We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Spring Creek, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Aston was a nice place. We had a partial ocean view room that was just enough. Bed was comfy, bathrooms were out dated just like I had read from others, but that was not a vacation killer. The Tiki bar downstairs was awesome. Right across from the beach so great location. I agree with other posters about the resort fee. For the cost I would have rather picked out my own daily breakfast (if we even got up early enough) and we used hot spots on our phones so we didn't need wifi. NOR did we need the "included" DvD rentals or unlimited play station. Resort fee with "inclusions" would have been good if we needed a baby sitter. We got hung up in SF due to united not being on time, i didnt call the hotel because i paid our entire stay up front. while we were on our way to hotel i got a call saying they gave up our room because we no showed. i snapped! The front desk was kinda snobby, but we weren't about to let anyone get us down. Good thing they "found" us a room!!! It was paid IN FULL, who gives up a room? Really! There were ALOT of kids, clearly traveling with schools or for sporting, again, we weren't about to let it ruin our trip! Our stay at The Trump the last 4 days made up for any of our complaints to begin with

Room Tip: Partial ocean view was plenty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, and thank you or staying with us. Sorry to see the flight was delayed and there was some confusion with the check-in process. Surprisingly enough, we do have a noticeable amount of ‘no shows’. However, we are glad you had a lovely partial ocean room. Our amenities are included under one daily charge; continental breakfast, hotel-wide WiFi, DVD and game rentals from kiosk found on upper lobby, use of in room safe, local calls, and daily newspaper. We have all types of travelers. Honeymooners, wedding parties, business trips, family vacations, college sports groups, and yes, we are very children friendly at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, as well!

Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    1,145
    590
    200
    125
See reviews for
731
1,128
84
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is quite dated and looks like a converted Holiday Inn from the 70's or early 80's. Rooms were just average. Breakfast is included but it's a mad rush to get food or a table, so just bring it back to your room. View of Waikiki Beach is great if you get an ocean-front room above the 4th or 5th floor. Staff acts like they're doing you a favor.

Room Tip: Go with ocean front above the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, yes our hotel was built over 30 years ago and we are continually renovating and updating parts of our property to keep it as up-to-date as possible. All of our guest rooms are located on the 5th floor or higher. Ocean Front rooms are our most popular, as they are located on the face of our hotel, followed by Ocean View. Mahalo for staying with us, and we hope you had a great Hawaiian vacation.
Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I are currently in our 7th day of a 10 day stay. This is our 5th stay at the hotel. For an older property the hotel in well kept. For us the big plus is the location. A quieter part of Waikiki and we particularly enjoy the walk toward Diamond Head. Across the street from the hotel is beautiful Waikiki beach. The hotel includes a Subway and Wolfgang Puck Express. By the pool is the Tiki Restaurant and Bar which provides moderately priced food and nightly entertainment. The flow at the continental breakfast by the pool is much better organized than on previous visits.

In my opinion there is not $18 value in the 'resort fee'. While it is nice to have wi-fi in our room it can be very slow at times and only works within a few feet from the router (not even on the lanai!).

Free DVD rentals are included but really not much interest to us as we would much rather be out and about. The breakfast used to be part of the basic room rate. Certainly not worth $180 in our case. Will this be the tipping point in our decision to return is hard to say; but it certainly will be a factor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for your continued support, we are glad to have you again! Our amenities are included under one daily charge; continental breakfast, hotel-wide WiFi, DVD and game rentals from the kiosk found on upper lobby, use of in room safe, local calls, and daily newspaper. I shared your experience with the WiFi to our Chief Engineer so he can find out what the exact cause is, and to fix any existing problems. Also, we’re glad to learn you like the new breakfast floor plan. We’ve been working on this aspect in order to better accommodate our guests. We hope you have a great rest of your vacation.

Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is so well situated on the bustling Waikiki Beach that I can't help but give it five stars! The hotel is just across the street from the beach. What I love most about it is the location. Out the door, to your right is the busy, action-packed Waikiki beach. To your left is the peaceful, gorgeous Kapiolani Park. It's the best of both worlds. We've stayed here twice now. We enjoy the local decor, the live local music morning and evenings, and the decent continental breakfast. Other neat features are the DVD kiosk and the Tiki Bar. This hotel is welcoming to families, but I think it would also be nice for adult groups as well. There are many places to eat, shop and play walkable right from this spot. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We booked the suite deal. It is nice to have some extra space in the room. But be sure to bring yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed our hotel once again. Yes, our location is perfectly situated directly across the street from the beach, at the end of the Waikiki Strip, and next to Kapiolani Park and Honolulu Zoo. Mostly everything you need is walking distance, and there are plenty of trolleys and busses, as well. We hope to have you back for a third visit!

Sincerely,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 pleasant nights at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. Because we were celebrating an anniversary they upgraded us to an Ocean Front Room with a great view of the Beach, Ocean and Diamond Head. The strip in front of the hotel is busy but you are in a great location to enjoy the beach and nearby shopping and restaurants. The room was comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. The Tiki Bar in the hotel is quite lively with a good menu. I would recommend to others looking for a solid, if not extravagant hotel with a great location on Waikiki beach.

Room Tip: Understand the difference between Ocean View, Ocean front, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, and we are glad you enjoyed our hotel and friendly service. Guests celebrating their anniversaries with us receive a gift at check-in, and we offer category upgrades depending on availability. Our location is perfectly situated directly across the street from the beach, at the end of the Waikiki Strip, and next to Kapiolani Park and Honolulu Zoo. Mostly everything you need is walking distance, and there are plenty of trolleys and busses, as well.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel has everything you could need. A great location right across from Waikiki beach and a tremendous view of Diamond Head . The included breakfast was basic but a unique idea with the byob bag. It was nice having a restaurant and live music on site and we enjoyed both the dining room and the lighter fare in the bar. It is also very convenient to walk to eat at other places if so desired. There is shopping, restaurants all around this area. The rooms were basic but the beds were comfortable and it was clean. The staff were very nice and helpful in meeting our needs. The only negative was the excursion counter...one if particular did not tell the truth and were not good to deal with. There are 3 so check out all of them and also online for more info. The pool was nice but very cold when we were there. They also give you beach chairs with your towels which was very nice for going to the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Diamond Head were awesome! Nice to wake up to that and I think probably quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for recommending our hotel. Yes, our location is perfectly situated directly across the street from the beach, at the end of the Waikiki Strip, and next to Kapiolani Park and Honolulu Zoo. Mostly everything you need is walking distance, and there are plenty of trolleys and busses, as well. Shopping, dining, and attractions are all accessible. Found at the pool deck, we offer complimentary beach chairs and towel rentals for the day. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly service and hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a lovely, very tiki style, Hawaiian hotel! The front desk, concierge's, and housekeeping were wonderful and helpful, and breakfast is served every morning from 6:30am-9am with music and hula dancing. It was wonderful! Something I looked forward to every morning! The singing and guitar music was beautiful, and the hula dancing was incredible, especially if you get to see Celeste! I would recommend this hotel to a couple or family! The partial views of the ocean and Diamond Head are gorgeous and the location to the beach and main street are fantastic! Also, Tiki's Grill and Bar are located in this hotel, and it is a fantastic restaurant for couples and families.

Room Tip: Ask for a partial ocean/Diamond Head view room, and for a room on a higher floor! You get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Aloha, we are pleased to learn you had a lovely time at our hotel. We have many couples, families, business people, college sports groups, and other types of travelers from all over the world! We’re glad that you felt the Aloha Spirit while staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#46 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.