We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Close to Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% OFF Promo
Ranked #55 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun and Close to Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If I leaned out my window I had an ocean view but I didn't go to Honolulu to stay in my room and look at the ocean. The beach was right across the street. Restaurants and attractions were just a few minutes away, walking distance of everything. The location was superb, the price was excellent, the staff was friendly and accomadating. The bed was comfortable, the mini fridge in the room was a big plus for leftover and breakfast beverages, the bathroom, as well as the room, were pristine and nicely appointed. The shower was a real rain shower, not one of those trickle downs. I would stay here again and I highly recommend it. It was right in the heart of Waikiki.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms don't have windows, if this is a problem, request one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha, we’re glad you enjoyed your room and our location. It seems like you were out and about most of the time and that you had a great vacation! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    654
    1,033
    515
    179
    107
See reviews for
621
986
71
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel to stay in. I was on the 24th floor with a ocean view room and it was quiet, comfortable and clean. Don't be put off by the $18 resort fee (most of the hotels in Waikiki Beach has a resort fee) and this one includes a complimentary continental buffet, daily newspaper,etc. It's worth it (pastries, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, etc). The hotel is right across the street from the beach (beach towels available by hotel pool). Easy access to everything. Walking distance to Waikiki Beach attractions and stores. Also Waikiki Trolley stops right in front of hotel. You can also book tours downstairs and the Tiki Bar has good food and happy hour specials.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha Andrea, and thank you for the review and staying with us. You stayed on one of our highest floors and all the views are astonishing from that far up. I’m glad you found value in the amenity fee considering the cost of the other amenity costs in Waikiki are much higher. At our hotel it pays of fast considering it covers the cost of breakfast and unlimited movie rentals. We hope you had a great Hawaiian vacation.

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a great place to stay, right across from Waikiki Beach. A top floor room with a partial view but I could still see Diamond Head and the beach from my balcony. The breakfast was inexpensive and had so many choices, plus you get a lunch bag that you bring with you and fill it up with food from the buffet and stroll a short distance across the street and enjoy your meal on the beach. I loved it. There is someone singing Hawaiian music and a hula dancer too for your enjoyment. I could have stayed there all day except there is so much to see in Honolulu. The staff is wonderful, the gift store has just what you need if you forgot something at home. There lobby is the best I've seen, beautifully decorated and comfortable seating while you wait for the valet to bring your car. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the top of the hotel have great views and a larger balcony if your in front and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha Debbie, and thank you for trying our hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed everything from our friendly staff to ‘Breakfast on the Beach’ to our newly improved lower lobby.

Yes, there are many things to do and see in Honolulu, and on the island. If you plan to come back to Waikiki we hope to have you stay with us again.

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very good location, clean rooms, staff ok, although some dont have a lot of answers on transport, laundries etc. and werent too keen to find out for me. The resort fee thing is here $18 a day. Some members of our group were elderly and not interested in wi fi , gym, videos etc, but still had to pay,,,if its obligatory why dont hey add it to the price of rooms maybe its an american thing to do a little bit of a con for the elderly or a tax thing...but it does stink. Apart from this the hotel is ok..the "free" breakfast is a bit of a mixed bag....give special menu items for asians...but no toast for the aussies etc.I will look for somewhere else with free wifi and no resort fee. But if you have booked already its ok

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. Our signature amenity is the 'Breakfast on the Beach" and our guests, especially those with families, consider it a great value. The amenity fee includes daily newspaper and local calls as well. Our $18 a day is tied at the lowest cost compared to similar hotels in Waikiki.

We’re glad you enjoyed our location and rooms. We’re sorry if you were not provided clear answers regarding transportation or laundry service. There is a launder mat about half a mile west from us and we have informational maps regarding transportation at our valet area and front desk.

We’re also reviewing our breakfast items, and have noticed that many of our Aussie and U.K guests enjoy toast with their ‘brekky’ and we are considering adding it to our breakfast.

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Pros: Close to the beach. Complimentary beach towels. Continental breakfast. Mini-fridge. Ocean view (if you can afford it).

Cons: Everything else. They make you pay dearly for the breakfast and the unsecured internet in your room (a daily fee of $18). I guess if they had a coffeemaker or microwave in the room you'd have to dish out another 20. It is kinda obsolete to have a fridge if you can't heat up what you keep in there. Also, the view. If it's not ocean front, it's either a parking lot, or somebody else's hotel room or - the worst of all - a rundown building occupied by anarchist with banners hanging of the side.

So if you don't get upper floors ocean view, you better skip this place altogether.

Room Tip: Upper floors ocean view. Anywhere else you try at your own risk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. We price our rooms based on view type. Therefore, to guarantee a higher floor with an ocean front view, we recommend the Ocean Front Select category. From Standard to Ocean Front Select, each category offers a different view type and price.

We're happy that you enjoyed the complimentary beach towels. We also offer complimentary beach chairs and it is a few steps to the beach. Our signature amenity is the 'Breakfast on the Beach" and our guests, especially those with families, consider it a great value. Together, with other valuable components, we feel that our Amenity Fee offers a great value to our guests.

Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Aston and had a great time. The continental breakfast in the morning is much bigger than expected. Unless you really want that big breakfast with hashbrowns, gravy, meat, and eggs, the buffet at the pool is just fine. Not only is there plenty of choice, but you get an insulated bag to carry your food in. The room was big and the bed comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The 3rd day, I noticed that the toilet was leaking a little. And the balcony is small. Yet, this hotel is reasonable, is right on the beach, and cose to everything Waikiki. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel from the breakfast to the comfortable beds and friendly service. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Hawaii.

Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have just spent 9 nights at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. We had a fantastic time. The great points were: Close to the beach, most things within walking distance, plenty to do if you choose, rooms are ok...

Our room had an awesome view down Waikiki Beach..never got sick of looking at it!
I was initially a bit nervous about this place after reading the reviews but we had a GREAT time! For the price, we had no problems at all.

Staff were friendly, always willing to help out and never intrusive.
I would go back there again anytime.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view...its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are glad to see you enjoyed our hotel, and thank you for the great pictures. Our property is located directly across the street and offers spectacular views. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.