We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not A Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

How can they call this hotel a resort and want to charge $10 daily resort fee. I am a frequent resort traveler and this is NO RESORT. My group was able to get the fee waived because we booked prior to March 2012 when they implemented the fee, but we had to fight to do so. Found out they use to charge the fee for internet connection but decided to bundle it. Hotel was ok but needs some remodeling. I was very disappointed that there is no WiFi connection in any of the rooms. You can access internet via a cable modem but that is of no use to me when I am travelling with my iPad and not my laptop. Thank God I could add a hot spot connection to my cell phone while travelling. It was inconvenient to have to go to the lobby area to get the Aston WiFi connection. Sprint charged me $20 for a hot spot for a month usage.

Breakfast on the Beach...free every morning....a serious misrepresentation and a total joke! I knew the beach was across the street...no problem but didn't know I had to fight the Japanese for a continental breakfast to put in a cooler bag, get a chair and towel from the hotel and go to the beach for breakfast. I thought it was going to be breakfast served on the beach each day. Waffles and omelets are available but for a fee. If you were later coming to breakfast rather than early, expect to find nothing left and even though it is still in the allotted breakfast time, I was told they would not be replenishing breakfast. Also expect to deal with the numerous homeless when you venture to the beach. I got breakfast only 2 days out of the 5 and was glad to give it to the homeless people hanging around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    1,076
    552
    184
    113
See reviews for
668
1,057
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Aston is perfectly satisfactory for what it offers.Its a multi-storied hotel, right on the beach front, its one of the last hotels on the Waikiki beach. The rooms are of reasonable size, en suite, with clean bath tub & shower facility. Although most rooms have tiny balconies, they offer a narrow view of the beach from between buildings. But its simple enough to get out of the hotel, cross the road, and walk on to the beach.
The public areas of the hotel tend to be crowded throughout the day. Thankfully they are located on the lowest 3 floors.The reception, swimming pool and outdoor eating area is on the 3rd floor, and usually has a fare share of children and accompanying adults sitting around the pool throughout the day.
The Plus points:
The best part of the stay was the breakfast, the price of which is included in the room rate. You are provided with a square thermal zip bag in which you can pack your breakfast from the buffet, and take it down to the beach or eat it in your room or anywhere else you like. It is the best way to beat the crowds at the buffet.
The tour buses all stop at the hotel's side entrance for pick-up and drop offs. The tour desk offers excellent service and are most helpful even if you are just asking for information without making a booking through them.
The minus points:
The hotel's internet use service is very expensive.
The lifts (they call them elevators in the US of A) need to be accessed only with the room key to be placed against the sensor, and thereafter, the floor number is required to be punched in. The alphabetical identity of the specific lift to be used by you is displayed on the screen, and you take that lift to the floor you want. Once inside the lift, the doors will open only on that floor, and should you wish to get out on another floor, you can only do so after you leave the lift and re-do the whole process of calling for a fresh lift. I found the whole thing a little confusing initially, but got used to it soon enough.
The hotel's two restaurants don't look very inviting, and its very easy, and probably much cheaper, to step out of the hotel and go to the dozens of eating places tat abound the area.

I recommend the hotel for what it offers, at the price it does .

Room Tip: Rooms on the middle floors are better, as the waiting time for the lifts (elevators) is redduced. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an ocean view room which was small and not comfortable at all. True, you are hardly in the room, but in the evening it would have been nice to have a soft armchair to sit in rather than on the bed or on the wicker chairs they squeezed in with a small round table. The balcony was very small and only held one chair. Watching the surfers in the morning from the balcony was fun. The ocean view we had was on the side of the building which actually faced another hotel. You could see the ocean from that angle. The hotel gives you a small cooler which you can fill to bring across the street to the beach. The hotel boasts "breakfast on the beach" which is a nice idea, however, the amount of homeless people living along the beach and the smell of urine near where you would sit and eat was quite disgusting. So - needless to say, we didn't eat on the beach. There were not many restaurants near the Aston but walking down about 8 blocks they were plentiful. On the plus side...the rate was reasonable and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom could have used an updating but it was clean. Would we stay there again? Probably not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are expecting a 5 star hotel with all the trimmings you will be disappointed.

If you are expecting a nice, reasonable priced hotel right across the road from the beach you will be more then happy, as my husband and i were.

We arrived at the hotel about 6 hours before check in,(3 pm check in time) but the staff where more then accommodating allowing us to store our bags while we waited, we were also able to register our check in and where told to try back at 1:30 pm to see how it was going. When we went back right on 1:30 pm our room was ready for us and our bags where to be brought up to the room which they where with in 10 mins.

