We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Waikiki, perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Affordable Waikiki, perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Reading recent Tripadvisor reviews after purchasing an affordable travel package ($614 for three nights at this hotel, roundtrip transfers, lei greeting, etc) on-line through Costco Travel almost prompted us to cancel our reservation at this hotel. We are glad we didn't!

The package guaranteed a partial-ocean view room and for whatever reason we ended up on the 14th floor in an ocean-view room with full sweeping view of Waikiki. Our deck chair and its foot rest became a viewing stand from which we ate breakfasts, dinners (take out is nearby) and sipped morning Kona coffee (served at the hotel buffet) and sunset wine.

This 645-room hotel is one of Waikiki's older properties. It underwent renovations in 2002 and again in 2006. Some of the common areas, such as the decking around the pool, as mentioned by others, is in need of replacement. Our room with two double beds didn't have a lot of extra space but it was decked out in bright Hawaii colors, the sheets were as luxurious as those we've had at higher end properties, the carpet new and of bamboo design and the towels were thick. The room was very clean; the maids were there every morning, bright and early.

The hotel also has some nice touches. IWe were provided two cotton kimono robes and newspapers were available every morning at the elevators on each floor.

We are puzzled by some of the complaints we read in earlier reviews of the food provided each morning. The whole concept is to serve breakfast on/in disposable flatware so that you can put it in the insulated bag (a gift from the hotel to keep) and take it, along with hotel-provided beach chairs and towels to the beach just across the street - the hotel's Breakfast on the Beach program. Most guests seemed to want to cluster themselves around the pool however and for that reason hotel management told us they have ordered more tables and chairs to accomodate the morning diners. The food selection included yogurt, cereals, miso soup, rice cakes, fresh pastries, and fresh fruit. Hot items were available for a nominal cost. Kona coffee as well as two additional special blends were also available.

The only 'negatives' we would note were: the lack of wi-fi in the guest rooms (supposed to be installed in February 2013), and, a frustrating room key lock system that required several tries before the door opened. The elevator required the room key to be swiped both at the lobby level and on the floor before it would appear. (If you locked your key in your room you would have been unable to take the elevator to the lobby to get another one).

While others seemed to have negative check-in experiences, we had five people manning the check in computers when we arrived; we stood in line for less than 20 minutes and our wait for our room wasn't more than another 20 (our flight was early - we were at at the hotel before the 3 p.m. check-in). All the staff members we encountered from check in to check out were friendly and efficient.

The location was perfect: across from the famed beach, within a couple of blocks of high end shopping at the Royal Hawaiian shopping center, a block from the Honolulu Zoo and just a bit further to Queen Kapiolani Park and the Aquarium. Bus stops for buses going into Honolulu or away from it were within a block of the hotel. A Starbucks next door provided the free internet access we needed and for those with a sweet tooth, Coldstone Creamery was off the lobby.

Tourism is on the upswing in Waikiki and so are the hotel prices. We found this hotel to be well worth what we paid for it and wouldn't hesitate to buy another package from Costco or to make a return visit here.

Room Tip: If you want guaranteed ocean view book a 'superior ocean view' if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for deciding to stay with us, we are glad you had a lovely time at our hotel. It seems like you received a complimentary upgrade upon check in, and we are glad you enjoyed your room!

