We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great views,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great views,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for few nights and it was a pretty good hotel. We got there early morning so the desk held our luggage for us until check in (they also held them when we checked out as we had a cruise at 5pm). The location is fantastic, right across from Waikiki beach. At breakfast they give you complimentary cooler bags which you can fill up with food and take it away.
We stayed in oceanview room and the view was amazing from the balcony!
The staff were very polite and friendly and they also have a complimentary dvd hiring system if you want to just relax in the room and stick a movie on.

Rooms were nice, not the most modern but has a nice hawaiian feel to them, and bars and restaurants are in close proximity of the hotel, including the ones down the bottom of it.

We really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Aloha Victor,

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed our friendly service and hotel. We do our best to extend our Aloha spirit to each guest.

Travelers from all over the world love the breathtaking views from our property guest rooms. Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive experiences with us and for staying with us. We’re happy that you had a great time at our hotel and in Hawaii!

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    1,075
    552
    184
    113
See reviews for
668
1,056
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here and in was a great view from our top floor room (beachfront).Right across the road was the beach.It is close to everything, zoo,international market,shopping and bus/trolley.they had free breakfast in the common area.( juice,milk,coffee,tea,fruit rolls pastries and fruit yum.i don't know if the hotel has new owners.it is great for its location location location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

What really is

-Breakfast in the beach: they give you a little basket. Then you go in a long line (see picture) to grab food like a dog. You must get as much as you can because you are alowed to entry o ly once. Then as they dont have breakfast room, you must fight for a chair poolside or go to the beach eat your breakfast in the ground with sand taste...
The food remains exposed in the sun (see pictures) and the pigeons and birds are everywhere bombing...

- Beautiful suites: its a very small room. They offer with 2 double beds and say that 3 people can stay there. Yes, its true as they never mentioned in the description that you could put luggage there at the same time lol. Don't be fooled.

The hotel is in a good location and the staff is very polite but for sure there are much better options for the same high price.

Did I mention that they charge extra USD 18 for the amenities ? This includes the breakfast but theory charge you USD 5 for a scrambled egg in the wonderful breakfast.

The parking price is abusive also.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Aloha, and we’re sorry to see that your expectations have not been met. As depicted in the photos you have shared, the food provided during our continental breakfast is protected from the sun by umbrellas. Also, I have left a voice message on the phone in your guest room. Please return my call if there is anything we are able to do for you to make the rest of your stay with us more enjoyable (press ‘0’, ask for Rebecca).

We are sorry if you don’t find value in our hotel. However, for a hotel directly across the street from the beach in Waikiki, our prices are competitive and our amenity fee provides tremendous value for most of our guests, (especially those with families). I look forward to having the opportunity to making the rest of your stay more welcoming and comfortable.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

There's nothing really wrong with the Aston per se, but it just wasn't a good fit for us. The rooms were small, too small for just two people. Forget it if you have a baby or toddler. The bathrooms were outdated and made constant noises. The elevator system was very frustrating. The valet service was nice at first, until it took them 30 minutes to retrieve the car. On the plus side the breakfast included with the resort fee was good, the location is very good, and our room had a nice view. Unfortunately for this hotel the rooms detriments outweighed the positives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha, and we’re sorry to see our hotel didn’t work out for you. We are looking forward to an upcoming room refresh project, and excited to share it with our guests. We hope you had a lovely time in Hawaii. Thank you for staying with us.

Mahalo
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Check in was easy & friendly.
Amenities for getting a car was simple.
Breakfast had no class no healthy choices & was tasteless & terrible. Cereals, donuts, no proteins (unless you paid extra) styrofoam everything & no where to sit plus the long lines.
It's an old & tired hotel of old ideas and nothing promising; it had seen better days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Aloha Tony, and thank you for staying with us. Our hotel has a hip Hawaiian theme which differentiates us from many of the other hotels in our area. We’re sorry that our theme and breakfast didn’t work for you! Most of our guests love the breakfast items such as the purple taro donuts unique to Hawaii, or the healthy fresh fruit option.

Sincerely,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After spending 3 weeks traveling the west coast of the states we were looking forward to our week in Hawaii as being relaxing before returning to Australia.
We were happy with the location when we arrived, beautiful outlook opposite the the ocean however upon entering the building it was evident it was dated and needed an update. We arrived an hour early and was told we could not check in so had to sit around the pool area with all our luggage, not pleasant considering all we wanted to do was relax and get changed into cooler clothing. When we were finally able to check in we were then told there was a daily surcharge of $12 per day which we thought was already paid for within our booking, apparently not. The room was so small, 2 double beds with less than a metre between them and we had to use one of the beds to put our luggage on because had we used the floor space we would not have had any room to walk around. The bathroom was just as tiny and very dated. The only plus to the room was the view to the ocean. Breakfast was a disappointment, mostly sugared pastries and cakes, there was no cooked breakfast unless you wanted to pay more. What was the $12 a day for???? Certainly not the breakfast as after day 3 we didn't bother with breakfast at all. Once you got your breakfast there was nowhere to sit to eat it unless you wanted to sit around on the pool deck chairs while balancing your food on your lap. There was only approximately 6 outdoor tables and chairs which were always taken up so the only other alternative is to go back to the room or across the road to the park to eat. Not satisfactory at all, catering for all guests in a breakfast room as well as around the pool would be a better alternative. The entertainment at breakfast was lovely to listen to with the Hawaiian music and singing but that's about it. This hotel is located well for use of the street trolley cars as the stop is right out the front and the free DVD's were good when you don't feel like going out for the evening. The tour booking desks are also a great addition to this hotel with the staff being very helpful. We would not stay at this hotel again instead would pay a little more to receive a better room and a few decent options for breakfast as well as at least somewhere to eat it.
Rod & Crystal

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Aloha Rod and Crystal,

The $18 plus tax daily amenity fee includes breakfast, hotel-wide WiFi, unlimited game and movie rentals, use of in room safe, local calls, and daily newspaper. We notify travel agents and wholesalers of the costs and services associated with staying at our hotel. It is their responsibility to share this necessary information with their customers. We also display this information on our website www.astonwaikikibeach.com .

Since we run a busy hotel, we provide ‘Breakfast on the Beach’ cooler bags intended for guests to take breakfast up to the guest room, beach, or to carry along for day time activities. Our hotel has 645 guest rooms. When we are at full occupancy we are unable to provide enough tables and chairs for every guest during breakfast. Sorry about that.

Finally, our building was built during a time when view and location was prioritized rather than room size. Also, our check out time is noon, and our check in time is 3:00. We do our best to accommodate early check ins when available, but it is not always possible during high occupancy. Our housekeepers need time to prepare the room before we release it to a new guest. We apologize for the inconveniences and we thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is a great hotel to stay at when in Honolulu. It's just a stone's throw away from the blue waters of Waikiki Beach and has great views of the beach and the rest of Honolulu. Also, it has wonderful and stylish accommodation. The only minor problem there is is that the service always seemed a bit disorganized and many of the employees just seemed flustered and confused.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Aloha Jonathan, and thank you for staying with us. We’re glad to learn you enjoyed our perfect location and hip style. We appreciate your review and welcome you to stay with us again when you return to Waikiki.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.