The room was nice, not too small with excellent views. The bathroom was a good 2 people and the bed was very comfortable.

All staff we dealt with where friendly and helpful. As we were on our honeymoon the front desk gave us a cute hotel frame as a congratulation.. :)

We only managed to make it down to the breakfast on one of the 10 day we were there, ( most of the time we were either out on tours or catching up on sleep). But that one day we did make it down to was small but provided us with everything we would want, and being able to take it back to our room was a great bonus.

The Tiki Bar and Grill down stair on the pool level was a great place to eat and have a few drinks. Highly recommend a visit there while you stay at this hotel.

The ideas of the lifts provided great security and was very easy to use. It may seem strange at first but with in one go you will be used to it.

The tour desks located on the lobby level of this hotel where more then helpful and friendly. Even when you decide at the last minute to book an activity, and it requires them to book the day of the activity Eziko (we think) from the pleasant holidays desk went out of her way to help us with this.

I would Highly recommend staying at this hotel, and can't wait to be back in Hawaii (one day) so we can too :) :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had planned this trip for well over 6 months and kept up on the reviews on this and other websites. We were very impressed with the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. We arrived an hour before check in and they were able to get our room ready reasonably quickly. To our surprise, they upgraded us from a double bed ocean view room to an Aloha Suite on the 11th floor with a partial ocean view. It was nice to sit on the balcony at night, listen to the band and sip drinks while the kids watched movies that they rented from the lobby which was part of the $10 a day resort fee and well worth it.

The breakfast was a bonus. Lots to choose from and a huge money saver.

The staff was all friendly from the check in staff to the valet staff. We even met a nice lady at the Expedia counter who helped us rent a car for the day to drive to the North Shore. To our surprise, she was from Portland too!!

My only real complaint was the homeless population at that end of Waikiki Beach. Once you get closer to the Surfrider and the Royal Hawaiian, there are far less homeless. However, they really congregate at the end of the strip where the Aston is located. Because of that, even though there was plenty of beach across from the hotel, we choose to walk down to the other end most days to get away from them.

The elevators were simple to figure out and reassuring to have that kind of security. We also frequently saw security walking around the property, especially during the weekend.

Tikis and Lulus are close and convenient for lunch however, Tiki's is a little overpriced. We absolutely loved Wolfgang Pucks. Great food. Great prices. Very, very convenient.

This hotel really seems to do all they can to accomodate their guests. I have no complaints about the hotel itself, however, if we went to Waikiki again, we'd probably stay a little further away from the homeless.

Room Tip: Definately take advantage of the room and get a room close enough to the ground to listen to the liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Aloha and thank you for the thoughtful review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your Aloha Suite and our hotel. Yes, we are happy to accommodate our guests as much as possible and enjoy doing so! It seems like you and your family had a fabulous Hawaiian vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Good location and very clean surprised to read other review as I found staff very helpful. We were in a large room at the back but like others changed to a sea view. It is worth the trouble to sit on balcony and it is not too noisy. The free breakfast really does safe you a lot and it was very strange but nice to see people dancing to the live music by the pool at breakfast. There is no resort fee either which is another plus. You also get free beach towels and chairs which you can take anywhere useful if you don't need to pack any. Would stay here again thats all I can say.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view if only side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. We do charge a resort fee of 10$ per day plus tax for bookings made after March 2012. It includes high speed internet, use of in room safe, daily newspaper, and local calls. And yes, we do offer complimentary beach towel and beach chair rentals to our guests. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hotel and that you would stay with us again. We hope you had a lovely time in Hawaii and look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo!

Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

During our stay at the Aston Waikiki on the Beach, Honolulu in October we were disgusted by the soiled bed linen and lack of follow up by the hotel. The inner linen had a large yellow stain and also another stain that appeared to be lipstick along the edge - it was a revolting find and I am sickened as to what the yellow stain could be..... Hotel Manager's response: NIL. Each day we requested for the manager to contact us and here we are nearly 2 weeks later and no response we have even emailed the Aston chain and yet still no contact.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean Front if you want a full sea view from your room. The Ocean View only has a part se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Aloha and thank you for staying with us. Yes, our Managers did contact you during your stay as well as after. Again, we are sorry that we failed to impress you and that the promptness of our follow up was not to your satisfaction. Furthermore, we sincerely hope you had a fabulous Hawaiian Holiday.

Sincerely,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.