We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value-could be cleaner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value-could be cleaner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

For the price, the location and view is best in Waikiki. Breakfast was ok only, geared toward Asian guests. I would have liked to see some meat and cheese or eggs.

Attached bar, Tikis, has best happy hour prices and awesome service. Luis was da Bom.

Bathroom had some hair on walls, but otherwise was good. Comfy bed and great service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently reviewing how we can better accommodate our guests during breakfast, and we value your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences caused, but are pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel and our friendly service. We hope you had a lovely time visiting Waikiki, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    1,076
    552
    184
    113
See reviews for
668
1,057
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were not as clean as I would have liked, we had to change from our first room because it was still dirty. However, the view from our room was amazing. The elevators are a little bit confusing but move quickly. The hotel itself has a lot to offer. We took advantage of the complimentary breakfast, beach chairs & towels. Each adult gets a small cooler and fills it up with breakfast items to take to the beach. This was awesome! There was tons of selection, hot items cost extra but it was easy to fill up on everything else. Wifi was only offered at the poolside and wired Internet in the rooms which was a bit inconvenient if you need to stay connected. There were lots of places to eat on the bottom level of the hotel and of course, an ABC store. I would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Go for at least a partial ocean view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel and that you found value in our amenities. We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit beautiful Hawaii, Mahalo!

Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at Aston Waikiki Beach hotel for 2 nights, then one night somewhere else on another island, and them one more night at this hotel again. I had all reservations made and paid in advance, but the staff insisted that I pay for 4 nights instead of 3. Apparently it's not their policy to have such gaps in reservations. We were only allowed to leave after one of us became angry, fearing that we would start yelling and scaring other travelers.

Moreover, I was forced to pay 50% more for accomodating 4 people in a 2-double room instead of 2 people. And I had to pay a half-page long list of 'extra charges', including a completely random last-minute $10 convenience fee (I was only asked for it one time out of my 2 stays).

Don't go here. The hotel doesn't look that good and the staff is unfriendly and greedy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha, and thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are sorry to see that you had a negative first impression of our property. Rates are based on double occupancy; children under 17 years of age stay free when using existing bedding. There is an extra charge for the third and fourth adult. We do have a daily amenity fee, key card deposit (if not returned upon check out), state tax, and hotel tax. We apologize for any inconveniences and we hope you had a lovely time visiting the Hawaiian Islands.

Sincerely,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I appreciate the cleanliness and the great staff, they are always helpful and courteous. Rooms are clean and modern with clean fresh linen. You have to get used to breakfast on the beach you get a bag and its like a huge buffet in the morning with every kind of friut, rolls and yogurt and cereal all kinds of goodies. Load up your bob bag and head to the beach. All services including Expedia are there in house makes it easy. Only drawback is that the few years we have stayed there the price has jumped quite a bit but still and excellent hotel.

Room Tip: generally speaking the higher up the room you get the quieter it is the lounge tends to be busy at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha, and thank you for your continued support. We are encouraged to learn you had another pleasant stay with us at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. Our ‘Breakfast on the Beach’ is a complimentary continental breakfast that is designed for ‘on the go’ or to enjoy by our pool. We are glad to see our staff met your expectations, and we hope to see you again the next time you visit Hawaii, Mahalo!

Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toukley, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

had a nice stay at this hotel, only thing was breakfast is from 6am-9am and they had live music playing every morning from 6am, if you are at least the lower 12 levels on the pool side of the hotel i heard breakfast being set up on the odd occasion and the band every morning. Breakfast had alot of pastries but Wolfgang puck had a nice breakfast below the hotel. Anybody taking surfboards you are not aloud them in the room at all. Bathrooms are a bit outdated, Location is perfect and quieter at this end and just a quick walk up the road to the main area. Beds are comfy and the rooms are clean which is all that matters. Fridge in the room which is good.

Room Tip: Probably not a room on the pool side, as they play music at breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha, and thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We do have a fabulous location directly across the street from the beach. We do not allow surf boards in the guest rooms; however, our Valet Team is happy to hold surfboards for our guests. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Good hotel. Breakfast being included was very handy. We found the breakfast to be quite good, loved the mini bagels. There was an option to purchase hot food such as omelettes and french toast etc which was great, reasonably priced too. Only thing was that you we're allowed to re-enter after you'd stocked up the first time... kinda defeats the purpose of a buffet if you ask me!

The room itself was ok. Very dated carpets and bathroom. Probably in need of renovations really. It was just odd to have old carpet and old wallpaper then have a bedhead which was new and bright orange. Clashed something shocking!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha, and thank you for providing us feedback. We were glad to see you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and our hotel. Our breakfast includes a variety of food items, and option to purchase hot items such as omelets, French toast, or waffles for a nominal free. We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your honeymoon, and we hope you had a lovely time in Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed one night in room 601. The room was dated and could use a huge modernization. The room was clean but the bathroom looked like it had been fixed up from leaks from the ceiling. The view to the ocen not bad. The other views I live with out. See photos.

All in all I would not stay at this property again, not at $160.00 a night

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Aloha and thank you for the pictures and for reviewing our hotel. Our rooms are categorized as Ocean Front, Ocean View, Partial Ocean View, and Standard. This guest room is in our standard category, and reflects the best rates. Some of the highlights of our property include a perfect location in Waikiki directly across the street from the beach, nearby dining, shopping, and popular tourist attractions. We hope you had a fabulous Hawaiian vacation, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.