We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip to Waikiki with just an ok hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Beaumont, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great trip to Waikiki with just an ok hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location is great and the views from the oceanfront rooms are perfect. We stayed on the 10th floor and we had wonderful unobstructed ocean views. The Lanai is very small, the bathroom is a 2 star at best, the decor is typical Hawaiian but the carpet in the rooms needs to be changed. The beds were very comfortable but we would not stay here again as we appreciate a higher standard. Due to a surprise Christmas present we booked this room with a couple hours of research and so we didn't have much time to look around. If you're on a budget and you don't really care about the room but still want something clean with a great view you will not be disappointed. The breakfast on the beach promo is NOT worth booking the room for if you're thinking of the cost saving on breakfast. If you like kiwi yogurt, heavy stale pastries, sugary cereals, and melons...then it's ok but if you want something healthy you'll end up buying breakfast anyways. We did not try the pool, we are ocean people. We did eat one night at the hotel restaurant, Tiki's bar and grill I think it's called. The food was good but not great, the service was good.

Just a side note the hotel left a baby crib in our room the entire week...used it as storage space I believe...the youngest in our room was 18 years old. Also we booked online and were told there would be a welcome "gift" in our room...the only surprise was the crib. We would not recommend.

The Royal Hawaiian Village hotel looked good as did the Hyatt and I believe they were similarly priced.

Room Tip: The bar is very noisy and so is the road noise so book on a higher floor, we stayed on the 10th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad you had a great Hawaiian vacation. However, we are sorry that you were disappointed in our hotel. We apologize if your room was not prepared properly, we could have fixed this immediately had known about it. Also, we thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast. We are currently reviewing how we can create more positive experiences for our guests, and have taken note of your mentions. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    1,206
    625
    209
    130
See reviews for
792
1,184
89
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Check in was very slow. Rooms are much smaller than the appear in the photos, the decor is very dated. Overpriced for the amenities offered.

Best thing going for this hotel is its location being right on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. We are glad to see you enjoyed our perfect location directly across the street from the beach. We are sorry to learn that you did not find value in our amenities and hotel. The pictures online accurately represent the décor in our guest rooms and the average square footage of the rooms are also provided on our website. We hope you had a great Hawaiian vacation- Mahalo!

Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

You can't beat the location right on Waikiki Beach, but otherwise the room was very disappointing. Small, lumpy double bed, very few amenities. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and there was WiFi, but it was a very depressing hotel room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Aloha! We were glad to see you enjoyed our perfect location directly across from the beach, and our friendly service. We were sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your guest room. On behalf of the hotel, we apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for staying with us.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is in an excellent location with excellent service, reasonable rates, and a fantastic staff! The staff went out of their way to insure everything was just right. The free breakfast was good with many choices, especially with food prices so high in Honolulu.

Room Tip: free upgrades for 50+, free breakfast, free internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Aloha, we are thrilled to see you enjoyed our accommodations, friendly service, and perfect location here at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. Thank you for reviewing our property and for the lovely pictures. It seems like you had a fabulous Hawaiian vacation, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The location is perfect if you want to get to the open spaces near Diamond Head and the beach. There are shops all nearby and within the building as well. We had an ocean select room, which means a higher floor on the side facing down Waikiki beach to downtown. We had a great view of the ocean from the balcony.

The place was packed for the holiday season, but this is magnified by the lack of common space anywhere. There's a pool area that also serves as a breakfast room...there are no tables and chairs, just beach loungers. Breakfast is included and it's served on this outdoor level, so everyone is wandering around like zombies with their picnic bag provided. Breakfast isn't a healthy spread...lots of donuts, muffins, etc., though there is fresh fruit and a station with miso soup, sushi rice, and kimchee. It's a shame they serve everything with styrofoam...a bad choice for such high volume every day.

There's a small gym but with the location where it is, it's much nicer to run in the park and along the beach. The circuit around Diamond Head crater is 5 miles from the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. Yes, we have spectacular views of the ocean from our property, we are glad you enjoyed them! Our location is directly across the street from the beach. We are walking distance from many tourist attractions such as the Zoo, Aquarium, and a plethora of restaurants and shops. We apologize you did not find breakfast satisfactory, and we appreciate your feedback as we are currently reviewing what we can do to better accommodate more of our guests.

On behalf of the hotel, we hope you had a fantastic Hawaiian vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

i stayed here in 2011 for my first solo visit. i really enjoyed the hotel - i had planned on returning in 2012 but they started charging 10/day fee for the things u dont use - i am on vacation and do not use telephone,internet,movies etc. now i was planning another trip to ohau in march of 2013 and started checking out hotels. i noticed they now charge 18.00 per day - it great if u need those things. the room rate is high and they u put on tax and then extra 18.00 - it makes u want to consider another hotel....

Room Tip: i hada oceanview on the 24th floor - what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Aloha, we are glad to see you had a good experience at our hotel. The $18 amenity fee applies to all new reservations made in 2013. It includes high speed internet via Ethernet (WiFi is currently being added to guest rooms), use of in room safe, local & toll free calls, daily newspaper, and unlimited DVD and game rentals via Play Station 3. Many of the similar hotels in Waikiki also have a daily amenity, or resort fee. We hope to welcome you back to the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel this year. Please call our property direct if you have any questions (1-808-922-2511) Thank you for staying with us.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Booked here for my honeymoon. Great views and location. Was disappointed that there was no wifi in the rooms as I was using an iPad and trying to get in contact with family. Was very shocked when we arrived to find out it was $27 per night for valet parking. Also the extra amenities fee we had to pay per day was $10 which included safe, DVD and games hire which I never used. Breakfast was alright but too many pastry and you had to pay extra for hit foods. Some days was over crowed. Bedroom was so tiny I had nowhere to put my luggage without tripping over it.

Overall it was good location as it wasn't too bus and great view. But wouldn't booked for honeymoon.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Aloha, and thank you for the review. Yes, we do have excellent views of the beach from our property and have a perfect location at the east end of the Waikiki strip. We currently offer complimentary WiFi around our pool area, and are in the process of adding it to our guest rooms in order to better accommodate our guests. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us during your honeymoon. We hope you had a lovely time in Waikiki and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#33 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#14 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#32 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,211 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#18 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#20 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.