We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank for the Buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Iraan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bank for the Buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel was very clean and had a free breakfast on the beach which is awesome so we can use the money for another excursion. The hotel staff was very professional and we enjoyed our room with a partial oceanview. We had a safe,clean rooms,and comfortable beds. The hotel is directly across Wakiki Beach and has access to all transportation, so you don't even need a rental car. They have an office (we used Expedia) to help with all excursions and every excursion was top-notch and no problems to get to or come back from. The hotel has a Tiki restaurant which was some of the best food we ate. We felt like we were on a 4 or 5 star restaurant. There is an awesome Hawaiian DJ and a wonderful dancer for your entertainment while you eat breakfast. They also provide a small breakfast bag in case you want to take your breakfast with you which is sooooo cool. This was one of our coolest vacations. The only small bummer we experienced was seeing the "homelessness" in the city. This is everywhere you go and it made my husband and I realize, since we are "country mice" what a problem it is around the world. We have been very sheltered in our area so this was an eye-opener for us. Other than that, this was an awesome experience and all the accomadations were the best and our hotel experience,restaurants,excursions, were the best.

Room Tip: we just needed a place to crash,take a bath and go for the rest of the day that was clean,safe and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to see you enjoyed our friendly service and hotel. We have three activity desks on property. Their ‘travel experts’ provide our guests excursions and transportation services.

Our breakfast includes coffees, teas, juices, milk, mini bagels, cereals, pastries, kimchee, miso soup, and hot items such as omelets or French toast for a nominal fee.

We do realize the homeless problem in Waikiki does affect some of our guests. We have taken a very strong stand and are working with local law enforcement and social service agencies to find a ‘win-win’ solution to this issue. We can assure our guests that our property is very safe. We have monitored surveillance cameras in the communal areas, hotel security 24 hours a day, a close relationship with Honolulu Police Department (who, in my experiences in Honolulu and Waikiki, have a quick response time) and our elevator system also increases our property’s safety because a key is needed to request an elevator to go up to the floors where the guest room are located.

We are thrilled to see you had an amazing vacation at our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    1,115
    580
    197
    123
See reviews for
704
1,103
80
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I would recommend staying at Ashton hotel located a perfect spot right across from the beach staff was very helpful I was ready to accommodate our needsand we always enjoy the entertainment during breakfast thank you for making your life richer with a great experience. Duane &Angela

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha, our breakfast includes items such as coffees, teas, juices, milk, mini bagels, cereals, pastries, kimchee, miso soup, and hot items such as omelets or French toast for a nominal fee.

Thank you for reviewing us, and we welcome you back in the future!

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the Aston Waikiki June 2012. There was a little confusion upon check in as I was to receive a room with 2 double beds, not a king. After an 11 hour flight and having booked this trip almost 7 months ahead of time, I was not pleased. However the staff apologized and even though my sister and I were not in the correct room, they supplied us with a roll away bed and were able to switch our room the next day. The staff were courteous and accommodating. The room they moved us to was beautiful with a balcony and a stunning view of the ocean. Breakfast was great! I don't always eat a big breakfast so this was perfect, and the one time I did there was the opportunity to have a hot breakfast for a small fee and a hula dancer and ukulele player for entertainment! Everything was at your disposal, tours, restaurants, shops! Loved it! Can't wait to be able to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for reviewing our service and hotel. We are glad you and your family had a great time.

Our location is direclty across the street from the beach, and conveniently located near trasportaion and popular venues and attractions,

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location with stunning views. There is room for improvement though! They just had wireless broadband installed while we were there in February, yeah! The bathrooms were a bit tired and they are the next to get a revamp. I wasn't a fan of the breakfast system, mainly because there was not enough seating around the pool area and it was all in the shade, nice in Summer but cool in Winter. The lifts were great and easy to use.
It was expensive considering the services on offer but it was nice and clean. There are better/ more affordable options a block back from the beach.

Room Tip: Try not to get an interconnecting door between rooms, the only noise we had were from the party boys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. Yes, we have fantastic views of Waikiki and Diamond Head, and are located directly across the street from the beach. We do have hotel-wide WiFi, and are currently in the process of reviewing what we can do to improve our property during the next renovation.

