We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time In Waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Omaha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Time In Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel and were very impressed with the hotel and amenities. The location, room and amenities were great! We really enjoyed the complimentary morning breakfast by the pool each morning with Hawaiian entertainment. Tiki's located by the pool had great food and drinks at a reasonable price. The next time we come back, we plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room had a partial ocean view for a more reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Aloha Bradley U,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your awesome review! We are happy to hear that you liked our location and enjoyed your room! We're thrilled that you liked our Breakfast on the Beach and live entertainment by the pool! We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    1,206
    625
    209
    130
See reviews for
792
1,184
89
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here from July 7th through July 14th, 2014. "We" are a family of four: 2 adults, one 18-year-old male, and one 13-year-old female. This hotel is located on the easternmost end of Waikiki, closest to the Diamond Head end of the beach. This, therefore, is a "pretty good" location, though it is a good walk from the most expensive and posh end of the shopping and beach complex. If you're going to Honolulu to hit the most expensive and high end of the shops, then this hotel is not conveniently located for you. Also, the hotel is about average in condition, etc. Let's face it, Honolulu in general, and Waikiki in particular, has lost a lot of its shine. Much of it is rundown and not well maintained. While this hotel is definitely not in the "rundown and not well maintained" category, it is showing its age and getting a bit shopworn. While our room was clean, there were soiled areas on the couch arms, chipped paint on the doors, old and worn bathroom fixtures, etc. Staff was very nice but the front desk needs more folks on it. I frequently observed lines of 5 or 6 or more waiting to check in or otherwise interact with the front desk folks. The view from our room was quite nice. We faced west, so we looked right out toward Waikiki Beach and the center of the tourist and shopping maelstrom. The "Breakfast on the Beach" is not on the beach. Here's how they work it: In your room there will be a couple of small six-pack type cooler bags with shoulder straps. You take this down to the pool area and each person gets to go through the buffet food line once and only once. You can take all you can carry in your hands and your little cooler bag. There's no hot food to speak of. Bread, cereal, fruit, that kind of stuff. Not bad, but not extensive or fancy and the only way it's "Breakfast on the Beach" is if you decide to carry it downstairs to street level, go out of the hotel, cross the road, and get over the to the beach on your own. Staff was nice and friendly and helpful but busy. Tour booking is convenient. I recommend Ron at Expedia. He helped us a lot and didn't steer us wrong. He worked hard to get our tours scheduled and juggled around so we could do everything we wanted to. But, I strongly suggest you make your bookings and reservations in advance, before you arrive in Hawaii. First, it's cheaper; and, second, you won't miss out on anything. We had two tours we almost couldn't do because everything was booked up on some days. If you stay at this hotel, there's a Starbucks and a Subway and a Wolfgang Puck in the same building complex and block. It's a block from the Honolulu Zoo, which is a nice stroll some afternoon when you're tired of touring and would just enjoy some quiet time in a beautiful setting. Diamond Head is just east of the hotel but you don't want to walk to it. The entrance is a long way uphill and around the back side of the crater. Take the #23 bus or a cab. The bus was $2.50 per person and a cab will run you maybe $5 per person. Or, sign up with Uber and go that way. If you do go to Diamond Head, take the hike up to the observation post at the top rim of the crater. It's a strenuous hike and it was hot the day we did it but it was fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha Edwardsjbe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are glad that you liked our location and that you found many enjoyable activities on our island! Thank you for your constructive comments and detailed description of your experience. It's our privilege to host guests like you! We would love to welcome you back again!

Mahalo!

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here 7/11/14-7/13/14. Hotel was great stayed in ocean view select room and it was perfect. Ask for higher floor rooms to avoid the loud noise from the Tiki grill restaurant downstairs. Been in other hotels in Waikiki and so far this was the best. The elevators were a tad bit confusing at first but after the first night it was easy. The location is perfect, literally right across the street from the beach. Breakfast was nice they serve cereal, donuts, fruit. No meat though. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I think the "select" rooms are the updated rooms. Ask for higher floors. Ocean view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Aloha Emily S,

Thank you for sharing your excellent review here on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room and our premier Waikiki location! It's our pleasure to provide our delicious Breakfast on the Beach for our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed it! We would love the opportunity to welcome you back! Have a fantastic day!

Mahalo!

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Excellent location. Across from Waikiki beach with easy access in/out of the Waikiki area. Within waking distance to the many restaurants and shops on Kauakaua Blvd. Staff is very friendly. Definitely took advantage of the free daily breakfast, cooler bag, and DVD rentals.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Aloha MBreaux,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your awesome review! We are happy to hear that you liked our convenient location, Breakfast on the Beach, and free DVD rental service! Our friendly staff would love to welcome you and your family back again soon!

