We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Was a bit nervous booking Aston as some reviews were less then complimentary and I even described the hotel to the family as probably "not that great", but we were in for a lovely surprise. This is a really nice hotel! It's clean, looks newly renovated and the staff were all wonderful, friendly and helpful.

I booked an ocean view room and it was nice. The beds were fairly squishy for two, but comfy, with good donnas and pillows. View was great and overall the room was everything we needed (would of loved a kettle, but I guess that's not the American way).

Now let's address the amenity fee. Yes, it's a pain and I don't understand why they don't just add it to the price. We all pay it, it's compulsory, why even mention it. However, we fully got our $18 a day. The breakfast was great. Again, not sure what other people are complaining about. Plenty of food and we ate there 6 mornings in a row at all different times. Yes, cereal and donuts get boring, but then so does spending $50 for breakfast! (what we spent on our first morning pre-checkin).
We also hired a DVD each day (2 tired kids), which is included, so we were happy with the $18! They also advertise it everywhere, when you check in and again in your room, so no excuse not to be aware of it.

Tiki's was also a nice place for a drink or meal. We enjoyed the $2 tacos and free beer on a Tuesday! Also had the best Kalua pig taco cups I have ever tasted!

Service was also great, except for one lady at the tour desk, but I think she might have been about to leave and so wanted to get rid of me as quick as she could. I have to make special note of Lakai at the reception desk. I needed to scan and email an urgent document home and she happily scanned it for me and emailed it to me from her account.

Location wise, I'm not sure you could ask for a better spot. Right on the water front and close to everything. I was actually surprised that most of the hotels are not on the beach but a couple of blocks away. The Aston made going to the beach really easy as it was only a couple of meters from the pool, so no carrying bags etc. Also the pink trolley that goes to Ala Moana the big shopping centre stops right outside the hotel.

I guess if there was one thing it was that the hotel was packed and seemed to have numbers of groups of students (we saw a water polo team, cheerleading team and music group). But they were all great and so yes it was packed but I guess that's just life!

Other reviewers have made comment on the homeless outside the hotel. Just wanted to point out the homeless are all along the main road and in fact we saw them all around Waikiki, so this is not particularly a problem for the Aston. These people are just down on their luck, are polite and certainly not threatening in anyway. A polite "No thanks/sorry" seemed to do the trick.

All in all, had a great stay and would definitely stay here again if we return to Waikiki!

Room Tip: An ocean view room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a thoughtful review. Our 18 daily amenity fee includes continental poolside breakfast, DVD's and games, hotel-wide wifi, use of in room safe, daily newspaper, and local calls. We are glad that you considered it to provide value, especially since it covers breakfast for the family. The cooler bags are perfect for taking it up to the guest room, to the beach, or on-the-go to day time activities.

We do have all types of visitors from all over the world such as wedding parties, family vacations, honeymooners, business trips, and college sports teams. We are directly across the street from the beach and nearby transportation, shops, dining, and attractions such as the Honolulu Zoo and Aquarium.

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    1,076
    552
    186
    113
See reviews for
670
1,059
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is across the road from the Waikiki Beach, in an extremely convenient location just at the start of the most popular stretch of Waikiki's magnificent shops and restaurants. The rooms are above average which included breakfast by the pool each morning. The rooms are well serviced each day by happy co-operative staff. The best thing about this Waikiki hotel is the 'Tiki Bar Restaurant and Bar' offering great food at reasonable price and where you can 'chill' for drink after a great day out sightseeing on this wonderful and beautiful island. Price was very competitive and I would stay here if I was to return to Waikiki without hesitation. I would also like to praise 'Roberts Hawaii Tours' which we used for all transfers and tours - friendly, informative, reliable, affordable and safe.

Room Tip: Higher floors with partial ocean views are affordable. They are also sunny and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for recommending our hotel. We are directly across the street from the beach and nearby local attractions, dining, shops, and transportation. Nearly everything you could need is within walking distance. Our onsite restaurant, Tiki's Bar & Grill, is open for lunch, dinner, happy hour, and is a great place for drinks in the evening while listening to live music and overlooking the beach. We are glad you had fun and we hope to see you again.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Aston was a nice place. We had a partial ocean view room that was just enough. Bed was comfy, bathrooms were out dated just like I had read from others, but that was not a vacation killer. The Tiki bar downstairs was awesome. Right across from the beach so great location. I agree with other posters about the resort fee. For the cost I would have rather picked out my own daily breakfast (if we even got up early enough) and we used hot spots on our phones so we didn't need wifi. NOR did we need the "included" DvD rentals or unlimited play station. Resort fee with "inclusions" would have been good if we needed a baby sitter. We got hung up in SF due to united not being on time, i didnt call the hotel because i paid our entire stay up front. while we were on our way to hotel i got a call saying they gave up our room because we no showed. i snapped! The front desk was kinda snobby, but we weren't about to let anyone get us down. Good thing they "found" us a room!!! It was paid IN FULL, who gives up a room? Really! There were ALOT of kids, clearly traveling with schools or for sporting, again, we weren't about to let it ruin our trip! Our stay at The Trump the last 4 days made up for any of our complaints to begin with

