We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aston Circle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2464 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Aston Circle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We enjoyed our 5 day stay ending 1/14/13. Cute, clean rooms and friendly staff. Very well situated in Waikiki with fantastic views from our 13th Floor ocean front room. Not much more $ for Ocean Front...and well worth it! Great room for couple...but, might be tight with children. No lobby or pool...but, so easy to get in and out to the main Street below and beach across the St.
No restaurant...but, Mc Donalds right downstairs for quick breakfast/coffee. Plenty of fancy breakfasts nearby if that's what you want. I would definately return to Circle on my next trip to Waikiki.

Room Tip: High floor Ocean Front a bargain...fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    289
    83
    24
    11
See reviews for
143
316
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Reading through many reviews on tripadvisor, I find that our American cousins appear to expect much more from a hotel room and overall service than we Brits do.
From a British point of view (party of four adults), we have travelled half way round the world to be in Hawaii, we want to see what it has to offer.

Eating out prices are what you want them to be but always much cheaper than UK equivalents. Hawaiian market area gets you some good value.

The Hotel... is functional with no frills, but as with most holidays to the US from the UK are room only, that is what you get a room. The hotel has no bar or restaurant, but there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the surrounding area.

The Rooms... Some doubles some twin queens (our party had one of each) The rooms are not the largest I have ever been in and nor are they the smallest. There is adequate space for two adults and there holiday luggage (3 weeks worth in our case). The rooms are ok to relax in with TV but are not suites, but then why do you want one, your on Oahu how long do you want to spend in your room ?

A note of caution, Sea Facing rooms have a view to die for, beware of rear facing rooms with the bin store and view of a car park.

The Staff, the only staff you will come into contact with are the knowledgeable reception staff and possibly the very efficient cleaning staff. As the hotel does not have any other services it does not need them.

The Extras, there is a store where left behind beach toys (boards etc) are available from. IF you are just "playing" on the beach then it saves purchasing.

The Location... Slap bang opposite Waikiki beach. Close to everything Honolulu has to offer. Restaurants and bars galore. No need for a car here, public transport to Pearl Harbour is easy, but guided tours are available close by. Recommend Dukes and Cheesecake factory to eat or Cheeseburger in paradise (turn left out of hotel, 1 block down) or Dennys are good for breakfast. Coffee from ABC stores or McDonalds, all within 25 yards of hotel.

This is not a luxury hotel, but it was good enough to say it is functional, If we had gone to a more up market hotel I do not think we would have got value from the hotel as we would not have been in the place enough to get it. You don't travel halfway round the world to look at a hotel room do you ?

Room Tip: Beware rear facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was warned rooms were very small! They were, but not too bad. Bed was so comfortable! Just over the road from the beach it was a wonderful position and I didnt have to walk too far to go anywhere. A big bonus when one is getting on in years! Staff were not very friendly at first. But next day when I praised the hotel they were a little friendlier. If they are overworked and tired when new guests arrive they should address this, as it gave the wrong impression. A smile and a friendly greeting goes a long way! It was full occupancy but all was quiet which was good. No pool is necessary with Waikiki beach over the road! Room was very clean and bathroom too. Never saw staff come to my room so dont know how to rate them. I would be happy to stay there again. There is a breakfast restaurant at the entrance but huge crowds waiting deterred me Is it part of hotel? Luckily Maccas was next door!

Room Tip: Facing the beach is excellent Facing East is good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. This is good hotel, definitely not 5 stars; I’m surprised that it has been rated that high. However, if location is your priority you could rate this hotel as 6 stars. Location is superb - right across the street from Waikiki Beach and in the center of everything. Another very positive thing - the view from the balcony is just simply splendid. Room was small, but since we did not spend much time in the room it was not a problem. Bathroom was small as well, with really narrow shower cabin. Even though hotel has parking, sometime it’s full to capacity and guests asked to park in another parking located couple of blocks from the hotel; not a big deal, merely a small inconvenience. There is breakfast place that is not entirely belong to the hotel, but located right next to hotel’s front desk. However we did not have a chance to eat there; lines were really long. I was wondering what exactly they are serving for breakfast to deserve such long lines, but had no chance to get an answer.
Would we stay in this hotel next time – probably “yes” since location is worthwhile to overlook all other small inconveniences.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an ocean view or at least partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This retro hotel is right across the street from Waikiki Beach, making this a prime location. The hotel rooms have been updated but the hotel has no amenities, save complimentary beach towels and chairs. There is no pool and it was impossible to eat at the restaurant due to the constant line. The rooms are small, but the space is used well. The rooms are difficult with kids or with more than two adults per room. If you want to be right in the middle of the action, but don't plan to spend much time in your room, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a full ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Let's start with: this is not a 5 star hotel! You pay a lot more for one of those. We were only here one night prior to boarding the cruise ship. We got to be on the top (14th) floor which was great! The hotel is built in a semi circle which maximizes the ability of everyone to have a little ocean view. For our room you did have to go to the balcony to see the ocean.

The rooms are small- but adequate because-really- who spends a lot of time in the room while in Hawaii! We loved being so close to the beach and the shopping. It's a pretty part of Waikiki. There are a few maintenance issues that kept me from giving it a 5 star- the lights at our bedside table didn't work! And the mini fridge didn't get cold. I would have called if we were going to be there longer. Otherwise would book here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had one night at this hotel on arrival into waikiki prior to leaving for the north shore the following day.
Check-in at the hotel was smooth no problems, fast, friendly.
Rooms were small - we booked a partial ocean view and that's exactly what it was. Could see the water from the balcony however also looked directly into the air con vents of the hotel next door.
The cleanliness of the rooms was excellent as were all hotel amenities.
Would recommend this hotel for people who want to be located near the beach centrally located and on a budget.
Parking was very limited at the hotel and we had to park at their sister property banyan tree which was about a 10 minute walk however reasonably priced so not a problem for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel

Address: 2464 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikiki's best value - directly across from Waikiki Beach. This whimsical ocean-themed hotel's distinctive circular shape offers panoramic views and great rates surrounded by shopping, dining and ocean activities. All rooms have private lanais, most with an ocean view. Playful ambiance, beach proximity and affordability make this hotel a much sought-after jewel in Waikiki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.