We are glad to learn you enjoyed our friendly service and hotel. We do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered such as no WiFi, yes; we are in the process of adding it to each guest room and anticipate the completion of the project. We are also sorry about the problem you had with the key. However, pressing the ‘star’ button will take guests to the third floor (lobby) with or without a key card. The key cards are required for going upstairs, which aids in security.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    1,076
    552
    184
    113
See reviews for
668
1,057
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here for the 2nd time in October & I still love the hotel. It has changed ownership since 2008 when I last stayed, but it is basically the same. The location is the best part of this hotel! Ocean front is a must! Get the select rooms if possible, the views are spectacular. The swimming lagoon is great for those who are not strong swimmers & it is usually not too crowded. There are also many more corals and fish by the wall than there was in 2008, so you can snorkle as well. Its not like snorkleing Hanauma Bay or anything, but it is nice to see some fish, etc...
The breakfast line is long, even if you get there when it first starts, it gets very crowded fast! The food is more basic than it was previously. You only get 1 breakfast bag now, which is OK because the choices are more limited. There are some pastries, some fruits, yogurt, cereal & juices. They don't have eggs anymore, which i was disappointed in,but it is free, so..... If you want anything beyond pastries and fruits, you will have to go out, but there are lots of places close by. I found cheeseburger in paradise has a decent priced breakfast & the lines arent as long as others.
The room itself isnt huge, but you dont need a big room with so much else to do! The balcony is by far the best part! Small, but it does the trick!
The bathrooms are outdated however. They are kinda run down & need an upgrade. The floor was kinda dirty as were the walls. the sink & toilet were clean. Showers are old. The shower head actually started spraying everywhere uncontrollably when I first arrived. Maintenance had to come replace it. They also had to replace the light in the room which was making sparks at the base of the plug. They were nice tho & replaced everything that needed to be replaced. I would like to see the whole bathroom just remodeled though, it would really make a big difference for this hotel!
The staff is all friendly. The only issue I had was the room key not being activated properly. Had to go back to the front desk 3 times which was a pain with luggage & super long check in lines. I saw a few other guests having the same issue with the same staff member. He was nice, but I think he just didnt know how to operate the key thing. Once I realized, I went to a different guy & he was able to give me a key that worked with no problem. The cleaning staff were all very very nice & friendly & made sure everything was re stocked in the bathroom; towels, rags, soaps, etc...
Parking is another issue..while valet parking is nice, it is very expensive! It would be nicer to have a self parking option. They are pretty fast at getting your car when you call though. Only once had to wait more than 10 minutes.
I could also do without the resort fee, I think they should apply that toward the price of parking, as most other Aston hotels include free parking or list free parking as an ammenity included in the resort fee.
The check out was nice being able to just drop the room key in a box in the lobby and not have to wait in a line! Feel free to contact me if you have any questions!

Room Tip: Get an ocean front select room for the BEST view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us again. We are glad to see you returned to enjoy our perfect location and Ocean Front room. These rooms are our most popular as they provide exceptional views of the beach directly across the street. Our ‘Breakfast on the Beach’ coolers are found in the room upon check in, and intended for use during morning breakfasts. They are great for taking food to the beach, up to the room, or to enjoy poolside while listening to our singer and hula dancer. We apologize for the maintenance issues in your bathroom, but pleased that they were resolved to your satisfaction with the help of our Maintenance Staff. We are currently reviewing how we can improve our property during the next renovation, and appreciate your feedback. We hope you had another fantastic time in Waikiki, and look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed as part of a large group and from what we saw all the motels were the same in Waikiki, high rises. It was clean and comfortable and is directly across the road from the beach which has a wall around it to shelter you from the waves. Rooms were nice and bed was very comfortable. Small balcony but the view was lovely,terrific sunsets over the water. In your room as a cooler bag ready for you to fill at breakfast time and take to the beach if you wish. We recommend not to eat their breakfast if you would prefer a healthy option as the food supplied was all sweet pastries, muffins and cakes. The Tiki bar is a great place for resoinably priced meals and drinks and there is a small shop downstairs for essentials and across the road is and ABC shop. The zoo is across the road and it is a short walk to shopping centres and markets. Our stay was enjoyable and we would go back there. There is free wifi by the pool but you have to pay in the rooms. The activities centre staff were very helpful and you can book any activity you wish to right at the hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view, pay extra for the view it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel and accommodations such as our perfect location and Activity Desks. We apologize for the inconvenience due to no WiFi in your room. However, we are currently adding it and we are anticipating the completion of the project. We hope you and the others in your group had a lovely time visiting Hawaii, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Besides of other people said above, I was very impress by the view of the apartment that I stayed for lovely and shorty 5 nights (ask for the Ocean View for a few extra dollars). The breakfast time was funny for the first time with their BOB (bring your own breakfast) basket but the next times was kind of stressing experience, perhaps if they open the TIKI restaurant for those who would like to have a seat and a nice talk at morning will be more relaxing. Very well located, and the most - it is in Hawaii !!! Not a minimum chance to change Hawaii to any place in Mexico or even in Brazil - perhaps you will find hotels better in those places - but I dare you to find other hotel in those places with a better cost benefit !!! NOT A SINGLE CHANCE. So If you are reading this review - I would say that this hotel is perfect if you would like to visit Hawaii !!! Stay at the hotel only to take a shower, appreciate the view (if you get the ocean view), get some sleep and grab a fast breakfast - otherwise there are other hotels 2-3 blocks from Aston that you will be glad to know (not so glad to pay).