Room Tip: Partial ocean view was plenty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, and thank you or staying with us. Sorry to see the flight was delayed and there was some confusion with the check-in process. Surprisingly enough, we do have a noticeable amount of ‘no shows’. However, we are glad you had a lovely partial ocean room. Our amenities are included under one daily charge; continental breakfast, hotel-wide WiFi, DVD and game rentals from kiosk found on upper lobby, use of in room safe, local calls, and daily newspaper. We have all types of travelers. Honeymooners, wedding parties, business trips, family vacations, college sports groups, and yes, we are very children friendly at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, as well!

Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is quite dated and looks like a converted Holiday Inn from the 70's or early 80's. Rooms were just average. Breakfast is included but it's a mad rush to get food or a table, so just bring it back to your room. View of Waikiki Beach is great if you get an ocean-front room above the 4th or 5th floor. Staff acts like they're doing you a favor.

Room Tip: Go with ocean front above the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, yes our hotel was built over 30 years ago and we are continually renovating and updating parts of our property to keep it as up-to-date as possible. All of our guest rooms are located on the 5th floor or higher. Ocean Front rooms are our most popular, as they are located on the face of our hotel, followed by Ocean View. Mahalo for staying with us, and we hope you had a great Hawaiian vacation.
Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I are currently in our 7th day of a 10 day stay. This is our 5th stay at the hotel. For an older property the hotel in well kept. For us the big plus is the location. A quieter part of Waikiki and we particularly enjoy the walk toward Diamond Head. Across the street from the hotel is beautiful Waikiki beach. The hotel includes a Subway and Wolfgang Puck Express. By the pool is the Tiki Restaurant and Bar which provides moderately priced food and nightly entertainment. The flow at the continental breakfast by the pool is much better organized than on previous visits.

In my opinion there is not $18 value in the 'resort fee'. While it is nice to have wi-fi in our room it can be very slow at times and only works within a few feet from the router (not even on the lanai!).

Free DVD rentals are included but really not much interest to us as we would much rather be out and about. The breakfast used to be part of the basic room rate. Certainly not worth $180 in our case. Will this be the tipping point in our decision to return is hard to say; but it certainly will be a factor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for your continued support, we are glad to have you again! Our amenities are included under one daily charge; continental breakfast, hotel-wide WiFi, DVD and game rentals from the kiosk found on upper lobby, use of in room safe, local calls, and daily newspaper. I shared your experience with the WiFi to our Chief Engineer so he can find out what the exact cause is, and to fix any existing problems. Also, we’re glad to learn you like the new breakfast floor plan. We’ve been working on this aspect in order to better accommodate our guests. We hope you have a great rest of your vacation.

Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is so well situated on the bustling Waikiki Beach that I can't help but give it five stars! The hotel is just across the street from the beach. What I love most about it is the location. Out the door, to your right is the busy, action-packed Waikiki beach. To your left is the peaceful, gorgeous Kapiolani Park. It's the best of both worlds. We've stayed here twice now. We enjoy the local decor, the live local music morning and evenings, and the decent continental breakfast. Other neat features are the DVD kiosk and the Tiki Bar. This hotel is welcoming to families, but I think it would also be nice for adult groups as well. There are many places to eat, shop and play walkable right from this spot. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We booked the suite deal. It is nice to have some extra space in the room. But be sure to bring yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed our hotel once again. Yes, our location is perfectly situated directly across the street from the beach, at the end of the Waikiki Strip, and next to Kapiolani Park and Honolulu Zoo. Mostly everything you need is walking distance, and there are plenty of trolleys and busses, as well. We hope to have you back for a third visit!

Sincerely,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 pleasant nights at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. Because we were celebrating an anniversary they upgraded us to an Ocean Front Room with a great view of the Beach, Ocean and Diamond Head. The strip in front of the hotel is busy but you are in a great location to enjoy the beach and nearby shopping and restaurants. The room was comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. The Tiki Bar in the hotel is quite lively with a good menu. I would recommend to others looking for a solid, if not extravagant hotel with a great location on Waikiki beach.

Room Tip: Understand the difference between Ocean View, Ocean front, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, and we are glad you enjoyed our hotel and friendly service. Guests celebrating their anniversaries with us receive a gift at check-in, and we offer category upgrades depending on availability. Our location is perfectly situated directly across the street from the beach, at the end of the Waikiki Strip, and next to Kapiolani Park and Honolulu Zoo. Mostly everything you need is walking distance, and there are plenty of trolleys and busses, as well.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.