We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Prepay & Save - $144
Ranked #55 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
california
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

its a great hotel very good location nice view walking distance to a lot of shopping and resturants. Right across the street from the beach the breakfast that is included is not all that your better off going to McDonalds we have stayed there 9 times but have never gotten a frequent visitor discount or upgrade.

Room Tip: call ahead and pay the extra the rooms overlooking the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    980
    498
    176
    103
See reviews for
589
939
65
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife Joy & I stayed at this hotel & found it to be good value for money.A basic breakfast was available from the pool area & Tiki"s bar & grill done a reasonable meal selection for lunch & dinner,(try their moco loco burger),Although right opposite Waikiki Beach it was not too noisy,our room was a side room that overlooked the hotel next door but as we only use a hotel for "crashing out & a base" that was not a problem !Quirky baggage/patron drop off and pick up area on ground floor with reception/check in desks a floor or two up.Great for shops & restuarants,(try Cheeseburger in Paradise along the road !!)But beware,not all coach & minibus drivers come into the pick up area to see if you"re there,you need to wait on the pavement as we found out to our cost.Still a nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel on Waikiki Beach. Friendly staff, good service; we would recommend it to others. Good restaurants within the hotel, on the pool level and also below at street level.

As far as location goes, nice easy access to the beach. Keep in mind it doesn't matter which hotel you stay at in this area you will encounter the homeless on the beach area, basically living in those "gazebo" things on Kuhio beach.

So back to the hotel: nice, comfortable. Elevators are great. Don't pay attention to the comments that others have written on the elevators. If you can figure these elevators out, you have no business being on vacation.

Don't let the "breakfast on the beach" be a big factor in your decision on choosing this hotel.

Helpful hint: the pool area has wifi, the rooms have wired Internet. But.....keep in mind a PS3 connected to LAN can function as a makeshift internet browser. :-)

We stayed on the upper floor on the "Diamond Head side" on the hotel. Great view of Diamond Head and the Ocean.

The balconies on the Diamond Head side are smaller than the other side, but the rooms are bigger on the Diamond Head side.

Thanks to the staff! Very pleasant stay. Mahalo!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel. I loved the location. I did a lot of research for this trip and I am so glad I picked this hotel. The view was awesome and it was so close to everything. We could walk to the International market. The beach was right across the street. I was pleasantly surprised with the free breakfast. I was thinking like most places they would offer a stale doughnut but not the case, they had a variety of muffins, bagels, doughnuts, cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt to choose from. Juice, coffee, milk and tea were also offered. We had no need to go anywhere else for breakfast and you could eat by the pool too if you chose to. They had offered a workout center that I did not use because we walked so much everyday. They had two onsight places to eat and a store. Several other shops connected to the building. They offered free dvd rentals. We took advantage one night and rented a movie. The pool water was a little cold and I must say I was surprised it was salt water. We always had clean towels and I would stay here again if I ever went back.

Room Tip: Get a high floor in the back or front for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It was our first time in Hawai'i and this is the first hotel we stayed at. The Aston Waikiki Beach is great and provides a young atmosphere. The beach views are amazing and of course better as you go higher up on the floors. We were on the 19th floor and it was gorgeous. The porch/Lanai is not very big but nice enough to step out and take in the view. The room was not as upscale but still above par. PS3's are included in the rooms and they offer free movies and video games at a kiosk in the lobby. The elevator system was cool, you have to swipe your room key and put in the floor your on and it tells you which elevator will take you there. The hotel is located right across the street from the beach. On one side of the beach there is a wall to withstand the crash of the strong current and waves, creating an area of ocean water that is very nice to swim and play in. The buffet breakfast is fantastic every morning. They provide a lunch bag in your room, which you can take with you to breakfast and stuff as much as you please then go enjoy the beach or pool area. Breakfast consists of a lot of pastries! However, there is also bagels, fresh fruit, miso soup, cereal, and other things to please your appetite. Everyone usually sits out by the pool where there is a musician/singer and hula dancer performing soft music as you enjoy your morning. The tiki restaurant at the hotel provides live music every night and the food is pretty good. The hotel is situated in a great spot. There are trolleys and transport vans that pass by continuously right in front to take you where you want to go. Small stores and restaurants were close by. Definitely had a great time here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We have just gotten back from a 2 week holiday staying at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel and it was awesome as always! We arrived in Honolulu at 7am, couldn't check in until 3pm so we left our bags with the parking valet and went next door to Lulu's fir breakfast then went out and about for the day. There was a bit of a line up to check in but that's always expected and it didn't take too long. Reception staff were very friendly. We stayed in an ocean front room with two double beds for myself, my wife and two small kids. The room was a bit small for all of us but very comfortable and had an amazing view of diamond head and waikiki beach which was great to wake up to. The room was clean and tidy, only bad thing was the toilet stopped flushing but after a call to room service a service guy rocked up in about 10 mins which was very impressive and fixed it no worries. Beds were very comfortable especially the pillows and room service was always good, we left a $5 tip each day. The free breakfast was good, not too much on offer but did the trick. All in all our stay here was excellent with no complaints, would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Truth be told, we did book this hotel through Hotwire, so that might have explained the room disappointment... but it was listed as a 3.5star hotel when I chose it. And I must disagree.
We typically book from the 3.5star ratings, and are always pleased. Not this time.

1) Our room was shoved in to the corner, right next to the Coconut Club -- this is where events happen in the evenings, eg. weddings, with drunk people loitering outside my door. Thankfully they try to get them out by 11pm, but then there's the clean up crew. Made for a loud evening.

2) The continental breakfast is a bit chaotic, with everyone lining up to grab boat fulls of mediocre food, and then fighting to find a place to eat.

3) For a hotel where you can pay >$250/night, they actually charge you to a mandatory $10 fee to use the safe in your room, and other "ammenities" we didn't even want.

4) Our room was shabby. Our faucet not only leaked but if you lifted the tap wrong, you ended up with water everywhere. The headboard was falling off the wall. The carpets looked old. And the sheets weren't fitted or large enough, so by morning you were touching the mattress (which to me is just gross).

5) I always try to put one good thing about the place I stay: location, location, location. Cross the street and you are on the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach, or maybe the pool. If you are on the other side of the hotel, you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.