Room Tip: High floor and ask for the Ocean View (believe me its worth)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for reviewing our hotel. Yes, the higher Ocean Front rooms have spectacular views, as we are directly across from the beach. Upon check in, our guests find a cooler bag in their room intended for packing up the complimentary breakfast each morning. We have a singer and hula dancer along the poolside to enjoy breakfast, or guests can take breakfast to the beach or up to their rooms.

We are glad to learn that you consider our hotel to offer great value. It seems like you had a lovely time visiting Hawaii and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for staying with us.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I booked through Expedia for a 5 night stay in August 2012. We payed about 2800 for flight/hotel package for both of us with an oceanfront room. The views was amazing, especially for the price!! Its only a few dollars more for an ocean FRONT room and well worth the money. We stayed on the 14th floor which was perfect. The bathrooms were outdated, but I loved the Hawaiian feel of the room and the decor. The staff was very friendly. Tikis rooftop bar/restaurant was nice and "happening" at night. The drinks were great, the food was NOT my favorite. Fish Tacos on the lunch menu were yummy. Ran into Chuck Liddell in the lobby which was cool! Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I were to go back. Also, the location is perfect! On the 1st floor there is a Subway, ice cream shop, Wolfgang Pucks (which is gourmet to-go food, good prices). If you are anything like my husband and I, you will aPpreciate these places. Nearly all of the restaurants we ate at were unimpressive and we are not picky eaters.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room (not ocean view)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your Ocean Front room, they do provide breathtaking views! It seems like you had a fantastic Hawaiian vacation, and we are glad to have served you. We hope to see you in Waikiki again, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast, b.c.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd time staying at this hotel. The last time we stayed, the hotel was a Resortquest property & was much better maintained. This trip the hotel seemed "tired" & in need of updates. The "Breakfast on the Beach" has also gone downhill & is a gong show. The breakfast times of 6:30-9 are not user friendly hours for vacationing guests, & thebofferings have really declined in the past 4 years. Now if you want eggs, you have to pay extra money...that's a disappointment. The staff are still very friendly & the Tiki Bar makes exceptional Mai tai's. The hotel's location is wonderful; right across the street from the beach, but I'm not sure we would stay there again, as we felt it was now overpriced for the current condition of the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha and thank you staying with us again. We are glad to see you continued to enjoy our friendly staff and location. We are currently reviewing how we can improve our hotel during the next renovation and how we can better accommodate our guests during breakfast. We apologize for any inconveniences caused to you.

We value your feedback, and appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you had another lovely time visiting Waikiki, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked this resort for 10 nights because of all the reviews and the 4 star rating. We arrived at 2 a.m. (our back home time) so we were all very tired. First...this was not an accident of receiving a bad room. We were three couples and booked three rooms. All rooms were on different floors and same side of building. All three rooms were equally bad. They were dirty, wall paper very old and torn, air conditioner dirty, sliding doors allowed wind to whistle through like a freight train. We all booked partial ocean views. The view could only be seen when stepping onto the tiny balcony (no chair would fit) and leaning over, peering past your neighbours unit. Otherwise, the view was of roofs of other poor condition hotels The hotel says "recently remodelled". The photo of the red bedboard is the absolute only part of the room that was remodelled. EVERYTHING is very tired and old. I refused to walk barefoot in the room. The painted doors have probably 40 or more coats and resemble your fathers garage door to his 40's house or an entry to a cellar. The moment we entered the lobby booking in area we kind of knew we were in trouble. The pool deck has huge blister paint bubbles peeling from the deck floor. The breakfast included offers a food bank feel...and if raining there is no shelter with appropriated seating. If you have ever stayed in Mexico, at a resort, this would not even rate a 2 star. We left the next morning after scouting other hotels on the beach. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency for slightly LESS. I do have to say that the staff at the Aston were very friendly and apologetic and we had no problems with refunds.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. We are sincerely sorry for the negative experiences you encountered at our hotel. Our pool area was recently affected by inclement weather, and we are currently evaluating how to fix the problems caused. Also, we apologize that we were unable to change your rooms when you found it to be unsatisfactory. We were sold out most of December, and when this occurs it is impossible to room change; again, our sincerest apologies.

Sincerely,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.