We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 15% OFF Promo
Ranked #55 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Coolangatta, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Value & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 10 days in this hotel. The breakfast is pretty disappointing. Too much sweet cakes,
but they did offer eggs and bacon at an additional cost. Location is fantastic, right across
from the beach, but its a long way from the main shopping area, so quite a walk. But you can
grab a trolley out front for $2!! which is awesome. Rooms were clean, but very small. Balconys are not advertised well, they state they are large, but its like being in a cardboard box!!!.
The Tiki bar is awesome for food and drinks, staff cannot do enough for you. Overall we were
happy at this hotel. The check-in system needs to be addressed better though. We arrived at
10.00 am, very tired from the flight, and could not check-in until 3.00pm, room was late being ready, so we were pretty exhausted the first day. Good for families.

Room Tip: Defintely pick an OCEAN DELUXE ROOM or above.............nothing less too small and no view. A sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. The ‘Deluxe’ rooms guarantee a larger balcony in exchange for square footage in the room. Our main categories are Standard, Partial Ocean, Ocean View, and Ocean Front. The ‘Deluxe’ add-on guarantees a double balcony. The ‘Select’ add-on guarantees a higher floor. We’re sorry that we were unable to have your room ready before 3:00PM. During peak season our hotel runs at a high occupancy most of the time. Our guaranteed check-in time is 3:00PM and check out time is noon. This gives our housekeepers only a few hours to prepare the rooms for our new arrivals. We do our best to prepare the rooms as soon as possible but if a guest checks out at noon, we are unable to provide that room to a new guest before noon. Thank you for understanding. We apologize for the inconvenience especially since you were tired from the long flight. Thank you for reviwing our hotel!
Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    635
    1,004
    505
    175
    106
See reviews for
625
987
71
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were there for 6 nights in July. Overall the room was comfortable, but it was very small. The balcony only had one chair and the bathroom didn't have a big enough vanity to hold our cosmetics--had to put them on the safe in the closet. As for refilling our toiletries, we had to ask for new soap everyday! I guess the housekeepers think one tiny little bar of soap will last several days! As for the breakfast in the morning, it wasn't very desirable. All sugary pastries and nothing too healthy, other than some fruit. If you wanted a good breakfast, you had to pay extra (after paying $18 a day Amenity fee!) The pool was a JOKE! Too tiny for the size of the hotel. Next time we go to Hawaii, we will definitely stay somewhere nicer. Even the Mariott Beach Hotel was nicer than the Aston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Aloha, and we’re really sorry to see some of your negative comments. Our building was built during a time when view and location was prioritized rather than room or pool size. Also, the square footage of our rooms is displayed on our website www.astonwaikikibeach.com Our housekeepers are supposed to refill the toiletries when they service the room. If the DND (do not disturb) sign is displayed on the door they will not enter the room. Normally, the bar of soap does last more than one day, depending on how many people are using it. We’re sorry for the inconveniences caused to you and that you had to call the operator to request a delivery for more soap. We hope you had a lovely time in Waikiki. Sincerely, -Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

First, valet parking is a mess. Plan 15 min. Minimun.
We stayed at the Royal Hawaiian for US$150,00 more and was worth for the breakfast (food and time of operation) kindness of staff (The maid made the bed and forgot to replace the towels). Lack of communication of staff with clients. Lots of extra fees that are incompreensible. The only good thing is the location. Wouldnt come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha, and we’re sorry to learn about your disappointment. Our valet is unfortunately affected when Waikiki is at peak season. Since there are so many one way streets surrounding our hotel, the traffic will sometimes become grid locked at the entrance of our driveway. We do our best to work around the traffic, but yes, calling down 15 minutes prior is highly recommended. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Furthermore, even though it wasn’t ours, we’re glad you found the perfect hotel in Waikiki to fit your needs. Waikiki is a great place to visit and we welcome you to our home, Oahu, again in the future.

Sincerely,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 weeks, my husband, myself, a teenager, and a 7 yr. old. We stayed on the 15th floor in room 1534. The view was amazing! Our room was small with 2 double beds, and had a handicap accessible bathroom. It was well worth the price! The only negative was that we had endless problems with the air conditioning & the wi-fi in our room. We had to call the service desk several times during our stay. They always responded promptly and fixed the problem, but it was a nuisance.

The hotel is located at the east end of Waikiki beach next to the zoo, and across from the beach. It is a lot quieter at this end, but a further walk to many of the fun restaurants & shops. It was really convenient to have a mini-mart in the hotel, 2 ABC stores down below us, a Coldstone Creamery, a Subway, a Cookie store, and a Wolfgang Puck Express right below our hotel! And I can't forget Tiki's, the restaurant in our hotel! They had the best Pina Colada in town! And Lulu's next door for breakfast - the best banana macadamia nut pancakes with coconut syrup! And even the Barefoot Beachside Cafe down the beach across from the zoo had amazing breakfasts and lunches! Their coconut smoothie was to die for!

