We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - but good location !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average - but good location !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel was average, it held a 4 star rating (presumably self rated) and was a real let down in comparisons to other hotels we had stayed while in the USA. The check in was average and the breakfast was something seen to believed. You were literally given a moulded cardboard tray to collect your breakfast goodies on and had to sit on a pool chair or what available tables there were. If there was no seats then you must eat standing up. Our bar tender at Tiki's Bar was a scream, he clearly had no idea what day it was let alone much about cold beer and warm service. Great convenience shop downstairs, sold a variety of bevvies to tickle your fancy at a nice price. The rooms were small, and needed a good refurb. I guess if you were not spending too much time in your room then who cares, I think were spoilt in other hotels so a bit of mental re-adjustment was required. Hawaii is a great place, but next time, we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. We were disappointed to see that you we were not able to meet your expectations. Due to popular demand we have returned to using cooler bags for our complimentary continental ‘Breakfast on the Beach’. They allow our guests to conveniently pack up and enjoy breakfast around our pool deck, in their guest room, on the beach, or perfect for taking it along on excursions. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We are glad you enjoyed our fantastic location and hope you had a great time in Hawaiian.

Sincerely,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    1,076
    552
    186
    113
See reviews for
670
1,059
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Would I stay here again, in a word, no! The rooms are old, checkin was average and the free breakfast was ordinary. We went to tiki's bar, our bar tender "Nate" didnt really have a clue and the beer was warm. It seemed to be his home away from home and not a place of work. There was nothing 4 star about it. We were duped. Give me a resort in Fiji and there fantastic hospitality any day. Hawaii has a lot to offer though, just use another hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have just stayed there for one night, but moved to the Miramar for rest of the week, just as nice hotel, perhaps even a bit nicer. The Aston is just across the road from the beach, but a 10 min walk from the shops and hub of Waikiki, so we liked the Miramar better, even though it is not quite as close to beach.
Unusual brekky at the Aston, they give you a small cooler bag, which you load up with pastries, cakes, muffins, fruit, yoghurt, take your juice and coffee, then walk over the road to the beach and eat it there. I guess they do this as the outside area to eat your brekky is very limited. We enjoyed it though, a novelty for one night.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a ocean front room, rather than an ocean view room, worh the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

MY husband and I came to Hawaii to get married in Feb, I know this review is a little late but I cant stop thiking about it. We booked a king room with FULL ocean view, upon our arrival after 6+ hour flight. We come into a filthy room, with TWO double beds and a view of a street with a tiny bit of ocean if you leaned over the railing. We went back down to front desk and were spoken to like a bunch of kids, Told we didnt book a king room and there were none left for the rest of our stay.. I did NOT come to hawaii to sleep in separate beds! After all we were getting married. We went back to our filthy room asked for housekeeping to come clean it. Showed them what to clean, left and came back to a room smelling like air freshener but not clean!
Next day we went down to see if we could get a king room, and were told to keep checking back every hour till 3pm. What a waste of a day in hawaii! Finally got into a king room, but faced a backally, asked to switch rooms again since that isnt what i paid for. were rudely spoken too and finally asked for a manager which we did get into a decent room, that WAS NOT cleaned during the week we stayed. Our bedding had cocolate (or i hope) on it when we arrived into the new room. Will never stay here agian, rude staff, after all your paying good money if I could I would have got a refund and walked down the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was not a five star hotel but it had everything required to have a nice holiday, good housekeeping done daily,plenty of food for breakfast each morning by the pool, central to most things & part ocena view from room was a bonus. The Tiki bar was also a favourite at happy hour & food served was not expensive & very edible

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just a quick review- I too was a little worried when I read the other reviews for this hotel but lucked out since I had a wonderful stay at the Aston Waikiki.

The positives- 1st - my room was clean, smelled fresh, bathroom adequately spacious for two. View was to die for- partial ocean view of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. We were on the 22nd floor ( Rm. 2226) - quiet and peaceful. Had a chance to see the Hawaii Five O premier from out hotel balcony.

Free Breakfast from 6:30am - 9:00am- assortment of pastries, fresh cut fruits, bagels, juices, flavored/regular coffee, hot chocolate, cold cereal and instant oatmeal. Also- Miso soup, sushi, pickled spiced cabbage. (Note: at the beginning of our stay they gave us trays, later on we received the breakfast on the beach bags). Hope they keep giving the bags, nice feature.

Expedia travel consultants on site- Really appreciated their help with planning out excursions around Oahu- all pick ups right in front of hotel except the Midnight Catamaran cruise by the Sheraton.

Elevators- unique and secure- swipe your room key and key in your floor number, then the monitor will flash the elevator to board. Great since one only has access to floor where they are staying. One can return to lobby from their floor by pressing " * " on panel. Easy once you get the hang of it.

Negatives- Staff seemed very limited around hotel, except for maids. I'm not sure if I ever knew who was the hotel manager. Front desk staff did not seem very knowledgeable about status of Breakfast bags (available/not available?)

Check out was very long and tedious- wasn't enough staff to handle patrons checking in or out. No one informed patrons waiting how the wait time could be shortened by using express check out.

Staff didn't greet you at times in hotel. Not alot of staff/patron communication going on. Good thing I'm very independent. There seem to be more staff at the valet parking area than anywhere else.

Celebrated our 25 wedding anniversary- Hotel gave us a picture frame.

Room Tip: Rooms above 10th floor quieter- partial ocean views execellent on the south side Floors- 20th and ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

After reading many reviews for this hotel, I was a little nervous and not sure what to expect. I have to say all of my fears were put to rest within hours of checking in. Our room was clean, king size bed and enough storage for a 9 day stay. The bathrooms are in need of updating, but they were clean and functional. Great water pressure, good lighting and we always had hot water and clean towels. I recommend staying in rooms 01-03 on any floor higher then 8, as they have what I thought was the best view of Diamond Head. (Don't take rooms 06 or 07, too close to the elevator and ice machines, you will hear them all night.) The breakfast was set up and ready to go by 6:30 each morning, we did spend the extra $3 for waffles, which were great. I didn't like that they no longer give you the lunch box to take to the beach. The small paper trays made it hard to travel with food.
They do offer towels and chairs for the beach (at no charge), I suggest you bring a reusable tote to carry the towels. And water shoes are a must! The pool was a bit small, but never seemed to be over crowded. The Tiki bar right next to the pool area was great. 2pm-5pm happy hour and you can bring your beverage to the pool. Thought their (Tikis) lite fare menu was better and priced more resonable. Music every night!
Loved that they had multiple information areas for excrusions and Valet parking. Most of our pickups for excrusions were right out front of the hotel or at the next corner. This Hotel is located at the end of the main street, but across from an area of Waikiki beach perfect for families with small children. It was a 10 minute walk to Lewers Ave, the area we found great resturants and shops.
We used the hotel computer center to check in for our departure. That was free, but any other computer service had a charge.
What I didn't like, they charged me $3 a day to use the inroom safe, they didn't have the totes for breakfast and the couple we were traveling with had issues with their room. The staff made it right and were very accomadating but it did take 4 different rooms and 2 days.
I would stay here again, without question.

Room Tip: Higher then floor 8, rooms 01-03 have the best view of Diamond head, and rooms 06-07 stay away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.