Mahalo!

Stephaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for two nights before our cruise. Check in was not too long. When we checked in, they upgraded us to a larger room which was great after getting off a 9 hour flight. Our room was ready and with the extra space, our luggage was out of the way. We had a partial ocean view room on the 7th floor which still gave us a beautiful view. The hotel was relatively quiet and the beds were comfortable. The room was starting to show a little wear, but overall it was a nice room. The breakfast was good with a nice assortment of continental breakfast items plus items like fresh fruit and fountain soda (which made my husband happy). We ate breakfast on the pool deck where they had someone playing Hawaiian music. It was nice. While we did find a seat, the pool area is relatively small and I saw a lot of people taking their breakfast to their rooms (did not see many going to the beach). On our last day, we asked for a late check out. The Aston may do this, but with a $25 fee to check out by 2:00. My only real complaint about the hotel was how they handled the cars in the valet area and the space to pick up tour buses. Downtown Waikiki is busy and I get that, but for 3 days, we had to weave in and out of cars that were coming in or to be valeted. The entire front entrance way was chaotic. Also, when we called to ask the bellman to get us a cab, we came down and he had not called a cab. (Not a huge deal as you can usually flag down a cab.) The hotel is across the street from Waikiki beach and next to the zoo. The are several decent restaurants in the area. The "main" shopping and dining areas of Waikiki is about a 6-8 block walk (or a $10 cab ride for 3). One nice touch the hotel had was lemon and orange water all day in the lobby. There was also a convenience store to buy sodas and snacks. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: A partial ocean view still gave us a great view of the beach, but with no outdoor balcony seating (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Aloha Green24,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your detailed review. We are honored that you chose to stay with us before you went on your cruise! We are pleasaed to hear that we succeeded at providing you with a timely check-in, comfortable room, and a beautiful view. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed our Breakfast on the Beach experience! Thank you for calling our attention to the organization of our Valet Services. Our team strives to maintain excellence and punctuality, and we appreciate constructive comments like yours that can help us to improve our guests' experience. We're happy that you enjoyed our fresh fruit water in the lobby and our convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had 3 rooms reserved for our family and upon check-in one of the rooms was a king bed for 3 adults even though the reservation was for 2 beds. The desk clerk quickly remedied the problem and we were very pleased with the rooms and the wonderful view of the beach. One of our 3 rooms was not cleaned. It was at the end of the hall and I guess it just got missed. Towels were delivered promptly when we called.
The lunchbox provided in the room is a wonderful idea to pack breakfast for the beach. All the appropriate containers were by the food in the buffet so it is easy to pack your picnic breakfast. Many restaurants and shops are within walking distance but if you choose to stay close the Tiki Restaurant serves great food.
The inconveniences we experienced were minor and the staff quickly responded. We would stay at the Aston again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Aloha Oahuvisitor,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are sorry about the minor difficulties that you encountered during your stay with us, but are pleased to hear that we remedied the situations. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Breakfast on the Beach, beautiful views, and our convenient location. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back!
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Well here we are back at the Aston again. My last review that you might have read had a couple of problems. They replied and asked for a second chance to put thinks right.I had an excellent rate second time around.When we arrived the staff where great all that i had requested i had. The rooms are not the most modern but they are clean and comfortably and the view from the pool side room is to die for, but please keep in mind that you dont pay Marriott or Hilton prices either. You still get breakfast dvd and playstaion rental and Wi Fi for a fee i think it was about $22 a day its called a resort fee and i noticed that the coffee is free in the room unlike last time when after the first 2 cups it was $2 a cup. The Tiki bar still serves excellent food and drink and is very reasonably about $5 a beer and bar meals about $14 .Mike who looked after us all week was fantastic.He remembered us from the last time we visted .Hes the one with the pony tail got to say that he is one of the best waiters i have had the pleasure to meet.Look out for him.We did have a couple of issues with A/C and the Wi Fi but they where put right straight away, you cant ask for more than that. We wiil be definitely go back

Room Tip: Ask for room pool side this gives you a fantstic view of the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Aloha Hil9279,
Thank you for allowing us another opportunity to host you! We are thrilled to hear that your second stay with us was an enjoyable one! Our friendly staff is pleased to assist in whatever you may need. It's our pleasure to provide clean, comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the ocean for you! We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit!
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#33 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#14 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#32 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,211 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#18 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#20 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.