mattresses which were available in a "help yourself" box. I would recommend paying extra for an ocean view room. It was very clean and fun, quirky decor!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel

Address: 2464 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikiki's best value - directly across from Waikiki Beach. This whimsical ocean-themed hotel's distinctive circular shape offers panoramic views and great rates surrounded by shopping, dining and ocean activities. All rooms have private lanais, most with an ocean view. Playful ambiance, beach proximity and affordability make this hotel a much sought-after jewel in Waikiki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.