We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
1 review
“Everything we wanted.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for ten days and had a ball. Loved Hawaii and the Aston was a great place to stay. Nice tidy rooms, excellent position and view. Loved the Tiki Bar down stairs. Breakfast on the deck was fine although a few too many pastries. Sometimes struggled to get downstairs by the 9.00am finish but that was our fault. We booked trips at the tourist booking booth in the hotel but found later there are cheaper options available just by talking to people on the streets. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Paul C,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review! We are glad that you loved our island, and enjoyed your stay. It's our pleasure to provide clean, comfortable rooms for our guests. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location and beautiful views! We are sorry about the challenges you experienced with Breakfast on the Beach and activity bookings. Our friendly, attentive staff looks forward to welcoming you back on your next stay!

Mahalo!

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    1,067
    547
    183
    113
See reviews for
658
1,052
75
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The pool was less than average size, nothing "resort" about it but they make you wait long times (usually with only 1 person at front desk), they don't answer front desk phone, and also they charge you resort rates with an average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Jennifer C,

Thank you for sharing your constructive review. We are terribly sorry that we did not provide you with an excellent experience. We apologize for the challenges with the Front Desk, and that our amenity program did not meet your expectations. From check-in to check-out, we aim to give exceptional service with remarkable rooms to our guests. We regret that we failed in this with you. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We would be honored to host you again and have another opportunity to serve you. Should your travels bring you back to Waikiki, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at gsc@astonhotels.com to arrange your booking.

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

...and it only took one time to figure out the elevators! Don't worry, other hotel guests show you how if you get confused. We were surprised it didn't take that long to get our car from valet parking when we wanted to go sight-seeing. The free breakfast every morning has regular American fare, but also miso soup, noodles and ginger--lovely change of pace. We got a kick out of the (well-made) cotton Japanese robes, so we bought two ($25 ea) to pack for our trip over to a condo on the Big Island. This hotel also has the Tiki Bar which overlooks Kalakaua Avenue--great place for people watching & a sunset drink or two; good prices too. Close to shopping, Starbucks and probably 50 steps (we counted) to the beach. That Friday night, we got to enjoy fireworks from the Sheraton down the beach (either it's a Friday thing or a wedding).

Room Tip: Get a room high up--the views are great & no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha LindaMThatcher,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor! It's great that you found our elevators, Valet services, and delicious breakfast to your tastes! We are happy that you liked our premier Waikiki location, and that you could see fireworks on the beach! What a great memory! Should your travels ever bring you back to Waikiki, we would be honored to host you again!

Mahalo!

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel and were very impressed with the hotel and amenities. The location, room and amenities were great! We really enjoyed the complimentary morning breakfast by the pool each morning with Hawaiian entertainment. Tiki's located by the pool had great food and drinks at a reasonable price. The next time we come back, we plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room had a partial ocean view for a more reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Aloha Bradley U,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your awesome review! We are happy to hear that you liked our location and enjoyed your room! We're thrilled that you liked our Breakfast on the Beach and live entertainment by the pool! We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here from July 7th through July 14th, 2014. "We" are a family of four: 2 adults, one 18-year-old male, and one 13-year-old female. This hotel is located on the easternmost end of Waikiki, closest to the Diamond Head end of the beach. This, therefore, is a "pretty good" location, though it is a good walk from the most expensive and posh end of the shopping and beach complex. If you're going to Honolulu to hit the most expensive and high end of the shops, then this hotel is not conveniently located for you. Also, the hotel is about average in condition, etc. Let's face it, Honolulu in general, and Waikiki in particular, has lost a lot of its shine. Much of it is rundown and not well maintained. While this hotel is definitely not in the "rundown and not well maintained" category, it is showing its age and getting a bit shopworn. While our room was clean, there were soiled areas on the couch arms, chipped paint on the doors, old and worn bathroom fixtures, etc. Staff was very nice but the front desk needs more folks on it. I frequently observed lines of 5 or 6 or more waiting to check in or otherwise interact with the front desk folks. The view from our room was quite nice. We faced west, so we looked right out toward Waikiki Beach and the center of the tourist and shopping maelstrom. The "Breakfast on the Beach" is not on the beach. Here's how they work it: In your room there will be a couple of small six-pack type cooler bags with shoulder straps. You take this down to the pool area and each person gets to go through the buffet food line once and only once. You can take all you can carry in your hands and your little cooler bag. There's no hot food to speak of. Bread, cereal, fruit, that kind of stuff. Not bad, but not extensive or fancy and the only way it's "Breakfast on the Beach" is if you decide to carry it downstairs to street level, go out of the hotel, cross the road, and get over the to the beach on your own. Staff was nice and friendly and helpful but busy. Tour booking is convenient. I recommend Ron at Expedia. He helped us a lot and didn't steer us wrong. He worked hard to get our tours scheduled and juggled around so we could do everything we wanted to. But, I strongly suggest you make your bookings and reservations in advance, before you arrive in Hawaii. First, it's cheaper; and, second, you won't miss out on anything. We had two tours we almost couldn't do because everything was booked up on some days. If you stay at this hotel, there's a Starbucks and a Subway and a Wolfgang Puck in the same building complex and block. It's a block from the Honolulu Zoo, which is a nice stroll some afternoon when you're tired of touring and would just enjoy some quiet time in a beautiful setting. Diamond Head is just east of the hotel but you don't want to walk to it. The entrance is a long way uphill and around the back side of the crater. Take the #23 bus or a cab. The bus was $2.50 per person and a cab will run you maybe $5 per person. Or, sign up with Uber and go that way. If you do go to Diamond Head, take the hike up to the observation post at the top rim of the crater. It's a strenuous hike and it was hot the day we did it but it was fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha Edwardsjbe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are glad that you liked our location and that you found many enjoyable activities on our island! Thank you for your constructive comments and detailed description of your experience. It's our privilege to host guests like you! We would love to welcome you back again!

Mahalo!

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here 7/11/14-7/13/14. Hotel was great stayed in ocean view select room and it was perfect. Ask for higher floor rooms to avoid the loud noise from the Tiki grill restaurant downstairs. Been in other hotels in Waikiki and so far this was the best. The elevators were a tad bit confusing at first but after the first night it was easy. The location is perfect, literally right across the street from the beach. Breakfast was nice they serve cereal, donuts, fruit. No meat though. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I think the "select" rooms are the updated rooms. Ask for higher floors. Ocean view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Aloha Emily S,

Thank you for sharing your excellent review here on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room and our premier Waikiki location! It's our pleasure to provide our delicious Breakfast on the Beach for our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed it! We would love the opportunity to welcome you back! Have a fantastic day!

Mahalo!

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Excellent location. Across from Waikiki beach with easy access in/out of the Waikiki area. Within waking distance to the many restaurants and shops on Kauakaua Blvd. Staff is very friendly. Definitely took advantage of the free daily breakfast, cooler bag, and DVD rentals.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Aloha MBreaux,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your awesome review! We are happy to hear that you liked our convenient location, Breakfast on the Beach, and free DVD rental service! Our friendly staff would love to welcome you and your family back again soon!

Mahalo!

Stephaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.