We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2452 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not so bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you a looking for a clean room and a great price right across from the beach, Look no further! Comfy bed, quick elevator and friendly staff. Loved that I could sit on the balcony and look right at the beach, not that many have front views up and down the street strip

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    176
    111
    44
    51
See reviews for
35
249
55
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Definitely not the fanciest place in Waikiki but the location is great if you want to spend time on the beach without paying through the nose. The hotel is dated and is in desperate need of renovation but having said that the rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff are efficient, helpful and friendly. A quick walk across Kalakaua Avenue has you on the beach and there are plenty of restaurants in the general area with the ubiquitous ABC store right next door. Unfortunately, there is no facility in house for laundry but there is (apparently) a laundrette just around the corner, rather than spend time doing laundry I suggest packing enough clothing for the entire stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must and worth paying extra for. See Alfred at the concierge desk for good pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

$125 per night. Right across from the beach - board rentals - bars -shops. The room was clean as a whistle. The place could use a little tlc - scuffs and dings, but I so enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

I will definitely come back to this same hotel, even with all the choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I recently returned from Hawai'i where I spent 6 nights at the Aston Beachside Hotel. I will agree with others about the hotel being dated and lacking amenities. You'll find no continental breakfast, hotel gym, or any other fancy stuff here. This hotel offers you a basic room (maybe you get more if you upgrade), friendly staff (Lave is awesome), and a fantastic location! I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again! To be honest, why do you need all the fancy hotel stuff in Hawaii? You should be spending your days sightseeing!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is a pit. We were placed in an "interior" room, which was a musty and dank closet with no window. When we requested to move we were placed in another damp, dirty and cramped room that smelled like mildew. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. My wife and I stayed out anywhere we could as late as we could during our stay so that we would spend as little time in this horrible place as possible. A serious disappointment and a sad end to our trip to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Skip this place all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Front Office Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing Aston Hotels & Resorts and the Waikiki Beachside Hotel!

Our property offers a wide variety of rooms ranging from the Standard Interior that you mentioned (our basic, most affordable room) up to our Ocean Front (our top room, facing the Ocean, on the 9th floor or higher). I apologize if the room you booked was not to your liking; however, for those travelers who choose to not spend much time in their rooms, this option is great as it is cost-friendly and comfortable among other things. My staff did accommodate you in giving you a free upgrade to the Moderate category, and although it overlooks another building/wall, it does at least have a private lanai and some fresh air.

I have spoken with both our Housekeeping Department, and our Maintenance Department to take a look at the issues you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Once again, I am truly sorry if this ruined your vacation.

Mahalo,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife had read the reviews on here and was having second thoughts about our booking, but we should not have been worried. Whilst the room was small, it was clean and the cleaning staff attended to it everyday, the air conditioner worked well and we had a new digital TV. The staff were all friendly and helpful, with Lava on reception even singing and playing the ukulele for us. there was free WiFi available in the second floor lounge area if you wanted. When we arrived our allocated room was not ready, but they offered us another one with an ocean view on the 3rd floor and it was excellent. it doesn't have a pool or a restaurant, the beach is at your front door and restaurants are all in walking distance. There is only one lift, but we just used the stairs. There is an ABC store next door and you can purchase all your essentials. We will definitely go back here.

Room Tip: Full ocean view rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I found this deal and when I read the reviews I was having second thoughts because there were negative comments but I was very surprised and glad I took a chance with this hotel. The location was perfect for walking around and we didn't need to rent a car. The staff was very helpful with recommendations on where to eat or how to get to places. The hotel was up to the "fluff" that I usually book but due to the hectic schedule of wanting to see so much I didn't feel that spending too much for a hotel room wasn't worth it.

Don't be turned off by the negative reviews if you want to save money then this is the place to go! Room was clean, bed was comfy, AC was great - What more can you ask when you are saving so much money?

Room Tip: No on-site restaurant but all are within walking distance. Yes, the Banyan tree covers most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Address: 2452 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Beachside Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Hotel Aqua Waikiki Beachside
Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.