Thank you for staying with us!

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We needed a place to finish our vacation off, Due to our airline schedule we had to stay an extra day more than our timeshare had available. We were able to book a room at the last minute which was nice. We were on the eastern side of the building on the 25th floor with a great view of the beach, Diamondhead and the zoo. The check in was quick and easy. The few downsides to this hotel are 1st $27 valet only parking fee, and of course they want a tip to retreive your car. At the Aston Beachside 10 days earlier I only paid $22, and they use the same garage. a few hundred feet down the street. 2nd Is their AMMENITY FEE ?? This is the first time in 30 years of traveling I have ever been charged an ammentiyty fee. Basically they charge you $18.00 plus $ 3.00 tax ( ON A DAILY BASIS ) to have the continental breakfast, and use the high speed interent and DVD rentals. The breakfast consist of cold cereal, yogurt,pastries, and coffee But hey for another additional fee of $2 you can get french toast, or for $5 you can get an omlet. Since we were just a one night stay, We got 2 cups of week coffee and cold cereal for the $ 18.00. I think they should just add the $20.00 to the advertised room rate rather than the bait and switch tactic that they are using. If you book through Travelocity of other online travel sites these ammenity fees are not told to you. So you would need to add $21.00 a day to the cost of your room. If you have a rental car you can add $ 48.00 to your daily room expense. For anyone staying for 5 days you can round that out to an extra $200.

Room Tip: There is nom great tip for choosing a room, you put in a request on line and hope for the best. I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Our daily amenity fee includes breakfast, hotel-wide WiFi, use of in room safe, daily newspaper, local calls, and unlimited DVD and game rentals from the Kiosk via Play Station 3 in the guest room. The Online Websites do inform shoppers that there may be additional fees on top of the room rate, and our website describes the information in detail. Our amenity fee is tied at the lowest compared to similar hotels in Waikiki, and our Hotel Valet parking is the lowest cost on Kalakaua Avenue.

We are glad you enjoyed the spectacular views provided from the 25th floor of our hotel. We are located directly across the street from the beach.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our first time visiting Hawaii and couldn't have been nicer. The staff is very helpful from bottom to top. The suite was huge and the views from the balconies were gorgeous. The only noise was the wind. Some of the best sleep I've ever gotten at a hotel.

We will absolutely stay there again when we return to Oahu.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view and the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Our Aloha Suites include sofa beds and more square footage they are very comfortable; we also have two larger suites. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When we arrived at our hotel, we were so tired from the 10 hour flight. We got to our room and were somewhat disappointed in the size . . . very tight BUT very clean and comfortable. In fact, at check in we were upgraded since it was our anniversary. The view from the balcony was amazing. You could see down on the pool area but the best part was the view of Waikiki Beach just across the street. This hotel sits at the end of what I would call the hotel area of Waikiki Beach. The next block down is a beautiful, spacious park area and a zoo. The hotel provides a continental breakfast each morning along with live hawaiian music and entertainment. The hotel calls it "Breakfast on the Beach" as they provide a cooler for your food and you can just walk across the street and eat on the beach if you wish. Also, most tour companies pick up at this hotel. It was very convenient. You could literally see most of the Waikiki Beach area, i.e, surfers, paddle boarders, swimmers, etc. The child friendly beach (protected area by a retaining wall) was just across the street from the Aston. We saw rainbows from our balcony every day. The food in the bar area was very good as well. Other than the room size, this was truly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us during your anniversary. We are located directly across the street from Waikiki Beach, and our property does provide stunning views. Transportation, restaurants, shops, water activities, the Zoo, and more are within walking distance of our hotel.

Our breakfast is on the upper lobby each morning. We provide a cooler bag in each guest room for use at breakfast, as our guests can enjoy the hula dancer and singer, or pack-and-go.
Our hotel was built during a time when view and location was the priority rather than room size, but our Aloha Suites offer more square footage and a pull out sofa bed.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.