The employees were very helpful & friendly - from Kathy at check-in, to Edmund the service guy, to Zeny our housekeeper (a sweetie!), to the valets. Our little girl was in a wheelchair and everyone went out of their way to be kind and helpful to her.

The only possible negative was that the "Breakfast on the Beach" that they provide requires you to get down to it early if you want anything! They advertise that it is from 6:30-9:00. However, when I went down to it one morning at 6:30, there was already a line of about 75 people! One day I went down to it at 8:20 only to find that the staff had already put away all of the food/tables - nothing was left but coffee & juices! On vacation I hate to have to set the alarm to get up early enough to go get breakfast for free, but every penny saved helps! Needless to say, we only did this a few times, rather than pass up sleeping in!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the beach are well worth the price! The rooms over the pool side get a lot of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Aloha, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the maintenance issues in your guest room. Our Chief Engineer has been made aware of your experience in order to fix any existing problems in the room you stayed in.
Furthermore, we were glad to learn that your family had a good time at our hotel, and that your little one felt special and accommodated. We love to witness the memorable family moments that are created here every day.
Sincerely,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed there after cruising on the Pride of America for 3 nights. Was most disappointed at the check in - it was assumed that we had been told about the amenities fees (the agents fault, not theirs- another issue). The staff were definately not friendly. We were upgraded to an ocean view room, but the wind whistled through the sliding door. When the whistling stopped, the doors rattled. The small fridge was being defrosted and was left open & switched on with a towel in the bottom to catch the water. We actually switched the unit off to enable it to defrost a little quicker so wwe could put drinks in it. There were holes in the bed linen. We also assumed that we would find a kettle & cups in the room to enable us to make coffee/tea, but there were none. At breakfast, I had to "shoo" the birds off the food as there were no covers over the food to keep the birds away. After watching the birds pecking at the pastries, we refused to eat them. Could not get seating at breakfast. The range of free DVDs was not good. Definately not worth the daily amenities fee.
Overall a most disappointing stay and would not stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Aloha Maria, we are terribly sorry to see your disappointment in our hotel. Yes, we do notify all the wholesalers about our amenity fee, sometimes they or the travel agents neglect to inform their customers- we thank you for understanding. Regarding the room provided- your comments have been shared with housekeeping. The refrigerator should have been prepared before we released the room to you, and we’re sorry that you had to deal with it. We’re also sorry for the noise caused from the wind/door. The higher floors are preferred by most guests. However, if the winds pick up (we have had many days this month with very strong winds) the noise can cause an inconvenience for some of our guests. Also, we would love to add coffee and/tea to our guest rooms. Hopefully this is something that will happen in the future but as of right now breakfast and tea is served each morning during breakfast.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel last week and was really happy with it. The hotel was centrally located and directly across from Waikiki Beach. The rooms were vary spacious and the views were absolutely stunning! If you have a room on a floor above floor 18, you will be rewarded with an astonishing view of Diamond Head! The shower head was a little bit low for my taste (5'10) I had to duck under the water to wash my hair. The breakfast was also a let down; it is a continental breakfast (pastries, donuts, yogurts and fruits) but no hot items (eggs, bacon, pancake, ham) unless you pay an extra fee for them. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and professional and had great recommendations on where to go and what do do in Honolulu! Their Tiki bar was awesome at night with live music and decent prices. I would definitely stay there again on my next trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Aloha Steve, and thank you for the great review. Diamond Head can be seen from the east side of our hotel, and some of the Ocean Front rooms. The other side of our hotel (pool side) provides a great view of Waikiki Beach. We’re glad you tried Tiki’s Grill and Bar- the onsite restaurant is well known for their live music each night and fantastic meals and drinks. We hope to see you again next time you’re in Hawaii!
Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family went to Hawaii to celebrate a special birthday. The hotel was kind enough to give us an ocean view room, breathtaking, as i had booked a partial ocean view. The room was very nice, the staff friendly. The location of the Aston Waikiki Beach hotel is great, as we were right
across from the beach, and the ocean is more calm than if you were staying in the middle of the
strip. Tiki bar was also great, try the Ahi Tuna. Thank you Aston, we had a great vacation, will definately will stay with you again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for the lovely review and photos! The picture of the Plumeria flowers is beautiful…. I recently brought home a plumeria tree. It was a gift from one of my fellow Aston colleagues.
Anyhow, we’re glad you enjoyed the Ocean Front hotel room, weren't the the views picture perfect?! It seems like you and the family had a fantastic time at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in Hawai’i.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.